Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Zurie's Overnight No-Knead Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zurie's Overnight No-Knead Bread

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2008

      After just 3.5 hours my dough had already doubled and was nice and puffy and bubbly, so I decided to skip the next 14.5 hours of waiting and just proceed with the remainder of the recipe. It turned out fabulous! Absolutely the best no-knead yeast bread I've yet to make. Beautiful thin and crispy crust with an airy and moist inside crumb, just like a wet dough should produce. But not so airy that you can't make a sandwich easily! I made the 4C recipe, using just 2t of salt and bread machine yeast (not instant), and baked it in my 5qt. cast iron dutch oven pot. I lightly sprayed my plastic bowl before mixing, and sprayed again after mixing and yet again after folding - also sprayed the plastic wrap cover - I found this to help quite a bit re the stickiness. To remove the dough into the hot pot I used a flour dipped rubber spatula and that worked great - what a nice and satisfying plop and sizzle once it drops! To help with handling of the hot pot, I placed it on an old cookie sheet when heating and again for baking. I topped my loaf with a sprinkling of italian seasonings and garlic powder. I plan to make this again with roasted garlic and chunks of sharp cheddar cheese, can't wait! (I posted 4 pictures, it looked so good that I couldn't resist taking quite a few snapshots)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      I loved this. I baked it in an iron skillet. I think I will use a smaller one next time. I had a bigger, flatter loaf. But tasted wonderful & I love the ease of this! I just don't have any time in the mornings, so I started mine about 9pm. Then I could do the first mix when I got home from work the next day @ 4pm. Done by 6pm for dinner. Perfect. I liked Sandi's picture so much, I sprinkled sesame seeds on it before baking. I am looking forward to trying lots of different things with this recipe. Thank you very, very much for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      This is the perfect artisan bread!!! I baked it on a buttered baking sheet and it turned out wonderful as well. It didn't have the cracked crispy crust that it gets with the dutch oven and lid but it is still a very nice European style bread. If you're looking for an easy, absolutely delicious, artisan bread then go no further than this recipe. You can add whatever herbs/flavors you want and it turns out WONDERFUL!!!! Next time I'm going to try jalapeno peppers and top it with cheddar cheese and see what happens. I'm pretty sure it's still gunna be great! Thanks for sharing, Zurie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I can't believe it - I made a homemade yeast bread and did not pull my hair out or end up with a brick! This recipe is truly wonderful for me. I followed your instructions to a "T" - too frightened to do anything else. Now I feel like I've tackled me huge fear of making yeast based breads. Now I'll just have a fear of using anything but this recipe for the future. Thanks Zuri for sharing such a great recipe. Made in memory of your sweet hubby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      Great taste, great chew! I'm a fairly novice bread maker and have just 2 or 3 recipes that I am comfortable with. This took me way out of my comfort zone but in a good way. I confess to pouring out what I considered thick pancake batter in to my cast iron 3 qt. bean pot thinking that this would be a total 'fail' on my part. I was disappointed to see that the loaf was only about 2 1/2 inches high but realise that it was due largely to a pot too big for the recipe. It looked rather like a high sponge cake. I used the 4 cup of flour version. The disappointment ended when I did as you suggested and cut a warm slice, slathered it with butter and immediately wanted more. The taste is great and will be wonderful for anything other than sandwiches. I am so very glad that I made it and will do so again using a pot with different dimensions. Great bread! Made in remembrance of Gideon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I was not born with "the touch" for bread making. It has always been a chore for me, with iffy results on a regular basis. Since finding this site I have found three bread recipes I can count on, this being # 4. I can't say enough about this recipe. First off the bread has a fantastic taste and chew, and the crust is simply perfect. Second, it's very easy to make. I didn't think it would be, and had a mild panic attack the "morning of baking" after looking at the sponge (before) I re-read the instructions and folded it over a few times (I used a dough scraper). I prepped my cast iron skillet and into the oven it went to come to temp. After 30 minutes I pulled it back out, gave it a nice shot of olive oil and carefully released the dough into the pot. Lid on and into the oven she went. 40 minutes later I removed the lid and felt my knees go a little weak. My bread looked like I thought it should. 20 minutes later I pulled it out of the oven & felt a little faint. Not only did it look all lovely and golden, but bread released beautifully onto the wire rack to cool. "Everything worked just like you said it would" - this really never happens when I make bread. I did ignore the part where I should let it cool "just to touch, slice off the end and eat it myself". That would have been a disaster - LOL! This morning I sliced into it for breakfast. My husband had his toasted with butter, fried eggs and bacon on the side. I had a toasted breakfast sandwich. Keith mentioned his toast 3 times. This rarely happens. He also asked that we grill "something" for dinner tonight to go with the grilled bread he is planning on having. Wonderful recipe Zurie, thank you for posting!<br/>I made the 4 cup (large) recipe in a 10 inch cast iron dutch oven & this was made in honor of Gideon's celebration of life cook-a-thon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      This is fantastic bread. I used a coarse sea salt and added about 1 tsp crushed fennel seed with the other ingredients and then topped it with a little extra coarse sale and fennel seed as soon as I put it in the pot to bake. Best bread for spaghetti ever! we ate the whole loaf and didn't even think about using butter. I did use both the butter and olive oil as the poster suggested and gave great flavor and it popped out so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I just love this bread! I've made it twice, now, and have been very happy with the result. The loaf has a wonderful crispy crust and a firm chewy crumb, just perfect as a side to a bowl of soup for sopping up the broth in the bowl. I followed the directions as written, using the plastic bowl and my le cruset pot. It may take nearly a full day, but since most of that is hands-off, I'll classify this as a very easy recipe. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      This bread Rocks! So easy to make & tastes great - even the second day. Perfect recipe for "dough dummies" like me. Thanks Zurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. The only change I would make is to change the 450 degree F to 425, as I think that that matches 220 degree Celsius. My bread cooked a little too fast, but other than that, turned out great. Instead of using a silicone spatula to transfer the wet dough to the hot pot, you can just wet your hand and transfer it easily. If you hand is wet, it shouldn't stick to the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Delicious! I made the 4-cup version, but instead of adding the cup of flour and portion of water, I added fed sourdough starter. Baked in a 3 qt dutch oven.

      Thanks!! Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This same recipe, minus the sugar, is in Bittman's How to Cook Everything book. I'm glad to see someone has posted it because it is AMAZING! I honestly didn't think it was going to turn out well, but I followed the directions and it was fantastic. I had the pot out of the oven and the bread cut in record time. The crunch on this bread is great. It was perfect with homemade soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Unbelievably good! This is by far the easiest way to make bread, I think I'll try adding some Italian herbs and cheese next time. May have been a bit too salty, unless it was all the butter I slathered on it :) So crunchy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Incredible method and recipe. I doubled the dough and made this recipe and Easy Crusty Jalapeno Cheese Bread Fantastico since both share the same base recipe. I love this loaf and will be doing it again. It's crunchy crust, chewy texture and gorgeous exterior is great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I did it!! This is the first loaf of bread I had made that actually tasted good. I am very very excited about this bread and will be making it often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      WOW! So good and so easy! made as directed. Used a 3qt covered corning ware. Made a nice crust. Crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Baked mine in an old Bessemer pot - the loaf was a bit flat, but the taste was divine. Doing some research on the internet someone advised that they used 2 chopsticks to handle the dough - it works a treat! I have another mix on the benchtop with 1 cup wholemeal and I added 3 teaspoons bread improver. Can't wait until tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      always wanted to try this recipe but was hesitant because I could not believe that the pot would not be smoking after 30 minutes. I put in my cast iron Dutch oven without greasing. After 30 minutes, I took it out, sprayed with the high temp Pam for barbecue grills. Tipped the batter into it and put it in to bake. WONDERFUL> My husband tips his hat to you. It turned out so well and was the least trouble of any bread I have ever made. My only regret is that I did not try it until now. I made the larger loaf and it was perfect! Thanks! justsaymo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I've made this several times and it's wonderful (and so easy too)! Each time it comes out a little different, guess it has to do with the 'wetness' of the sponge, but all have given magnificent results. I do find the holes are smaller when I use more flour! Thanks Zurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This bread is AMAZING and SOOO easy to make! I think I'll try substituting a 1/4 cup of beer in it next time... I also liked it with a bit less salt than was called for. I sprinkled coarse salt and parmesan cheese on top before baking and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zurie's Overnight No-Knead Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (746 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1379.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    49%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4670.1 mg
    194%
    Total Carbohydrate 289.0 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 39.5 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes