Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Yucca Fries (Yuca) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yucca Fries (Yuca)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      These are neat and a treat! Even more buttery in taste than regular fries to me! I was so skeptical - mostly because I tasted the yucca raw first, eww, forgo that step they taste nothing like that cooked. Also while boiling there's an interesting fresh fragrance they let off. After they dried I popped them in the hot oil and they cooked up crisp to the outside and satin-y on the inside. Very impressed and will make again, perhaps will also try baking for a lower fat option!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Followed the directions and found this very simple and turned out wonderful! I boiled for 15 minutes after cutting into 2 inch fries and then put on paper towels on cookie sheet to dry. I didn't do the removal of strings as suggested and they fried up beautifully! I was thrilled to be able to make my own after falling in love with Yucca fries from a local latin restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      These were easy and came out great. I seasoned them with kosher salt and a sprinkling of fresh lemon juice. Lime juice would be great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Maybe I just don't have the right touch. I had these once when I went home to Fla and loved them but this just didn't work for me. Maybe I'll try again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I've made this 3 times now and so far the 3rd time was the charm. It just takes practice. I'm nervous to make it again b/c the last time the heavens must have been aligned b/c it was the best fried yucca I've ever had and I've had it a lot of different ways. I can't wait to try and replicate my effort. I think letting the yucca dry completely is an important part of it. My notes: I use veg oil b/c I have it and skip the fiber step. After frying I sprinkle with the powdered goya adobo and serve with Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise). There are many different sauces and toppings but that's my fav. I didn't get a pic of "the most perfect batch ever" b/c we couldn't pull our fingers away from the plate long enough. This is one of those recipes that you have to practice and figure out how it cooks best in your kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I sliced these into rounds, too, on the advice here and also had the same boiling issue -- a couple of minutes was plenty and some were falling apart. Fried for a long time until really golden. These were a carbolicious treat for us! Didn't reheat very well, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      My first time trying yucca and we enjoyed it very much. I think I slightly overcooked mine as I was expecting the nice golden color in the photo, but mine looked more like regular home fries. I sliced in rounds as recommended by previous reviewer and it worked very well. Served with bottled chili sauce and the plate was empty in about 10 minutes. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      I've always enjoyed yucca and these were a fun alternative to potato fries. I think I would boil just a few minutes less, mine got pretty soft and a little hard to handle. I would recommend heating the oil to almost 375, then adding the yucca, once you add the yuca, the temp drops quickly to 350. They fried much more quickly for me this way. I think next time I will try to cut these into more round, thinner pieces. I went to a restaurant last week and had sweet potato fries topped with cheese, bacon and jalapenos...tried this with the yucca fries. It was okay, next time I'll just use catsup! Thanks NC, this was a great recipe. Update: My husband is raving about these fries. He reheated them in the microwave for 45 seconds the next day and said they were fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yucca Fries (Yuca)

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    56%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes