Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Yo Ho Ho and a Bottle of Rum Caribbean Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yo Ho Ho and a Bottle of Rum Caribbean Salsa

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 29, 2012

      I love this salsa! It is a bit sweet, but I think it will be perfect on my Jerk Chicken! Served with Jerk Chicken, Rice Verde, and Caribbean Coleslaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Prepared for an international feastival. Paired with Carribbean Jerk Chicken (Caribbean Jerk Chicken). Was delicious prepared just as written. I used fresh young coconut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was probably one of the best fruit salsa's I have ever made...great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Awesome fruit salsa recipe. I totally cheated and used canned fruit as good, fresh fruit isn't always available this time of year. I felt like just a little something was lacking, so I added 1 seeded and diced jalapeno, a tablespoon or so of vinegar to give it a little punch, and a teaspoon of cumin and cayenne pepper. I was skeptical about the rum (had a bad run-in with the Captain back in college), but it actually complements the flavor of the salsa nicely. Thanks for sharing! A nice complement to Simple Caribbean Jerk Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Super, everyone loved it and we had never had a fruit salsa before. Made it for a caribbean dinner with "simple Jerk Chicken" (not sure of the recipe number), "classic black beans and rice" and fruit kaboobs with cool whip for dessert along with a punch, a very caribbean theme. added 1 hot pepper diced small to the mix and the heat wasn't much, just mild even the kids ate it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Great salsa! I enjoyed this very much, but I thought that it needed an extra kick of "heat", which I added with a dash of cayenne pepper. I will definitely make this again. Eating this was like a form of escapism for the taste buds; I had fun pretending that I was sitting on a Caribbean beach rather than in my kitchen in rainy London. A keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I live in the Caribbean and this is by far the best salsa I have heard of so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This was really good! The combination of ingrediets was really good!! I served this with chicken cooked on my farberware. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Had this with dinner and DH loved it, by itself and in the Reggae Wraps. I did not have any rum so used rum extract. Also, did not use any salt. I used only 1/2 a papaya and that was bordering on too much. I think the papaya measurement should be given in cups or weight as sizes of papaya vary greatly. This might also benefit from being strained before serving. We tried this on tortilla chips but didn't think it worked as a combination since the chips are too salty for this cool, refreshing salsa. Better to eat by itself or over chicken, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      A refreshing salsa, indeed Just one point, chef. I would suggest you be more definitive with sizes of papaya, mango and bell pepper. These ingredients are available in different sizes.... and found the (medium) sizes I used yielded more then 4 cups...minor point, however. Great flavour. Full marks Chef... thank you for a wonderfully refreshing salsa...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      With mangoes and papaya in season and just so delicious right now, I just had to make this recipe. It sounded superb - and I was delighted by just how totally delicious it was. It looks superb too. Loved the orange and lime juice: they were the perfect complement to the rum. I've saved this in my Summer Favourites cookbook. Thank you for this wonderful creation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Wow, this salsa is excellant. We all enjoyed it very much. I served it with grilled chicken thighs, pork tenderloin and rice. Easy to make, with wonderful flavour and textures. I will certainly be making this again and again. Tastes even better the next day. Thank you so much for sharing your creation with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Great salsa! It's refreshing with a nice tropical flair. I used sweet onion and went a little heavier on the cilantro. I served it over broiled fish, but this would go well w/ chicken and pork, too. I will make this again. Thanx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      We really liked this salsa. I prepared it and put it in the fridge for two days in a glass jar. The flavors blended well together and it was very refreshing. And, since there were no hot peppers the 4 year old loved it! He ate it with chips and on chicken! High compliment since he usually pushes toppings aside! The adults liked it because it tempered the heat of the spicy chicken! Thank you! Good Luck Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      This salsa was very good but we found it to be almost dessert sweet. Tried it on chicken, and on breakfast eggs but it just didn't fit. We ended up using it for a topping for icecream and it was delicious, also used it as a topper for rice pudding. Good Luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      This Fruit Salsa is such a great change! Loved the combination of the fruits and spices! Was hoping to have some leftover, but, our dinner guests took the lefover home with them! (No, we didn't finish the bottle of Rum..I hid it in the cupboard!) Thanks for a great addition to our table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      ok I am not as think as you drunk I am. lol This was pretty good but a little 'wet' for my taste-- the coconut also was a little strange to me. Great creation for RSC. GL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yo Ho Ho and a Bottle of Rum Caribbean Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.2
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 28.5 g
    114%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes