14 Reviews

Mirjam, I can almost close my eyes, pick any (vegetarian :-) recipe of yours, knowing that it'll turn out great. This one, again, was fantastic! I had kidney beans leftover from another recipe, so I used them here instead of black beans. I also substituted white onions for the scallions and lemon juice instead of lime. I filled the mixture in chappatis, and gobbled this up for dinner... sooo goood! Again, thanks a ton :-)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 10, 2002

Yes indeed. This is a winner. Made this for supper last night. We added just a little cheese. Thanks for a great recipe. Definitely will make this again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 23, 2002

Delicious! I loved how fresh it tasted. Some members of my family added pieces of chicken to theirs while others kept it vegetarian. Tastes great with cheese and sour cream and a little Spanish rice on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kitten May 05, 2011

This was pretty god, very simple to make. VERY garlicky (and I love garlic). I liked the versatility- you can make it spicy and add any veggies you think would compliment it. This could be used as a good bean dip as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain January 27, 2010

Delicious! Before filling the torillas, I lined them with sour cream and salsa. Otherwise, made as directed. Thanks, Mirj! Made for ZWT5, the Kitchen Witches!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees May 23, 2009

This is very easy and very yummy! My husband and I loved it, and I plan to make it again soon! We added a little cheese and sour cream. Yum! Thanks for a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Irion May 22, 2009

This is delicious! I really like the taste of the citrus - both the lime and the orange add a nice touch. I used chives because I don't have green onions and it worked just fine. I made a delicious quesadilla: 1 whole wheat tortilla folded in half with this black bean mixture, monterey jack cheese and sides of nonfat sour cream and salsa. Made my teammate's recipe for ZWT5. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif May 18, 2009

Delicious in tortillas, delicious on its own as a dip. I was out of bell pepper so I subbed one small carrot. Good balance of flavors and very easy and economical for the beginner cook, starving college student or family trying to cut costs. Healthy, too! My only complaint would be that I think the recipe should be doubled. Reviewed for ZWT 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 15, 2009

I made 2 of these to take along as my lunch - they were so satisfying. I upped the cayenne and used sun dried tortillas MMMMMMM. Thank Mirjam 06 Nov 08 Made again - This time I added a Jalapeno bit more cayenne and cilantro - Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy November 06, 2008

Fabulous! We used whole wheat tortillas and I added about a tsp of cumin as well. Love that it's so healthy too! It was a great, quick and satisfying weekend meal. Thanks for another good one Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellymbrown May 11, 2008
Veggie Tex-Mex Tortilla Wraps