27 Reviews

Good tasting, but mushy. I even added some flour because the mixture seemed so soft. Next time I might use breadcrumbs, we didnt have any on hand. The flavour is nice, though I didnt have kidney beans and so used black beans. The whole patty is pretty mushy though, I'll try leaving it more coarse next time as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blanks September 30, 2011

This is a fabulous recipe. I make it often. I change out the seasoning, veggies, and the type of beans. We love it. Thank you so much for sharing this delightful versatile recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zilverb July 25, 2011

Made this just as posted and we loved them. To get the burgers a little firmer I cook them slowly and part of the time with a lid on the pan. But I like the taste and texture, especially with a slice of low-fat cheese on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 04, 2011

First time making a veggie burger and I really enjoyed it. My blender died on me as I was trying to get everything mixed and tried to mash it all instead. When I put the mix in the fridge to chill, I got a call and had to leave, so it ended up staying in the fridge overnight. They turned out nice and firm, but maybe we didn't cook them long enough cause the middle was a little mushy. I did change a couple things, as per other reviews I added the egg and bread crumbs, and I didn't have any kidney beans so I used black beans, which gave it a very beany taste. Overall, I really liked it, and will give it another go and maybe tweek a few other ingredients. My husband even really enjoyed these "burgers" and he is all about eating meat!! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IdrilMoonshadowtheChef June 05, 2011

@#$!, this was awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Damion Trimmier June 10, 2010

Dull flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond May 30, 2010

3 1/2 stars. Nice taste but came out crunchy on the outside slightly mushy on the inside. I did not add the bell pepper out of preference, but I did add an egg like many reviewers. I used an organic corn free ketchup rather than the tomato paste. I found the mixture was going to blend to a paste and not chop in my blender so I stopped half way through and just hand crushed the rest of the ingredients together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 17, 2010

These are GREAT. They actually stay together like real burgers and work on the grill very well. The leftovers freeze well too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyepsen March 17, 2010

While these taste great, the mixture is gooey and rather thin even after refrigerating. I ended up scooping it out and onto a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. I formed them into patties and broiled. Got 6 patties out of the mixture for 1 WW point each.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb February 27, 2010

I had some friends come for an overnighter which have become vegitarian. My goodness, this recipe saved me. These vegie burgers are awesome. Even my husband liked them. The only thing I did different was sauteing the vegies in some olive oil, and adding red pepper and garlic spice with some worchestershire. These burgers were a hit. Even their 2 yr old loved them. Thanks for saving the day Khah!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geolaur February 02, 2010
Veggie Burger