16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice change for dinner and very tasty! The only thing I changed was to add around 1/2 cup water at the end since it seemed too thick for me. I also added 2 tablespoons of coconut to give a hint of sweetness

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea PhD January 04, 2010

So good and easy! I made this after moving into our new house and it was That easy! I did add only 1.5 tsp ginger because I'm not a huge fan of a lot of ginger. Even my very very picky 3 y/o ate 5 bites (HUGE). Thanks for the great veggie keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz March 31, 2012

LOVE thsi recipe! I want to make it again next week. I did add an extra can of kisney beans and an extra can of tomatoes to make it go a little further but I wish I just doubled the recipe so I could eat it all week! Thank you for this yummy gem!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingersnap June 30, 2010

Loved it! Used white beans instead of red beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenora M. August 05, 2014

TRY THIS!! Excellent recipe!! However, I had to make a few adjustments according to what was available in my pantry. Substituted the red onion for white onion and the green bell pepper for a yellow bell pepper. I also used Thai green curry paste instead of the curry powder. Mixing food genres a bit, but it still turned out SOOO yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiotSundae March 19, 2013

This was my first attempt at cooking and Indonesian stew and I really liked it. The recipe was quick and easy to make with clear directions and best of all the finished result tasted very yummy!
It had a nice blend of flavours and I especially enjoyed the added pb. I used dried beans that had been soaked and cooked previously.
Due to a taste preference I cut back on the ginger, but other than that followed your recipe.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it with us!
Made and reviewed for the Indonesian Tag Game October 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 20, 2010

This was pretty good as written, but I found that it needed some added salt. I used fresh minced garlic. Also, added some sambal oelek to give it a little extra something and garnished with some freshed chopped parsley for color. All in all, though, I would say this is a keeper that only needed minor tweaking. Thanks for the great post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drbecca26 March 04, 2007

This wasn't bad, but needed a bit of something even after I added about a teaspoon of salt. The combination of beans was good (even though I got a bag of cooked large kidney beans out of the freezer instead of black beans - they all look the same frozen!) and went well with the capsicum (I used red as I didn't have green). It might have been better made with smooth peanut butter (I only had crunchy) and I had to add about a can full of water to make it stay stew-like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo C October 23, 2006
Vegetarian Indonesian Curried Bean Stew