Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegetarian Indonesian Curried Bean Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Indonesian Curried Bean Stew

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2012

      So good and easy! I made this after moving into our new house and it was That easy! I did add only 1.5 tsp ginger because I'm not a huge fan of a lot of ginger. Even my very very picky 3 y/o ate 5 bites (HUGE). Thanks for the great veggie keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      LOVE thsi recipe! I want to make it again next week. I did add an extra can of kisney beans and an extra can of tomatoes to make it go a little further but I wish I just doubled the recipe so I could eat it all week! Thank you for this yummy gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was a nice change for dinner and very tasty! The only thing I changed was to add around 1/2 cup water at the end since it seemed too thick for me. I also added 2 tablespoons of coconut to give a hint of sweetness

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      TRY THIS!! Excellent recipe!! However, I had to make a few adjustments according to what was available in my pantry. Substituted the red onion for white onion and the green bell pepper for a yellow bell pepper. I also used Thai green curry paste instead of the curry powder. Mixing food genres a bit, but it still turned out SOOO yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

    • on October 20, 2010

      This was my first attempt at cooking and Indonesian stew and I really liked it. The recipe was quick and easy to make with clear directions and best of all the finished result tasted very yummy!
      It had a nice blend of flavours and I especially enjoyed the added pb. I used dried beans that had been soaked and cooked previously.
      Due to a taste preference I cut back on the ginger, but other than that followed your recipe.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it with us!
      Made and reviewed for the Indonesian Tag Game October 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

    • on March 04, 2007

      This was pretty good as written, but I found that it needed some added salt. I used fresh minced garlic. Also, added some sambal oelek to give it a little extra something and garnished with some freshed chopped parsley for color. All in all, though, I would say this is a keeper that only needed minor tweaking. Thanks for the great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This wasn't bad, but needed a bit of something even after I added about a teaspoon of salt. The combination of beans was good (even though I got a bag of cooked large kidney beans out of the freezer instead of black beans - they all look the same frozen!) and went well with the capsicum (I used red as I didn't have green). It might have been better made with smooth peanut butter (I only had crunchy) and I had to add about a can full of water to make it stay stew-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Very good! I didn't have ground ginger so I used grated fresh ginger. Excellent taste. No additional salt was needed. I used brown rice which was yummy mixed in with the stew. Very easy to make. Excellent meal with items found in your pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This is great! I probably would've never found it but Debbie R suggested it over in the vegetarian forum. All the flavours work really well together. I used fresh tomatoes, so I had to add a fair bit of salt, and I substituted black-eyed peas for the black beans because I was out. Used Sharon123's recipe for curry powder. Highly recommended, easy to make and tastes yummy. I'll make it again for sure! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Outstanding! Easy to make; wonderful flavor. It makes more like 7 to 8 servings, however, if you divide up the nutrition info into something that resembles a reasonably sized meal. Since I can't have diced tomatoes, I used 6 ounces of tomato paste and 1 cup water instead. I'll make this again and again, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Very inexpensive, healthy, and interesting. When my DH first saw it, he asked, "Where's the meat?" When he actually tasted it though, he said, "This is really good!" (High praise from him.) Didn't miss the meat at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Wow,this is fantastic! I wanted something different tonight and this fit the bill. I used a red pepper instead of green and we skipped the rice and ate it with fresh bread. I think it would also be good on couscous. Thanks so much, I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      We love a recipe with high protein. Fantastic dish. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Indonesian Curried Bean Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (588 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 869.5
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    13%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 387.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 158.1 g
    52%
    Dietary Fiber 24.6 g
    98%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites