10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought this was OK. Kinda bland so I'd recommend adding in some garlic powder or maybe some dijon mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smadie3 May 22, 2011

I made this exactly as written except I subbed onion flakes for raw onion...I liked the combo of lime and lemon a lot but felt it was missing something. I think next time I'll use a regular fresh onion and maybe some of the other reviewers' suggestions because this is a good base!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS January 08, 2011

I've had a lot of chickpea salad sandwiches, but I like this one best. The lemon and dill make a great flavor combination, and the fact that it's not swimming in mayo is quite nice. We like it on whole wheat bread with lettuce, tomato, and sprouts. Thanks for a handy & tasty lunch recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama June 03, 2008

This was great. I used onion powder instead of onions (I don't care for raw onions). I also added red pepper flakes, spicy brown mustard, and grapes... ate it on a spinach wrap and LOVED it! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle F. June 02, 2008

Yum! Only thing I modified was that I used green onion instead of yellow or white.. Next time I am gonna try kidney beans (just because they are cheaper) but other than that I wouldn't change a thing.. Quick and Easy with a Yummy taste, what else could you ask for?? Thanks Sunshine..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen February 01, 2008

Excellent recipe! I made it exactly as written and added tomato and lettace to the sandwhich and ate it with some tomato soup. I always love finding new sandwhiches I can eat as a vegetarian and I'm sure this one will become a regular in my home. Thanks Chef Sunshine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam December 17, 2007

I eat this everyday for lunch. It's a high quality source of protein, it's low in calories, and it's high in fiber. It's also quite delicious and filling!! Try using different types of beans: pinto beans have a smoky flavor, canellini beans have a delicate creamy taste, black beans have more texture. You can also play around with the condiments: ketchup and mayo, or mustard and mayo, dill or sweet relish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois November 30, 2007

I can't believe this recipe has only 2 reviews! I didn't have celery, so I used extra onion. This was stuffed in a whole wheat pita with lettuce, onion, and tomato. I think minced garlic would be a great addition. Super fast to make, tastes great, and very healthy. What's not to love? Like the other reviewers, I get way more than 3 servings out of this - more along the lines of 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen August 21, 2007

I added pickle relish and yellow mustard to this recipe. My husband and I couldn't get enough. I doubled the recipe, which made 13 sandwiches, which we polished off in less than 3 days! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug810 April 15, 2007

good stuff , very filling, and super easy. i used ff miracle whip. i'll get at least 4 pita sandwiches out of this. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenErinM February 08, 2006
Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling