Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      I thought this was OK. Kinda bland so I'd recommend adding in some garlic powder or maybe some dijon mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I made this exactly as written except I subbed onion flakes for raw onion...I liked the combo of lime and lemon a lot but felt it was missing something. I think next time I'll use a regular fresh onion and maybe some of the other reviewers' suggestions because this is a good base!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I've had a lot of chickpea salad sandwiches, but I like this one best. The lemon and dill make a great flavor combination, and the fact that it's not swimming in mayo is quite nice. We like it on whole wheat bread with lettuce, tomato, and sprouts. Thanks for a handy & tasty lunch recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This was great. I used onion powder instead of onions (I don't care for raw onions). I also added red pepper flakes, spicy brown mustard, and grapes... ate it on a spinach wrap and LOVED it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Yum! Only thing I modified was that I used green onion instead of yellow or white.. Next time I am gonna try kidney beans (just because they are cheaper) but other than that I wouldn't change a thing.. Quick and Easy with a Yummy taste, what else could you ask for?? Thanks Sunshine..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Excellent recipe! I made it exactly as written and added tomato and lettace to the sandwhich and ate it with some tomato soup. I always love finding new sandwhiches I can eat as a vegetarian and I'm sure this one will become a regular in my home. Thanks Chef Sunshine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I eat this everyday for lunch. It's a high quality source of protein, it's low in calories, and it's high in fiber. It's also quite delicious and filling!! Try using different types of beans: pinto beans have a smoky flavor, canellini beans have a delicate creamy taste, black beans have more texture. You can also play around with the condiments: ketchup and mayo, or mustard and mayo, dill or sweet relish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I can't believe this recipe has only 2 reviews! I didn't have celery, so I used extra onion. This was stuffed in a whole wheat pita with lettuce, onion, and tomato. I think minced garlic would be a great addition. Super fast to make, tastes great, and very healthy. What's not to love? Like the other reviewers, I get way more than 3 servings out of this - more along the lines of 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I added pickle relish and yellow mustard to this recipe. My husband and I couldn't get enough. I doubled the recipe, which made 13 sandwiches, which we polished off in less than 3 days! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      good stuff , very filling, and super easy. i used ff miracle whip. i'll get at least 4 pita sandwiches out of this. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    13%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites