Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegetarian Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2012

      We're cheap, poor, creative, picky and hungry. And vegetarian. This worked. Moreover, my gourmand husband said this was the best thing I've made in 22 years. It's filling but double the recipe. They'll want more. Sour creme's a good touch. Nice job, you guys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I made this as written--almost. We like our soups to be a little "soupier" so I added another cup of diced potatoes and a second can of vegetable broth. I also did my usual method of sauteing the pressed garlic and onions in a touch of oil till soft, then added the broth, etc. My DH has enjoyed it over the weekend while I was at work and asked that I make it again...soon. Very easy and very tasty. A great combination for my hectic schedule. Thanks Sweety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I can never have enough vegetarian soup recipes in my collection and this is a very welcome addition. This was really easy to put together and tasted good too. I did have to add some extra broth to keep it going dry but I have had this trouble with black bean soups before and I am really starting to think there is something different about black beans I get in the UK and those in the States. So, that has nothing to do with your recipe, I am sure and wasn't a very big deal. I am a bit of a spice wimp but my hubby likes it hot. So, I didn't add the hot sauce to the big pot but instead gave him the bottle to put it in for himself. I topped mine with some low fat sour cream and some banana chillies. Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I'm going to review without stars with the disclaimer that this was *wonderful*! But I did a fair bit of tweaking to use up what I had on hand (cleaning out the pantry before moving), so I didn't think it was fair to review it as is. The modifications: I used a generous helping of chopped roasted garlic that I had in the freezer. Realized I had run out of cumin, so I used some curry and coriander (I think that's what it was!)- later on I found the cumin, so added that in too:). I used a 19 oz can of 6 mixed beans and a 19 oz can of white navy beans. Dumped my tomatoes in and then realized, oops, that was a 28 oz can! So the soup got double the tomatoes. I also added in a small can of peaches and cream corn, which gave this the best crunch. Tossed in a dash of super hot garlic hot sauce and a shake of red pepper flakes for the heat-lovers. At that point I let it simmer for hours and hours, adding water as needed. In the last hour and a half of cooking I added in diced potatoes and carrots so they wouldn't get too mushy. After about 6 hours of simmering we had the most lovely *very* thick stew-like dish that people just piled on their plates as a side dish instead of as a soup. Everyone ignored my dish of green onions for the topping, lol. The thickness of this (and I added a lot of extra water/broth) would lend itself well to being served with naan bread or soft pitas for scooping. We served it as a side along with veggie burgers and pulled pork, but definitely hearty enough to be a solid main dish. Vegans, vegetarians and meat-eaters alike (10 of us) all tucked into this and loved it. I'll definitely make it again and next time I'll try it with the black beans:). Personally I think the long cooking time really brought all the flavours together well- it had a bit of a kick with the most lovely smokey curry/cumin undertone to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Not only is this super delicious and filling, but it's nutritous and low-fat, too! I made this exactly as written. I loved the green onion garnish. I also dalloped a tbsp of fat free sour cream on top. Thanx for posting this. I'll make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Easy to prepare and simply delicious. A late night in the office and I was looking for something just above a frozen dinner with homemade flavors to satisfy my tastebuds. In error, I opened a can of tomatoes with jalapenos and decided to use that and omit the hot pepper sauce. Worked just fine. My other change was that I was making a half batch of soup but used the full can of tomatoes (what does one do with the other half, especially with a specialty type?). Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This was easy to make and uses ingredients I always have on hand. I followed the recipe except I added more pepper sauce. I loved the addition of potatoes to the soup. The flavor was delicious! Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe SweetySJD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Loved this. Easy to make and it just hit the spot for a lighter supper tonight. The flavor has a very nice heat to it. I used Yukon Gold spuds and they kept their shape very well even though that were tender. I always use the bean juices in soup instead of draining them so there was some extra flavor from that, also I added some leftover cooked carrot to use it up. Thanks Sweety for another yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.9
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    70%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites