Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegetarian Black Bean Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Black Bean Chili

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I did make some changes based on the ingredients I had on hand. (e.g. I used dried beans. After cooking them, I used some of the bean juice in the chili.)

      We had enought left over to freeze. It was just as good after freezing and reheating. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I thought this was pretty good, but I definitely didn't think there were enough beans; I ended up adding an extra can of black beans as well as some cilantro I had laying around to the mix. With those modifications, it was perfectly to my taste. Also, it froze well. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Made this for supper this week. Great recipe. Easy and quick to make, delicious in our tummy's! I didn't use the peppers as I didn't have any and just added another can of beans instead. Even my 2 year old ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This was really, really delicious. I added a chopped jalapeno and only ended up using 8oz. tomato sauce and maybe 2 oz. of tomato paste. Even then, it was very "saucy" so I added an additional 1 can of black beans. I diced 2 portobella caps into large chunks and that gave it a "meaty" texture. Very, very good and we'll definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I'm not sure this really tasted like chili to me, but regardless, the flavor and texture was great! Cornbread would be a perfect complement to this dish. Also, given its consistency, I also think it would be great served over pasta with a side salad and crusty bread. My husband loaded it up with cheese to top. Thanks for this one, SweetySJD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      The taste was good, but I think it was a little too tomato-ie. Next time I may try adding half the tomato paste and half the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Hearty and full of flavour. The carnivore in me couldn't resist serving this with some rice and beef. The left overs made a lovely thick soup that I ate on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Delicious chili, didn't even miss the meat! The only change I made was to add 1 chopped jalapeno I had in the fridge. Thank you very much, I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Oh my, this was a fine, fine chili with lots of flavor and just a hint of heat. I used low sodium tomato sauce and tomato paste and (I know it's heresy) canned mushrooms. The peppers I had around are orange and green so that's what I made it with. Love the black beans, love that it's so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Delicious vegetarian chili!! Had just enough spices and was not too thick - just right!! My bf made me fresh blackbeans that we used here and I made the rest as is (used 2 red peppers instead of green and yellow). Thanks Sweety - can't wait to have the leftovers!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    18%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 548.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 13.6 g
    54%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes