11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I felt this was a bit too tomatoey... the taste of the puree overwhelmed all the other flavours. What I DID like were the carrots, which were cooked just right and complimented the yellow pumpkin (which I stubstituted for zucchini) really well. This soup is extremely filling and healthy and is pretty good except for the rather excess tomatoey taste. Thanks for sharing this, Charlotte.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu March 04, 2003

We really liked this soup. I did not have head cabbage so I used Bok Choy and I used the canned tomatoes. Great flavor with lots of "stuff." Thanks. Diana

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's November 14, 2001

A good takeoff point--easy to adapt to yoiur preferences. I added some leeks in with the garlic and onions, because I had them on hand, and some chopped leftover chicken toward the end. I left out the zucchini, 'cause I didn't have any, and added frozen peas and corn--and some oregano and bay leaf and a couple shakes of Melinda's Hot Sauce. And just one ripe tomato, chopped fine, instead of the puree. -- I liked my soup, which isn't exactly the same as this one, but this is where I started.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omniveg June 27, 2009

Excellent! Definitely a keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel April 22, 2009

Great soup! I made a big pot of this last night to bring for lunch this week and it's delicious. I used a mix of zucchini, cabbage, carrots, green beans, and corn. I also used diced tomatoes instead of puree. I used 4 cups of organic vegetable broth and 5 cups of water. Finally, I substited 1/2 cup quinoa for the barley, as my local Whole Foods was completely out. I highly recommend using the quinoa! Thanks for a great, customizable recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannarose November 03, 2008

What a lovely tasting soup. I used chicken broth in place of the water to give it a little extra flavor. Had to omit the parsley, as I didn't have any on hand and I used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Will definitely make this again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 18, 2008

Delicious! I made mine without zucchini and sugar. I added vegetable broth powder to the water and used about 50% more carrots. I also added a few dashes of cayenne powder at the end. I made Quick Dinner Buns, using whole wheat flour, with this tonight. Even my son who's been complaining about my new interest in vegan-type meals enjoyed it and said they were good together, but probably wouldn't be separate. I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blessed*One September 21, 2008

Very yummy!! I almost opted not to include the tomatoes (based off another review) but I changed my mind last minute since I love tomatoes. I'm so glad I did, it gave such a richness to the soup. I love the creaminess of the barley too! I subbed celery for the zucchini and I used a little basil since I had no bay leaf. Also, I used 2 chopped roma tomatoes & 1 (blended up) 14oz can diced tomatoes. I love a soup that I can freeze too! Thanks for a keeper, Charlotte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee827 October 27, 2006

This was a great soup that I made for tonight. I didn't have zucchini, subbed celery, some mushrooms and a bag of "aging" baby spinach AND I added a tsp of Italian Herbs. I also added a splash of tabasco sauce to my own bowl of soup. This was a comforting tasty soup that promises to age gracefully. It went well with the loaf of pumpernickel bread that I purchased at our local bakery. A nice basic soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ March 18, 2006

A good soup. Mine turned out a little bland for my tastes, so I did add some Italian seasonings, and in addition, I added fresh spinach, kidney beans, and frozen sweet corn.We also sprinkled some Parmesan on it. I'm sure Ill make it again when winter rolls around. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP August 25, 2004
Vegetable Barley Soup