Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2003

      I felt this was a bit too tomatoey... the taste of the puree overwhelmed all the other flavours. What I DID like were the carrots, which were cooked just right and complimented the yellow pumpkin (which I stubstituted for zucchini) really well. This soup is extremely filling and healthy and is pretty good except for the rather excess tomatoey taste. Thanks for sharing this, Charlotte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2001

      We really liked this soup. I did not have head cabbage so I used Bok Choy and I used the canned tomatoes. Great flavor with lots of "stuff." Thanks. Diana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      A good takeoff point--easy to adapt to yoiur preferences. I added some leeks in with the garlic and onions, because I had them on hand, and some chopped leftover chicken toward the end. I left out the zucchini, 'cause I didn't have any, and added frozen peas and corn--and some oregano and bay leaf and a couple shakes of Melinda's Hot Sauce. And just one ripe tomato, chopped fine, instead of the puree. -- I liked my soup, which isn't exactly the same as this one, but this is where I started.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Excellent! Definitely a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Great soup! I made a big pot of this last night to bring for lunch this week and it's delicious. I used a mix of zucchini, cabbage, carrots, green beans, and corn. I also used diced tomatoes instead of puree. I used 4 cups of organic vegetable broth and 5 cups of water. Finally, I substited 1/2 cup quinoa for the barley, as my local Whole Foods was completely out. I highly recommend using the quinoa! Thanks for a great, customizable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      What a lovely tasting soup. I used chicken broth in place of the water to give it a little extra flavor. Had to omit the parsley, as I didn't have any on hand and I used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Will definitely make this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Delicious! I made mine without zucchini and sugar. I added vegetable broth powder to the water and used about 50% more carrots. I also added a few dashes of cayenne powder at the end. I made Quick Dinner Buns, using whole wheat flour, with this tonight. Even my son who's been complaining about my new interest in vegan-type meals enjoyed it and said they were good together, but probably wouldn't be separate. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Very yummy!! I almost opted not to include the tomatoes (based off another review) but I changed my mind last minute since I love tomatoes. I'm so glad I did, it gave such a richness to the soup. I love the creaminess of the barley too! I subbed celery for the zucchini and I used a little basil since I had no bay leaf. Also, I used 2 chopped roma tomatoes & 1 (blended up) 14oz can diced tomatoes. I love a soup that I can freeze too! Thanks for a keeper, Charlotte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      This was a great soup that I made for tonight. I didn't have zucchini, subbed celery, some mushrooms and a bag of "aging" baby spinach AND I added a tsp of Italian Herbs. I also added a splash of tabasco sauce to my own bowl of soup. This was a comforting tasty soup that promises to age gracefully. It went well with the loaf of pumpernickel bread that I purchased at our local bakery. A nice basic soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      A good soup. Mine turned out a little bland for my tastes, so I did add some Italian seasonings, and in addition, I added fresh spinach, kidney beans, and frozen sweet corn.We also sprinkled some Parmesan on it. I'm sure Ill make it again when winter rolls around. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      Good for health - especially the carrots, cabbage n zucchini - will make this once winter comes by!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (622 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.5
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    24%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 82.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes