13 Reviews

I love this! I made them and the texture was a little strange, so then I added about 1/4 cup of honey and it was way better! I only left the in the oven for 14 minutes and they came out great. don't let them brown or else they are too dry.
Also, I have tried it with brown rice flour for gluten free. Since rice flower is more dry and flaky
I make it with 1 cup of applesauce (instead of 1/2) for a more runny moist mixture and bake it in a mini muffin pan :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soycele January 07, 2013

I am allergic to apples and used pumpkin instead. And in another batch I used pear butter and pumpkin because I was out of bananas. I also added carob chips and used gluten free flour and oats. These cookies were a big hit at Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrusselSprout November 28, 2010

They definately dont taste like traditional oatmeal cookies, but still pretty good. Very few ingredients, super soft and moist, I actually ran out of oats but used 2 packets (3/4 cup) of maple brown sugar instant oatmeal. I also threw in a handful of chopped walnuts. This is more of a yummy powerhouse cookie. Thanks for posting, I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyMamaof3 February 25, 2010

Ok, so I followed this recipe as a loose guideline to make the kind of cookies I was looking for. Then I ended up making them into bars instead. I didn't use the banana; 1/2 cup sorghum flour & 1/2 cup oat flour instead of the flour; 2 tbsp molasses & 2 tbsp agave nectar instead of brown sugar; 1 cup of oatmeal; and then I added 1 tbsp almond butter, a handful of dried cranberries, a handful of pumpkin seeds, and a handful of walnuts. Then I pressed it into a 8" square pan, and baked for 30 minutes at 350F. Got a cookie bar that tasted pretty good, but it felt like it was missing something (possibly from my own substitutions). In any case, I would definitely use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rancyr December 12, 2009

My husband thought that these cookies were good, but to me, they did not come close to anything cookie like, except maybe their shape. They were mushy in the middle and burned on the bottom, even though I turned the temp down 25 degrees during baking. I don't know maybe it was me, but I did follow the directions exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elise_the_vegan December 11, 2009

I mistakenly reviewed this recipe for another. Haven't tried it...yet. Sorry for the mix-up and please disregard my Jan 2 review. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrige Von Kadhus January 03, 2009

These were excellent! I made some minor changes based on ingredients I had. I used some whole Spelt flour along with regular flour, didn't use nutmeg because I didn't have any, used 1/2 of the amount of applesauce amd replaced the other half with canned pureed pumpkin. I also used 1/2 and 1/2 of dried currants and dried cranberries. Next time I will probably reduce the brown sugar to make it a tad healthier. Overall, I loved these. Thank you! Oh! And I only baked them for 15 minutes and that was perfect timing for my oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunflower99 August 05, 2008

The texture was quite chewy and not particularly cookie-like, but the flavour is very wholesome and tasty. Definitely a good recipe to have handy, especially if you have kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Bourdain February 13, 2008

This was the worst recipe I have ever used. I followed the ingredients and directions exactly, and it came out tasting like cooked banana mush. It was such a waste of my time, and I had to go out to a vegan store to buy vegan cookies instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crudd08 December 22, 2007

My son has multiple food allergies and loves these cookies! Although, for some reason he won't eat them whole, just torn up in pieces! Go figure, he's 2!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmcmsu December 04, 2007
Vegan Oatmeal Cookies