Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Vegan Hacienda Hash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Hacienda Hash

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2002

      I haven't been so pleased to come across a recipe like this in a loooong time! I actually made this over the weekend, but just finished up the last bit yesterday for lunch. This is such a versatile recipe! I pretty much followed the ingredients, except used 3 cups of sweet potato and 1 cup of white potato, not on purpose, I just didn't have enough sweet potato in the house. And that's the beauty of this recipe, you can alternate, mix it up, just stay within the amounts and follow the instructions. I started out having this with some cooked wheatberries, then used it again rolled up in a tortilla. I finally had the last of it yesterday for lunch, mixed with some multi-colored pasta. Next time I make it (which will be this weekend), I think I'll add some cubed tofu and some fresh champignion mushrooms. Dancer, this recipe is truly superb, and thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      Yummy! I had this on brown rice for dinner last night topped with a little cheddar, and my meat-and-potato man loved it (very surprising). With the leftovers I am going to add some black beans and maybe some stewed tomatoes for an easy veg chili. I think I will also kick it up with a little hot sauce. Delicious, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is great... as written it makes huge, delicious, more-than-satisfying portions without guilt tied to it. I did not use safflower oil and it was fine without it. Make this! Eat it! Be happy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This was great! I enjoyed it on its own, but it was even better wrapped in a tortilla for lunch. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Very good recipe. I used only one jalapeno with the seeds and it gave just enough spice. I served this over white rice (that I seasoned with cayenne and chili powder). Very tasty, and healthy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Amazing!!! I am speechless, I have made it a couple times this week. Even my meat loving co-workers and husband could not get enough! I added chili powder, and a dash of cayenne and spiced it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This is awesome! My vegan daughter was visiting and I made this and she flipped. She ate it for several days. Thank you for an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      This is a colorful, healthy-tasting hash. My soon-to-be-husband doesn't like bell pepper, so I had to leave those out. Otherwise I prepared it exactly as listed. He even ate it for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I just finished my first Hacienda Hash tortilla wrap! Yum! I LOVE the concept and the versatility (thanks for all the great ideas everyone!), and while I'll definitely make it again, I'll need to do some adjusting. I have to either get some new chili powder (no doubt) and/or bump up the spices considerably. I forgot the corn today, but added black beans for the protein, and a dab of sour cream for just a little juiciness for the wrap. I also found it a little on the sweet side, but if I adjust the spices to my liking, that may not be an issue. (The lime juice sounds like a great addition!) If it's still too sweet, I'd use less sweet potatoes but more bell peppers, zuke and onions. DEFINITELY a keeper. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Admittedly I'm not vegan, but I had 50+ guests and only one non-vegan person really liked this. I followed it exactly, but I guess I just didn't have the knack for the TLC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      I would give this 5 stars but we found it much to spicy. I suspect it was the chilli powder I used - it was obviously too strong. I will definately make again with only 1/2 tsp chilli powder amd 1/2 tsp paprika instead, as we loved the range of veges used and texture in the tortilla wraps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      i made this completely as directed and loved it!! It is a great vegetarian dish and next time I make enchiladas this will be the side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      yummy! I made so many substitutions and it still turned out amazing. I will certainly be making this again....and again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      I really enjoyed this delightful different dish. I added a russet tater to the recipe also. Thanks for a beyond 5 star

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      I made this tonight. I was afraid the sweet potato would make this very sweet and didn't think it would go with the spices. WRONG! It's marvelous, I used this as a side dish with a salad. I will make this again and use as a dip next month when I throw a birthday party. Thank you cookin' "Dancer"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      Excellent nutrient-dense meal! Try it with a squirt of lime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Hacienda Hash

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.2
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    22%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 688.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites