66 Reviews

SO YUMMY. I did half and half of olive oil and vegan margarine instead of all 1/4 margarine. I would have liked it to rise more but the top came out crispy and the rest super moist. Mixing the frozen blueberries with the batter turned the batter blue, but other than that they look great. I topped it off with a crumb topping of 1/2 tbsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 3 tbsp margarine before baking and that made it even tastier. Try it :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogachica November 07, 2010

these muffins are amazing!! i used rice milk instead of soy and fresh berries (which i coated in flour to prevent sinking, thanks to another reviewer here for that tip!) i also baked them for about 26 minutes, the texture was perfect and the tops were a lovely light brown. i think i am going to add a bit of lemon next time i make them to add a new flavor dimension. i will make these time and time again, thank you!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyisvegan June 22, 2010

These were great! I used whole wheat flour and fresh (backyard-picked) blueberries. I also decreased both the sugar and the blueberries a bit at the suggestion of other reviewers, added some cinnamon and ground flax to the batter, and topped them off with a sprinkle of brown sugar. Very tasty! I will definitely make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peaceloverun June 24, 2011

These were amazing!! The only thing I did differently was use a banana instead of applesauce, and they held together great. SUPER MOIST! I baked for 30 minutes, and they came to a very golden brown. Thank You for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenniferobot October 06, 2010

Super tasty & moist per the DH!!!! These were very easy to throw together and the variations are endless....lemon zest (from another reviewer), flavored applesauce, cinnamon, brown sugar crumb topping, nuts, dried blueberries, and more!! I used half whole wheat and they turned out great. Thank you for this lovely recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 06, 2010

I actually wanted to make apple cinnamon muffins. Out of all of the vegan muffin recipes this one makes the most sense in my opinion as far as measurements. I used 4 gala apples, omitted the blueberries, added two teaspoons of cinnamon, used coconut oil instead of margarine, used 1 1/2 cups of maple syrup instead of sugar, and used almond milk instead of soy. Oh I also found that 1 cup of almond milk was needed for the dry ingrediants to be wet enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil_Mommy October 20, 2009

These muffins came out great! I used a banana in place of the apple sauce and used whole wheat flour instead of white, to make them even healthier. I've been eating them all week for breakfast with my coffee. I'm excited to try different berry and fruit combinations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Amarnick October 31, 2013

Wonderful muffins! I made a couple changes: all olive oil rather than margarine, cut the sugar by 1/4 c, left out the vanilla, used vanilla coconut milk in place of soy, and added 1 Tbs of lemon juice with the zest of a lemon. Baked for 30 minutes. Thanks for a keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GertieGirl October 20, 2013

Just made these this morning. Very tasty and the texture was perfect. I used whole wheat flower to make it a little more wholesome. I do think there was a bit too much sugar involved though, next time I would use a bit less. But I definitely plan to make these again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel S. September 02, 2013

LOVED this recipe. I also used a mashed banana instead of applesauce. mine needed only 30 minutes baking time. they were a hit at our playdate - and no one there was vegan :)
these are really nice and moist.
i didn't have vanilla extract and the flavor was fine without it.

i used whole wheat flour and i also added ground flaxseeds and chia seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey June 21, 2012
Vegan Blueberry Muffins