48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe!! i used some of the other reviews as a guide. I added some more cumin/garlic/chili powder...but overall great!! will never used canned again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 December 02, 2010

Made as directed my family felt these had very little flavor. Since this makes a rather large quantity, and I didn't want to throw the leftovers away, I wound up doctoring them a bit with 1/2 chopped medium onion, 1 tbsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. each of cumin, garlic powder and oregano, 1/2 tsp. salt and I added a bit of vegetable broth during the reheat. With those changes we were quite happy with them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate July 27, 2010

I can't believe I forgot to review this! These were lovely, and smelled so good as they simmered away in the crockpot! It was so hard to keep the lid on and not lift it up for a better sniff! I skipped the jalepeno to make this more kid friendly. I didn't add enough of the cooking liquid afterwards, so they were very thick--especially leftovers--but that is my own fault. These kept very well in the fridge for the better part of a week. I've never had any luck making refried beans that I liked better than Rosarita's (canned), until now! Thanks so much for sharing, cookiedog!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve August 12, 2009

I doubled the garlic, which is normal for our house. I only used 1 jalapeno from the garden and it was plenty hot. Next time I will dice the onion and leave the jalapeno in bigger pieces so that our family members with frequent heartburn can pick them out of need be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 16, 2013

I am NOT a big bean fan but wanted to use healthier re-fried beans in another recipes. I used half black beans and half northern beans. My only complaint was there was too much pepper for me. I also threw away the cooking water and added new water when I mashed them (somewhere I read that you should never use the first water when making beans because it causes nasty gases).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen September 15, 2013

Delicious and easy! I made a double batch so i could have some to freeze. Next time I will cut back on the black pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne May 13, 2012

I made these yesterday and they were great! The beans I bought came with a packet of ham flavoring so I used that instead of stock. I also didn't use as much black pepper. Next time I'll probably chop up the onion because I had a hard time getting that to blend in. Over all the whole family really liked them. My 4 year old brought his stool and a spoon over to the crock pot and scraped out as much as he could. :) Thanks so much for posting, I'm sure I'll make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. April 19, 2012

This was okay but not as good as the reviews led me to think. A little bland. Next time I think I'll try making the non-vegetarian version and perhaps cutting back on the pepper. Maybe using chicken broth will give it more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazelglaze December 31, 2011

FABULOUS!!!!! Best beans I have ever made or eaten for that matter. Better than anything you can buy in a store for sure, and even better than restaurant beans. Thank you so much for this delicious and healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salialto October 22, 2011

This has a little too much black pepper for me and my husband, but other than that I love the process. I am going to make another batch soon, leave out the pepper and mix everything together. I used 1 tsp chili powder , 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsp mexican oregano, 1 Tablespoon onion powder, I didn't have any onions on hand, or fresh jalapeno so I used, 2 tsp freeze dried jalapeno. I also added in two tablespoons of bacon fat. So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxiepurple September 30, 2011
Unfried Refried Beans