Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Tuscan White Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan White Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2011

      4 1/2 stars. This is good although I didn't have fresh sage I added some dried but may use fresh another time or leave it out. The lemon flavour became a bit too strong when it was left a number of hours (from the zest). I did have to use chickpeas yet know it would be better with white beans so I did not rate it down based on that substitution. I used sweet onion, flat leaf parsley, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, cayenne pepper to taste instead of crushed red pepper flakes, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for ZWT7 Italy, for my team Food.Commandos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Very enjoyable! The flavors from the sage and lemon zest add a lovely dimension. Thanks for sharing! ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This was a great recipe! The only thing I changed was to sub fresh oregano for the sage (which was not available at the store and I have oregano growing in my sunroom.) ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I liked this recipe but didn't love it....mostly my own fault for overcooking my beans. I really did not care for the taste of the fresh sage in the dish...way too strong (possibly my sage?). The lemon zest was very nice though. I made mine with fresh beans (that got slightly too done) and found that with that consistency it made a great pita filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This was delightful. I made it exactly as posted, and really enjoyed the lemon juice with the olive oil. It is a favorite combination of mine. This makes a real healthy, flavorful lunch to bring to work. I will be making this again. Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I scaled down this recipe as there are only two of us. DH loved it and pretty much hoarded most of it for himself. Loved the fresh flavors of all the herbs. I can only imagine this would get better by letting it sit overnight. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Yummy salad I made for a healthy lunch. Enjoyed the combination of flavors although I left out the celery and used less salt. Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Really nice light fresh salad. I love that it's low in fat and high in fiber. It's also the first time I got to use dage from my new herb garden! (yaay!) Great for cooking out and so easy to make! Made for ZWT4 on behalf of the Daffy Daffodils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      OMG! Every ingredient in here stands alone, but also blends with the others. I love beans, any way any shape, any flavor. I'd honestly never thought to eat them at room temperature. This is amazing. This is actually better the second day. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Wonderful. This is full flavored and most enjoyable. The fresh lemon gives it a brightness and pairs perfectly with the e.v. olive oil. I had to use dried parsley but I don't think it suffered greatly as it's really a minor player in this flavor symphony. Don't skip the red pepper flakes, it's such a small amount that it just supply's a very light note of warmth. I'll be making this a lot in the summer and I'm going to enjoy this batch right now just after Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan White Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.4
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    13%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 168.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites