Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Tuscan White Bean & Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuscan White Bean & Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2011

      This soup was awesome!!! My kids and I made it for lunch with my Dad.
      We all loved it. We agreed there was way too much pasta, but we ended up putting more in than the recipe called for. We also added a bag of chicken strips, and decided next time to double the chicken and decrease the amount of pasta. We did not use the rosemary but added oregano instead. I thought the white beans totally made the dish myself. We also added in diced zucchini. Hey anytime you can sneak in some extra veggies, you gotta do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      We have really enjoyed this soup both times we've made it. It's also so easy to make and that makes me happy. :) I do sub basil for rosemary because I'm not really a rosemary fan, but otherwise I make it as is, put a little cheese on top and it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This was really, really delicious. I mean, surprisingly delicious!! I did make a few adjustments-- used basil in place of rosemary as many reviewers did and added 1/2 lb of chicken saugsage which I sauteed with the garlic and onion. Oh, and I used onion instead of shallot. This will definitely be in the normal rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      This was a very flavorful and healthy soup. The photo suggests the addition of grated cheese to the finished dish. I added a parmesan/romano blend and enjoyed it all with a crusty roll. I will add this to the rotation eagerly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      What a great soup! DH was not thrilled when he found out we were having soup for dinner but he loved it! He requested that a make a big batch and freeze it for easy lunches. This is going into my (currently very small) collection of OAMC. Made as directed except cut the amount of rosemary in half and also used 2 inch long broken up pieces of whole wheat spaghetti. Worked out really well. I served this with my homemade french bread and some fruity olive oil drizzled on top. Thank you so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I've made this soup a number of times and it is easy and delicious. I sometimes add protein, usually italian sausage, mini meatballs or ground beef. My DH will often request I make a batch so he can take it to work for lunches all week. It's nice to have a little of control over the salt content and as previous reviewers have said "hiding the veggies". One of the fastest dinners in my quick fix repetoire.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I thought this was an amazing soup and worthy of repeating!! I used Italian seas tomatoes, used Italian seas for the rosemary, onion for the shallots & whole wheat macaroni (cooked it separately). I added oregano, basil & garlic powder & went a bit easy on the salt & black pepper--next time I'll add more. I omitted the pepper flakes as well but hubby added some heat to his bowl. I thought it had pretty good flavor & I used veggie stock--very warm & comforting. I added some grated cheese & topped with a little mozzarella, but next time will omit. I will also use a little less pasta next time, and cover the pot with a lid while it simmers to let the flavors meld more. I also increased the simmer time to closer to 20 min--it really does make a difference! I am a vegetarian, and my hubby isn't--so this was a great meal to share together. While I LOVE spinach--I will leave it out next time only because I prefer it in a salad than in a soup :-). Thank u so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Awesome soup! Made a second time today...went with 4 cups of broth, no pasta, an extra can of beans, and added diced roasted garlic chicken! Just love this stuff! Just can't mess it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Substituted basil for the rosemary (I'm not a huge fan of rosemary). Sometimes the most simple recipes are the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Quick, easy, yummy! Used frozen spinach but otherwise followed the recipe - made for a great lunch soup along with a few pieces of crusty bread! Will use slightly less rosemary the next time as it really dominated the overall taste, but I've had that problem before with the batch of rosemary I have now, so I think my overly potent rosemary was to blame! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      SO yummy and so easy. I used 7-8 good shakes Italian seasoning in place of the rosemary. Used Swanson lower-salt chicken broth (2 cans). Add salt to taste after steps 1 and 4. NOTE the yield is small (really "3-4"), so you may need to double!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      We loved this soup! It was so easy to put together and cooked up in no time at all. I also love that it made such a manageable amount ~ i think we have one bowlful left over. I did change the rosemary for oregano because I don't like rosemary and I sprinkled a little Parmesan on the top of each bowl. Thank you so much for posting a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was pretty good, but seemed to lack a little flavor as another reviewer stated. I doubled the recipe, used yellow onion instead of the shallot, and used presoaked dried beans. I noticed other reviewers commented that the soup was too salty. I didn't have that problem, probably because I used the dried beans instead of canned. I think I would also omit the pasta, my soup seemed too starchy with both the pasta and beans. I'll make this again because I like the mix of healthy ingredients, but will spice it up some more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very nice! And very simple. I didn't have a problem with the saltiness that the other reviewers had--but I definitely washed the beans and used low sodium stock. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Excellent soup! Restaurant quality flavor and texture that even my 3-year-old liked. I just have a couple problems with it (hence the one missing star). A new cook may not know that the cannellini beans must be drained and thoroughly rinsed, so it's worth noting. Having done that, I still found it too salty. Next time I will use low-sodium chicken broth and no-salt-added tomatoes. Then I'll add salt or maybe some Parmesan cheese, to taste. Aside from that, I didn't (and wouldn't) change a thing. I will definitely be making this a lot this winter. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      delicious soup! my mother and i enjoyed this soup very much. i even convinced my father to try some... who has to have meat in his meals. he too loved the soup and both parents requested i make the soup again. good flavor. enjoy the kick of the red pepper flakes. used all four cups of broth and some diced onion instead of the shallots

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      5+ stars! So easy and so healthy! I can't decide whether to put this in my favorites cookbook or my fast but tasty cookbook so I'll have to put it in both. I made this exactly as written using veggie stock and whole-grain elbows. I added a little shredded cheese before serving, a parmesan/asiago combination. My BF and I ate about 2/3 for a meatless dinner and I polished off the rest for lunch the next day. Thanks Toni!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Really good. Only used 1 cup spinach because that's all I had. Also used Italian Seasonings instead of Rosemary. Would probably double the recipe next time and freeze half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This is a wonderful, hearty soup! Healthy, flavorful and easy to put together. The only canned tomatoes I had were flavored with oregano and basil, but that only enhanced the flavor in MHO. I also added the rosemary as I love it. I added 6 oz of fresh baby spinach and we had enough for two meals as there is only the two of us. Great soup recipe! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This soup was delicious. I, too, added Italian Turkey Meatballs and it was a great meal with lots of yummy left overs. I'll definitely have this again...Thanks, Shelly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuscan White Bean & Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (419 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    13%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 726.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites