117 Reviews

This soup was awesome!!! My kids and I made it for lunch with my Dad.
We all loved it. We agreed there was way too much pasta, but we ended up putting more in than the recipe called for. We also added a bag of chicken strips, and decided next time to double the chicken and decrease the amount of pasta. We did not use the rosemary but added oregano instead. I thought the white beans totally made the dish myself. We also added in diced zucchini. Hey anytime you can sneak in some extra veggies, you gotta do it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens January 06, 2011

We have really enjoyed this soup both times we've made it. It's also so easy to make and that makes me happy. :) I do sub basil for rosemary because I'm not really a rosemary fan, but otherwise I make it as is, put a little cheese on top and it's delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Delishis October 28, 2010

This was really, really delicious. I mean, surprisingly delicious!! I did make a few adjustments-- used basil in place of rosemary as many reviewers did and added 1/2 lb of chicken saugsage which I sauteed with the garlic and onion. Oh, and I used onion instead of shallot. This will definitely be in the normal rotation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal May 26, 2011

This was a very flavorful and healthy soup. The photo suggests the addition of grated cheese to the finished dish. I added a parmesan/romano blend and enjoyed it all with a crusty roll. I will add this to the rotation eagerly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug Mc August 18, 2011

What a great soup! DH was not thrilled when he found out we were having soup for dinner but he loved it! He requested that a make a big batch and freeze it for easy lunches. This is going into my (currently very small) collection of OAMC. Made as directed except cut the amount of rosemary in half and also used 2 inch long broken up pieces of whole wheat spaghetti. Worked out really well. I served this with my homemade french bread and some fruity olive oil drizzled on top. Thank you so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
un petit chou June 18, 2011

I've made this soup a number of times and it is easy and delicious. I sometimes add protein, usually italian sausage, mini meatballs or ground beef. My DH will often request I make a batch so he can take it to work for lunches all week. It's nice to have a little of control over the salt content and as previous reviewers have said "hiding the veggies". One of the fastest dinners in my quick fix repetoire.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen January 18, 2011

I thought this was an amazing soup and worthy of repeating!! I used Italian seas tomatoes, used Italian seas for the rosemary, onion for the shallots & whole wheat macaroni (cooked it separately). I added oregano, basil & garlic powder & went a bit easy on the salt & black pepper--next time I'll add more. I omitted the pepper flakes as well but hubby added some heat to his bowl. I thought it had pretty good flavor & I used veggie stock--very warm & comforting. I added some grated cheese & topped with a little mozzarella, but next time will omit. I will also use a little less pasta next time, and cover the pot with a lid while it simmers to let the flavors meld more. I also increased the simmer time to closer to 20 min--it really does make a difference! I am a vegetarian, and my hubby isn't--so this was a great meal to share together. While I LOVE spinach--I will leave it out next time only because I prefer it in a salad than in a soup :-). Thank u so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 15, 2010

Awesome soup! Made a second time today...went with 4 cups of broth, no pasta, an extra can of beans, and added diced roasted garlic chicken! Just love this stuff! Just can't mess it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singin'Chef November 14, 2010

Substituted basil for the rosemary (I'm not a huge fan of rosemary). Sometimes the most simple recipes are the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimgedicks August 09, 2010

Quick, easy, yummy! Used frozen spinach but otherwise followed the recipe - made for a great lunch soup along with a few pieces of crusty bread! Will use slightly less rosemary the next time as it really dominated the overall taste, but I've had that problem before with the batch of rosemary I have now, so I think my overly potent rosemary was to blame! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee August 08, 2010
Tuscan White Bean & Spinach Soup