Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Traditional Martini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Martini

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2012

      There are so many things wrong with this recipe.

      First off, a "Traditional" Martini has a large vermouth to gin ratio. This is a dry (probably even an extra dry) martini.

      Second, the gin shouldn't be shaken. I won't call it bruising like a lot of cocktail aficionados, but shaking the gin hurts your martini in two ways. First, it results in a cloudy, dirty-looking drink, and nobody wants a dirty martini without olive juice. Second, it gets the gin too cold. Stirring should chill the gin to a cold temperature while still retaining the flavor.

      If you like this recipe, you do not like martinis. You like over-chilled gin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This is EXACTLY how a martini should be made - EXCELLENT instructions Cheryl! And I know my martinis - I am the zaar lady with the martini icon!!!! :-) Olives are de rigueur my darlink - so do not leave them out! Saved this as soon as I saw it - even though I have this formula in my head......all the time! :-) Thanks for a CLASSIC! FT:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      this may be a Vodka martini, but it is not a "Traditional" one. martini is made with Gin, vermouth, an olive or a twist of lemon. it is stirred. that's it. end of story.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      If you like a good Martini, you will love this straight one. If you don't like Martini, drink something else. This is just how a Martini should be served - straight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Right on! This is how a Martini should be made & Taste- None of these whoosey chocolate ones or raspberry types. Just Blue Sapphire Bombay Gin and Martini Vermouth. The Olives are Jalapeno stuffed Thanks Cheryl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I made this recipe for ZWT3. Not to my taste, but my DH loved this recipe. Easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I made this for Zaar World Tour 3. This really is a perfect balance. I made mine dirty, because, man, I love olives. Thanks for a great go to recipe for a classic cocktail.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      This is just the way I make martinis, taught to me by a bartender. This is the first martini I've had in a couple of years and OH BOY was it fabulous! I made ours 'dirty' because that's the way we love them, and used tanqueray and jalapeno-stuffed olives. We're having them again tonight. Wheee! Thanks Diva Cheryl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Well, you sure made my evening interesting. After a great PAC meal I made one of these and went to typing on Zaar and got a little chatty. I don't know what I'll read in the morning, but I hope I didn't upset anyone. This was a great martini even though I didn't have a shaker and just chilled everything in the freezer while I was making dinner and then followed the directions then. I could not find anything to shake the alcohol and ice in at my daughter's house. You can only drink one of these I think. I'm going to bed now and thank you Cherly. I think I'll sleep real good tonight. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Martini

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes