Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Tipsy Fat-Free Microwave -Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tipsy Fat-Free Microwave -Sauteed Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2011

      The mushrooms came out a little anemic with the microwave process. They did have a good flavor. The texture and lack of color was a little off-putting though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Yummy! I used white wine and added a little garlic powder. These were wonderful over a grilled steak. Thanks KateL for a new keeper. Made for Zaar Star Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Great technique! I used red wine and added some garlic powder and ground pepper. I own the Kafka cookbook this originated in, but forgot I even had it. Time to explore it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is the perfect way to "sautee" mushrooms. I used red wine, but think I would prefer a broth next time. The red wine flavor just was off for me. I will use the method though often for many recipes. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This is a great mushroom dish with so many possibilities! The texture was not quite the same as a sauteed mushroom but they were just as flavorful. I used red wine; next time I'd like to try a mix of red wine and beef broth, maybe with some herbs sprinkled in. We ate these as a side dish but they'd make a great topping for pizza or sandwiches too - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      I used chicken broth to go nicely with my chicken flavored veggie pattie, LOL. Super easy and quite tasty. Nobody else has mentioned this but with the release of the mushroom liquid I had a fair amount of liquid in the dish that had great flavor. I wished that I had had something to use it in as it seemed a waste to toss it out *sigh*. I'll surely use this method again :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I went with the red wine method and this was a really quick way of making rich tasting mushrooms. At the same time that these were cooking I sautéed some other veggies and them tossed them and these mushrooms together with some pasta and Parmesan for a nice vegetarian meal. Made for Pot Luck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I used button mushrooms and maderia and sherry wine. Then placed them on top of my pizza and they were wonderful! I will used this method again. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Add another 5 stars! This was a super simple time saver - why didn't I come up with this? I microwaved them for 3 minutes, but I think 2 and a half would have been sufficient. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      What a wonderfully simple idea,that is so effective.It's a real no mess,no fuss,tasty way of eating mushrooms,and I LOVE it.Thank you Kate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      We took the general idea of this recipe by draining a jar of Green Giant mushrooms and replacing it with beef broth and let them sit in the fridge overnight. WOW!!!! What a huge difference in flavor! We used them to make your Kate L's Tipsy Mushroom Pepperoni Pizza and will use this whenever we use mushrooms from now on. Thanks Kate, for a superb keeper recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Very easy and simple to make, I scaled back to 1 serve. I had large button mushrooms and used the chicken stock option and for a 900W microwave took 2m 45s. I served on toast for brunch, but next time may add a little garlic or dissolve a little cornflour/cornstarch in some water and add to the drained liquid and thicken in the microwave to provide a sauce for the mushrooms. Next time will try with some nice meaty opened field mushrooms. Thank you KateL, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I really, really liked this technique. I used half mushroom broth and half sherry, plus a little bit of dried thyme for the liquid mixture. I also probably microwaved my mushrooms for about 6 minutes instead. I used my mushrooms to top grilled crostini, and it was really, really great because I did not have to use up a whole other burner on the stove to saute them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Quite a useful recipe. Especially if you often have a basket of mushrooms aging in the fridge and need to do something with them NOW. I used to saute them with onions and freeze. This is much quicker. A warning, however, if you use sherry, they are very boozy-tasting. But this flavor dissipates into sauce and gives it a great dimension. Next time I will try red wine or broth. The texture is a little different, too. I did freeze these with little loss in quality. KateL, thanks for sharing this kitchen secret with me. I swear I have that book somewhere in this house, will have to search for it and see what else I might have missed....Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tipsy Fat-Free Microwave -Sauteed Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    35%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites