15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I made these tonight, the mushrooms weren't done after 3 minutes (and I needed the microwave) so I finished them off on the stove. The flavor was ok, but a lacking in something. Simple solution, we added some garlic salt and pepper. The texture is a little off. We'd prefer them sauteed on the stove, but these are good for when you are in a hurry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom January 30, 2015

The mushrooms came out a little anemic with the microwave process. They did have a good flavor. The texture and lack of color was a little off-putting though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 29, 2011

Yummy! I used white wine and added a little garlic powder. These were wonderful over a grilled steak. Thanks KateL for a new keeper. Made for Zaar Star Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 20, 2009

Great technique! I used red wine and added some garlic powder and ground pepper. I own the Kafka cookbook this originated in, but forgot I even had it. Time to explore it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 01, 2009

This is the perfect way to "sautee" mushrooms. I used red wine, but think I would prefer a broth next time. The red wine flavor just was off for me. I will use the method though often for many recipes. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo December 01, 2008

This is a great mushroom dish with so many possibilities! The texture was not quite the same as a sauteed mushroom but they were just as flavorful. I used red wine; next time I'd like to try a mix of red wine and beef broth, maybe with some herbs sprinkled in. We ate these as a side dish but they'd make a great topping for pizza or sandwiches too - thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 13, 2008

I used chicken broth to go nicely with my chicken flavored veggie pattie, LOL. Super easy and quite tasty. Nobody else has mentioned this but with the release of the mushroom liquid I had a fair amount of liquid in the dish that had great flavor. I wished that I had had something to use it in as it seemed a waste to toss it out *sigh*. I'll surely use this method again :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 24, 2008

I went with the red wine method and this was a really quick way of making rich tasting mushrooms. At the same time that these were cooking I sautéed some other veggies and them tossed them and these mushrooms together with some pasta and Parmesan for a nice vegetarian meal. Made for Pot Luck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne October 17, 2008

I used button mushrooms and maderia and sherry wine. Then placed them on top of my pizza and they were wonderful! I will used this method again. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff October 08, 2008

Add another 5 stars! This was a super simple time saver - why didn't I come up with this? I microwaved them for 3 minutes, but I think 2 and a half would have been sufficient. Thanks for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom October 01, 2008
Tipsy Fat-Free Microwave -Sauteed Mushrooms