Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Tibetan Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tibetan Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2003

      Another recipe that FAR surpassed my expectations! The combination of ingredients in this recipe is absolutely wonderful and the spices compliment each other perfectly! The only change I made was in using fresh tomatoes instead of canned. This made a delicious dinner with bread and cheese. Thanks SO MUCH Tish! I'm gonna make this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      Terrific comfort soup, the recipe instructions mentioned cumin, but it wasn't included in ingredients, so threw in 2 teaspoons. Tasty, filling and healthy. Will definitely be making this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This made an excellent soup, Tish. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. A nice blend of spices and textures. Husband and I took this to work for lunch. Very filling, hearty, flavorful, and best of all, healthy. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      Very tasty soup. I used fresh tasty tomatoes for mine and it was just lovely (So smaller tomatoes instead of burger tomatoes). I read the reviews and some people said it needs broth but my soup was very flavorful and it intensified after sitting for a day or so in my fridge. The only thing I would change is the heat of my soup. I had a dried chili (I think) and the soup might have been better if I added more. Warning tough after eating this soup you will get the worst gas possibly imagined.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I am so annoyed that I made this after dinner because I would have loved to have a whole bowl now! I had a couple of spoonfuls and loved it. I can just tell this is one of those recipes that is going to taste even better the next day too!! I will be using this recipe a lot :) I added stock to the tender lentils before adding the tomatoes. I also had no fresh chillies so I used a tsp of chilli flakes instead and the heat was perfect. Thanks so much Tish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      This was a good, simple soup. I cooked the onions with the spices then added the garlic, vegetables, tomatoes, water, and lentils and cooked it all for about an hour. The only things I added were some chopped celery and a bay leaf. I'll definitely make this again as it is cheap, yummy, and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Excellent soup! I used chicken stock & extra potatoes. DH wants this one again - Thanks Tish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This was really good. I used fresh tomatoes. It seemed like something was missing though. I added more spice and some cayenne but I never figured out what was missing. I would make this again though especially on a cold winter day. Overall it was really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Made recipe as written with the additon of a turnip (needed to be used). Admittedly, I didn't think much of it piping hot and fresh. The next day this tasted fantastic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Woo! This soup is pretty tasty. I didn't have a chili pepper laying around so I used some red pepper flakes. I think I put too much in because this soup sure does have a kick. Surprisingly, you can still taste all the different, wonderful flavors with each spoonful. Plenty for left-overs which is great because I need an easy, quick lunch. Thank you so much for this recipe. It's definitely a favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I make a lot of lentil soups for my customers, and like the differences in this one. I multiplied the recipe by 8, it made a nice size pot-ful. I used red pepper flakes instead of the chile, and increased the coriander and cumin by more than 8 X. I substituted fresh parsley for the cilantro. I really liked the difference sauteeing the potatoes made to the flavor. thanks, Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      A lovely combination of ingredients and spices! I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings but used the original amounts of spices - could have used even more (I like my spice!) so doubling the amounts might be about right for my palate. Omitted the carrot and used plenty of chopped cilantro to top the bowl of soup! Yumm... Very satisfying indeed! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We had this for dinner. Did not love it did not hate it. Was a little bland for us. I think it needs a little more heat or spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is one of mine & my husband's favorite soups! Very healthy, as lentils are one of the best sources of fiber and protein. We make it with fresh homemade bread for a cozy meal on a cold day. It is so simple to make that I've shared it with a few of my friends. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      This soup was terrific! Easy to prepare and had a nice kick. Shared with our neighbors - they loved it. I didn't change a thing and would absolutely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Good- I like the addition of potatoes in the soup. I added more spices b/c I really like the spicey and left out the carrots. Added some brown sugar at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      This was a good soup. The only thing I did different was to add a couple of ham cubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      This is a nice recipe .. I added two chicken bouillon cubes and used a teaspoon each of cumin and coriander .. My husband enjoyed it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      After seeing this mentioned in the new OAMC cooking forum, I had to try this soup. It has so much flavor and was really easy to make. I had quite alot of leftover soup and am freezing the rest for a future busy day. Thanks Tish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This was a nice hearty soup. Easy to put together. Next time I think we'll use broth for some of the water in order to give it a little more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tibetan Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (504 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.3
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    11%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 776.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 18.0 g
    72%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites