21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another recipe that FAR surpassed my expectations! The combination of ingredients in this recipe is absolutely wonderful and the spices compliment each other perfectly! The only change I made was in using fresh tomatoes instead of canned. This made a delicious dinner with bread and cheese. Thanks SO MUCH Tish! I'm gonna make this a lot!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu January 06, 2003

Terrific comfort soup, the recipe instructions mentioned cumin, but it wasn't included in ingredients, so threw in 2 teaspoons. Tasty, filling and healthy. Will definitely be making this soup again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie June 12, 2002

This made an excellent soup, Tish. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. A nice blend of spices and textures. Husband and I took this to work for lunch. Very filling, hearty, flavorful, and best of all, healthy. Thanks for sharing it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 15, 2004

Very tasty soup. I used fresh tasty tomatoes for mine and it was just lovely (So smaller tomatoes instead of burger tomatoes). I read the reviews and some people said it needs broth but my soup was very flavorful and it intensified after sitting for a day or so in my fridge. The only thing I would change is the heat of my soup. I had a dried chili (I think) and the soup might have been better if I added more. Warning tough after eating this soup you will get the worst gas possibly imagined.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabell33 June 12, 2013

I am so annoyed that I made this after dinner because I would have loved to have a whole bowl now! I had a couple of spoonfuls and loved it. I can just tell this is one of those recipes that is going to taste even better the next day too!! I will be using this recipe a lot :) I added stock to the tender lentils before adding the tomatoes. I also had no fresh chillies so I used a tsp of chilli flakes instead and the heat was perfect. Thanks so much Tish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinV September 21, 2009

This was a good, simple soup. I cooked the onions with the spices then added the garlic, vegetables, tomatoes, water, and lentils and cooked it all for about an hour. The only things I added were some chopped celery and a bay leaf. I'll definitely make this again as it is cheap, yummy, and healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen November 18, 2014

Excellent soup! I used chicken stock & extra potatoes. DH wants this one again - Thanks Tish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff January 19, 2009

This was really good. I used fresh tomatoes. It seemed like something was missing though. I added more spice and some cayenne but I never figured out what was missing. I would make this again though especially on a cold winter day. Overall it was really good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1008977 November 09, 2008

Made recipe as written with the additon of a turnip (needed to be used). Admittedly, I didn't think much of it piping hot and fresh. The next day this tasted fantastic. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen November 04, 2008

Woo! This soup is pretty tasty. I didn't have a chili pepper laying around so I used some red pepper flakes. I think I put too much in because this soup sure does have a kick. Surprisingly, you can still taste all the different, wonderful flavors with each spoonful. Plenty for left-overs which is great because I need an easy, quick lunch. Thank you so much for this recipe. It's definitely a favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberly.asbjornsen October 13, 2008
Tibetan Lentil Soup