Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Tex-Mex Fideo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tex-Mex Fideo

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2013

      Made this per recipe, except used chicken stock instead of water. Makes a great side dish for a large mexican meal. Totally yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I used chicken broth instead of water and added about 1/4 lb. of browned ground beef (fat drained). Sprinkled the finished fideo with grated queso fresco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      It was really easy and my 1 & 3 year-old kids loved it. My husband and I thought it was just ok--a little bland. It's a good base but you'll have to tweak it to suit your taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      delicious and easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Loved, loved, loved this! I have been eating Fideo since I was a kid having first tried it in the school cafeteria. Those lunch ladies could really rock it! This is pretty close to the Mexican fideo, or spaghetti, we had as kids. I liked the flavor! I would add a chicken boullion cube next time for more concentrated flavor, and you can add shredded carrots and diced celery to pump up the nutrients! My DD had two platefuls. Very nice side dish and a real "kid pleaser."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This recipe was simple, fast and easy and most important of all delicious! My hard to please husband really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      The recipe is nothing what I expected. It turned out to be too salty and soupy. The onions should not be cooked so long and garlic should be added a couple of minutes before the other spices. I had to add some black beans, corn, tomatoes and lime juice to make it more or less eatable. I will never make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Thanks for posting - this is delicious! I made a few adjustments, given what I had in the kitchen: 1. Soupiness: I like my soup soupy, so I added 3 more cups of chicken broth 2. Spice: I didn't have green chilies, so I used chilli powder and chipotle powder to spice it up 3. Veggies: added half a cup of diced tomatoes and a small can of corn. Thanks again! Will def make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Yummy! This is great! My husband always talked about his mom making Fideo and that it was one of his favorite things to eat. I was so happy to find your recipe (after searching how to spell it, lol). We both love it. No need to change a thing! I do buy the fideo noodles (in the Mexican Food section) so I don't make such a mess with the vermicelli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This tasted better than it looked. After cooking the 10 minutes suggested this was still soupy. I added 1/2 can of tomato paste and cooked for another 5 minutes. It was better. The taste was good but didn't look anything like the picture. It was very good the next day for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This is a great meal for those nights when you just want to throw together some stuff you always have on hand. I added some cooked chicken and some black beans. I also used a 16 oz can of diced tomatoes and added some more heat with chili powder and crushed red pepper. Topped it off with some queso fresco I had in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      My husband loved it! It will become a staple menu item at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This recipe helped my first attempt at fideo be a successful one. My family and I loved the flavor, thank you for a recipe we will use regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I have made this for so many years,sometimes tomatoe sauce,other times just mashing whole tomatoes,in fact it is a staple in our home,i cant have much of it,being diabetic,but I love making it.We dont use cumin(too strong for our taste) but we do use like 1/4 tsp.Chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tex-Mex Fideo

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.6
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    22%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 891.6 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes