14 Reviews

This tastes like Campbell Tomato soup with cayenne pepper. Save your money.
And, anyone who says it tastes like Taco Bell hot sauce, has never been to Taco Bell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimpeterson October 15, 2010

I really like this! I was worried b/c I am particular with my salsa and I didn't really think this would cut it. I used fresh onion and probably used 1/2 cup. I added cilantro and way more jalapeno than the recipe called for. I really like it, but I don't think it tastes like taco bell! I did use less salt based on other reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman January 18, 2014

Good as is, however I found it to be just a hair salty for my taste. I reduced the salt to one teaspoon and increased the corn starch to three teaspoons total for better consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenScoutII June 08, 2011

YUM! I'm one that loves those little packets of hot sauce. Now I can have the sauce all the time. I reduced the salt by half due to a low sodium diet. It's still excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racrgal July 28, 2009

Excellent - love it - make it often and give it as gifts!! if you want it not so hot - cut the cayenne and the jalapenos in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Deliberate Creator April 21, 2009

Really good! I couldn't tell the difference between this recipe and Taco Bells.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwilhelmsen April 29, 2008

I used fresh onions (about 3 T) and roasted jalapenos (5) and skipped the cayenne. It's really good! I'd recommend mixing a small amount of water in with the tomato paste first to help blend it. In the future, I will also mix the cornstarch with a small amount of cold water before adding it to the hot liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandsted May 02, 2007

I was so excited to try this recipe but was a little disappointed, it didn't taste at all like taco bell to me. Then I added dried minced garlic, cumin, powdered garlic, dried chives and dried cilantro. Now, it's good and tastes much more like the original in my opinion. Thanks for the basis of this recipe! Will use my modified version in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodlifeinn April 05, 2007

Great sauce! Used it with a variety of meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spicy and lovin it November 07, 2006
Taco Bell Hot Sauce