Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Taco Bell Hot Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Bell Hot Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2010

      This tastes like Campbell Tomato soup with cayenne pepper. Save your money.
      And, anyone who says it tastes like Taco Bell hot sauce, has never been to Taco Bell.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I really like this! I was worried b/c I am particular with my salsa and I didn't really think this would cut it. I used fresh onion and probably used 1/2 cup. I added cilantro and way more jalapeno than the recipe called for. I really like it, but I don't think it tastes like taco bell! I did use less salt based on other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Good as is, however I found it to be just a hair salty for my taste. I reduced the salt to one teaspoon and increased the corn starch to three teaspoons total for better consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

    • on July 28, 2009

      YUM! I'm one that loves those little packets of hot sauce. Now I can have the sauce all the time. I reduced the salt by half due to a low sodium diet. It's still excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Excellent - love it - make it often and give it as gifts!! if you want it not so hot - cut the cayenne and the jalapenos in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Really good! I couldn't tell the difference between this recipe and Taco Bells.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I used fresh onions (about 3 T) and roasted jalapenos (5) and skipped the cayenne. It's really good! I'd recommend mixing a small amount of water in with the tomato paste first to help blend it. In the future, I will also mix the cornstarch with a small amount of cold water before adding it to the hot liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I was so excited to try this recipe but was a little disappointed, it didn't taste at all like taco bell to me. Then I added dried minced garlic, cumin, powdered garlic, dried chives and dried cilantro. Now, it's good and tastes much more like the original in my opinion. Thanks for the basis of this recipe! Will use my modified version in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Great sauce! Used it with a variety of meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      Taste just like Taco Bell! Loved it! Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Made it this past weekend, and it was awesome. Can't wait for my 14-yr old Pepperhead son to try it! Very good flavor, and I liked the consistency too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      This makes a surprisingly good sauce, even if it is a little bit spicier than expected! (I like it hot!) I must admit that when I was mixing it, I thought it was a bit watery so I added some more cornstarch. Then as it cooled it got even thicker so at that point I realized I didn't need to thicken it at all and had to water it down again, in fact. But all works out well. This makes a ton of sauce and is so much cheaper than what one could buy at the market. Although it says I can keep this refrigerated awhile, I will go ahead and freeze some in a ziplock bag as I do that a lot with my salsas, and with much success. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      This is all based on my DH opinion, since I don't use the stuff. He says it tastes very good, but should have been a bit hotter (I will add more jalapenos next time). Definitely will make this again for him (it's so much cheaper than buying the stuff, and he goes through it like it's water!!!!!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Bell Hot Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (946 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    12%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2535.3 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes