10 Reviews

This was made into a sandwich filling/Arabic bread and was delicious with spinach leaves and arugula. Luckily, we received a few organic sweet potatoes (orange flesh) in our CSA box and I only made a half portion. Topped with fresh cilantro, I added red onion and the water used to cook the sweet potatoes was the same water used to cook the onion and carrot. Homemade tahini and homemade roasted curry powder. Drained off most of the carrot/onion cooking liquid and used some of the liquid to help blend the mixture. Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 25, 2011

Recipenap from V'gn Swap 7-09. I love sweet potatoes and this dish is awesome! I used half an onion and a couple of small spring onions and the almond butter. I put everything in the blender, once cooked, except I tried it before adding the spices. It had a sweet flavor. The spices give it a bit of a kick (but not hot). Mine was not dry at all! Almost too thin. Next time, I might use a bit bigger potatoes or drain the veggies. My Bosch blender worked fine. I could eat this just as a side dish alone. Thanks for a keeper. UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 07-16-09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 04, 2010

This was a very different but great dip. It is easy and so healthy. All those flavors really go together. We ate it with pita chips. Made for Veg*nSwap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* July 09, 2009

Yum, yum, yum! I made this for dinner today and it is exceptional! The sweet potato blend so nicely with the carrot and onions and the curry and tahini add some nice spice to it. Served it with some rice waffles and enjoyed it a lot! I didnt change a thing and it was just great! Mine wasnt dry at all, but really moist and creamy. I used a potato masher to blend this and it worked beautifully. Thanks so much for sharing this lovely recipe with us, KateL! Made and reviewed for a fellow team carrot member in Veg 'n' Swap #10 May 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 17, 2009

Tasty. Like a creamy, cold, mashed sweet potato - only better. Left out the curry, and had to add about 1/2 cup water. This could be because I used a blender (which I don't recommend for this) and it was so dry/thick that it needed something to help it along. Served with baked whole wheat pita chips sprinkled w/sea salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet April 25, 2009

There's absolutely no way I could pass on this recipe once I spotted it! I used the almond butter, included a little bit of garlic, but left out the curry & thought the resulting dip was VERY NICE, & a keeper, at that! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 20, 2008

This was excellent!!! I did make a couple of changes: I used peanut butter and 1/2 tsp curry paste instead of the tahini and the spices as I didn't have those ingredients. I tried it with various things but it went best with oatcakes. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose November 16, 2008

This is an interesting spread. I used it in sandwiches with sliced seitan for lunches. It adds kind of a sweetness. I opted for the tahini instead of almond butter. This was quick to make and made a ton. I ended up freezing half of it for later use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie November 11, 2008

Easy to make, healthy and delicious - what more could you want. I did roast my sweet potatoe, wrapped in alfoil and baked for 45 minutes in a 175C fan forced oven. I served with Low Fat Pita Chips and the DM and I enjoyed as a 11.00 o'clock snack. Thank you KateL, made for Diabetes Awareness Month Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 06, 2008

I never expected to meet sweet potatoes in quite this guise. DELICIOUS, obviously VERY HEALTHY, and yes, you could use this as a dip or a spread. A great recipe for those who often take sandwiches to work, and a great dip among a range of appetitsers with pita bread. I really think it would have people guessing - and very probably unsuccessfully - what was in it. I processed my 3 baby carrots (always so sweet and delicious) 1 onion and 3 cloves of garlic (which I couldn't resist adding) in a mini processor; I used tahini; I omitted the curry (just don't like it) and I increased the amount of cumin (which I love). I also added a 1/8 of a cup of chopped walnuts, hand-chopped so that they added textural variation as well as flavour. I just love adding seeds and nuts where I see an opportunity to do so. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, Kate. I shall certainly be making it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 02, 2008
Sweet Potato Spread