8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Surprisingly good. The onions made me skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised. If I made it again, I'd leave out the onion and substitute apples and raisins instead. I'd also double the spices. I threw in some sunflower seeds for variety.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian March 28, 2003

This was amazing! Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving tonight :) The cranberries were wonderful. I thought the onions would be overpowering but they were perfect with the slight sweetness of the sauce (these are not too sweet, not like candied yams at all). I will definitely be making these again. I have the other half frozen for another time and will update the review once I cook them from frozen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks November 26, 2010

This was very good and I thought the amount of onion was perfect. I would not substitute the onion with apples and raisins as some others have suggested because I think that would make the dish sickeningly sweet and much more caloric. It is sweet enough as is as far as we're concerned. We really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D February 10, 2013

Great addition to our TG meal! Used no oil, substituted apple sauce for butter, and substituted apples + raisins for the onions. Perfect side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen November 27, 2008

I used canned cranberries and don't recommend doing that! It makes this very sweet. I think it will be better next time when I make it right :) Planning on bringing it to the next holiday gathering. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyfully Serve January 22, 2008

used 2 large sweet potaotes, half of larged onion (diced) and cooked it all together on top of the stove in fat free chicken broth. Added cranberies, some cinnamon, cajun spices and some black pepper. Was wonderful and will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amos8220 November 07, 2007

Very good. If I make it again, I'll either use less onion or cut them into smaller pieces and maybe throw in a bit more spices. I take great exception to the prep time - it took me an hour altogether (peeling and cutting all those sweet potatoes is no easy chore). For those following the Inflammation Free Diet Plan, one serving of this recipe has an IF factor of 239 (using Earth Balance buttery spread for the margarine).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azdewdrop February 04, 2007

sounds so good. my boyfirend. would love this one. great for a fast dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ross November 25, 2001
Sweet Potato/Cranberry Casserole