31 Reviews

I skipped the chilies and corn, and added a can of diced tomatoes. I used sprouted beans, homemade whole wheat flour tortillas, corn tortillas (I don't eat wheat), and green salsa instead of enchilada sauce since that's what I could find at the store. I mashed the beans and potato so that it was mixed a bit more and less chunky for my kids. The filling was delicious by itself and I'm going to freeze the leftover filling (I doubled the recipe), I'll probably just eat it plain.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimenezrachel September 12, 2009

Wow! These were SO good! I only had red enchilada sauce so I used that (2 cans) and I didn't have any green chilies. They were still outstanding! My hubby said they were his favorite enchiladas ever (and he's a meat eater so that's saying alot)!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kateandtodd August 26, 2008

Whoa mama! Some advice- let these babies sit overnight before serving...the flavors develop and meld much better together! Whipped these together yesterday for my dinners this week while DH is away and tried the mixture after I got done cooking it...just so-so. Reheated one tonight for dinner, topped it with just a bit of 2% cheese, jalapenos and light sour cream (no vegans here) and snarfed it down!!! So good, so hearty. Will make often. Thanks so much for the change of pace Chef!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend June 09, 2008

These are great! I added fresh chopped tomatoes, fresh cilantro and some chopped kale. I also made them more like burritos. Spread about 3 T. verde salsa/enchilada sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish, then roll up individual tortillas filled with mixture and place them on top. Coat top well with remaining verde salsa, making sure the top of each is completely "wet" at least (doesn't have to be thick,but this'll keep it from burning) before baking. I also used goat cheese on top because we like that. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain Bike Mom April 09, 2012

I made this following the recipe exactly, and we were pleasantly surprised. Actually, I didn't have the recipe with me and accidentally picked up a 16oz jar of salsa verde instead of enchilada sauce, but it came out fine. For my sweet potato, I diced it up and microwaved it with a small amount of water for 4 minutes on HIGH, to soften it up. I drained the corn and beans, too. I got 7 enchiladas out of this recipe, and they were very filling! I think I might mash up the filling a bit next time, as Chef #917984 mentioned, just so it's less chunky and more enchilada-ish. I served this with hot sauce (Cholula) and sour cream. This was a great vegetarian dinner (because I added the cheese) for us, that I will definitely make again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 May 31, 2011

I've been making these for over a year and they are WONDERFUL! Such a tasty, healthy and satisfying meal. I always make them just like the recipe and they never fail. Especially good with some sour cream and Siracha on top, and even better the next day for lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karabiner March 24, 2011

This filling has phenomenal flavor! I too did not make the whole recipe, rating is only for the filling. Alone, topped with a bit of sour cream is a delicious side dish or lunch. (I didn't have corn, so I left it out & don't think that it was missed). I also gave it a finishing squirt of lime juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 13, 2009

Oh. My. Goodness. This was phenomenal. My only complaint is that I ate three of them which was not what I intended for my diet. At least they're healthy! Perfect spice, perfect flavor, perfect texture and quite easy to make. I will make these again and again. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewlywedRunner April 19, 2008

I loved this. I couldn't believe that I liked enchiladas without cheese and sour cream. So healthy and delicious. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 November 20, 2014

Delicious! I made these with corn tortillas to make them more traditional, and less cumin for our tastes. The sweet potato, corn and black beans pair so well with the chillies and green enchilada sauce (I would not use red enchilada sauce, or canned tomatoes, it would be a totally different dish). Everything is so perfect together, you really don't need any cheese or toppings (which actually overpower the beautiful flavor explosion). A definite favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 17, 2014
Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas