Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2009

      I skipped the chilies and corn, and added a can of diced tomatoes. I used sprouted beans, homemade whole wheat flour tortillas, corn tortillas (I don't eat wheat), and green salsa instead of enchilada sauce since that's what I could find at the store. I mashed the beans and potato so that it was mixed a bit more and less chunky for my kids. The filling was delicious by itself and I'm going to freeze the leftover filling (I doubled the recipe), I'll probably just eat it plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Wow! These were SO good! I only had red enchilada sauce so I used that (2 cans) and I didn't have any green chilies. They were still outstanding! My hubby said they were his favorite enchiladas ever (and he's a meat eater so that's saying alot)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Whoa mama! Some advice- let these babies sit overnight before serving...the flavors develop and meld much better together! Whipped these together yesterday for my dinners this week while DH is away and tried the mixture after I got done cooking it...just so-so. Reheated one tonight for dinner, topped it with just a bit of 2% cheese, jalapenos and light sour cream (no vegans here) and snarfed it down!!! So good, so hearty. Will make often. Thanks so much for the change of pace Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      These are great! I added fresh chopped tomatoes, fresh cilantro and some chopped kale. I also made them more like burritos. Spread about 3 T. verde salsa/enchilada sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish, then roll up individual tortillas filled with mixture and place them on top. Coat top well with remaining verde salsa, making sure the top of each is completely "wet" at least (doesn't have to be thick,but this'll keep it from burning) before baking. I also used goat cheese on top because we like that. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I made this following the recipe exactly, and we were pleasantly surprised. Actually, I didn't have the recipe with me and accidentally picked up a 16oz jar of salsa verde instead of enchilada sauce, but it came out fine. For my sweet potato, I diced it up and microwaved it with a small amount of water for 4 minutes on HIGH, to soften it up. I drained the corn and beans, too. I got 7 enchiladas out of this recipe, and they were very filling! I think I might mash up the filling a bit next time, as Chef #917984 mentioned, just so it's less chunky and more enchilada-ish. I served this with hot sauce (Cholula) and sour cream. This was a great vegetarian dinner (because I added the cheese) for us, that I will definitely make again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I've been making these for over a year and they are WONDERFUL! Such a tasty, healthy and satisfying meal. I always make them just like the recipe and they never fail. Especially good with some sour cream and Siracha on top, and even better the next day for lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This filling has phenomenal flavor! I too did not make the whole recipe, rating is only for the filling. Alone, topped with a bit of sour cream is a delicious side dish or lunch. (I didn't have corn, so I left it out & don't think that it was missed). I also gave it a finishing squirt of lime juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Oh. My. Goodness. This was phenomenal. My only complaint is that I ate three of them which was not what I intended for my diet. At least they're healthy! Perfect spice, perfect flavor, perfect texture and quite easy to make. I will make these again and again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      I loved this. I couldn't believe that I liked enchiladas without cheese and sour cream. So healthy and delicious. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2014

      Delicious! I made these with corn tortillas to make them more traditional, and less cumin for our tastes. The sweet potato, corn and black beans pair so well with the chillies and green enchilada sauce (I would not use red enchilada sauce, or canned tomatoes, it would be a totally different dish). Everything is so perfect together, you really don't need any cheese or toppings (which actually overpower the beautiful flavor explosion). A definite favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      Yum! Followed the recipe very closely ... except I made with roasted sweet potatoes, doubled the spices due to personal preference and used red sauce. Healthy comfort food. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Yum!! I added a bunch of cilantro to the mix and made 4 large enchiladas instead of 5. I also topped with cheddar cheese before baking, and served with sour cream and green onions. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Yum! It seemed that this recipe was pretty adaptable, so I changed it according to what I had. Used a sweet potato, frozen chopped onions, corn, rotel, and kidney beans (yeah, I know...really??). Sautéed and put in corn tortillas, topped with salsa verde. Seved with sour cream. I will absolutely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      This was a really nice vegetarian alternative for enchiladas. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Made this yet again this evening, excellent! Everyone had seconds. I used the enchilada sauce from #109685. I added some vegetables for texture: green and red peppers, fennel, cauliflower, mushrooms, frozen sweetcorn and peas. I fried the onions, garlic and fennel first, then added the other vegetables, mushrooms and beans last. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      My last review got cut off so I'm trying this again :-) . I had reservations about this one but they turned out wonderfully. I have been searching for something a good vegetarian recipe that I could use to convince my boyfriend out of his hatred for sweet potatoes. Although the enchiladas were sweeter than I had expected, they did turn out well and had a unique flavor. I think next time I will add more beans or maybe cut down on the sweet potato so they aren't quite as sweet but that is just preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This was very good. I would have given it 5 stars, but DH and DD2 would not eat it :-( Their loss. I made it 99% to the recipe. Per another reviewer, I cooked the sweet potato in a little water for 4 min in the microwave. I didn't feel comfortable just throwing all the ingredients in a skillet, so I used about 2 tsp of olive oil, sauteed the onion, added the garlic, then added the sweet potato, chilies, and spices (my coriander was OLD, so I added fresh cilantro), then the beans and corn last. Then I put the oven on to preheat, and cooked it for as long as that took. Again, per reviewer suggestion, I used my ricer to mash up the filling a bit. I had 8" soft corn tortillas on hand, so that's what I used. I tried to really stuff them, but I ran out. I used 2 small flour tortillas to use up the filling, but I still had some left over. I think this would easily make 6 or 8 enchiladas. I only had a 10 oz can of green enchilada sauce (BTW, Target sells this under their market pantry brand - the chili's too), so I used oil spray on the bottom of the casserole, then dumped the whole can on top. I cooked uncovered for 30 minutes, then added some jack and cheddar cheese to the top and cooked for an additional 5 minutes. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      low making this! i've tried it with low carb tortillas before and they got a little tough when baked. would recommend using flour tortillas. i usually put a lot of cheese on this too, but this dish can taste fine if it's vegan, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Yummmm...These were great. I did make some changes, I left out the corn, and green chilies, but sauteed a fresh jalapeno with the potato and bean mixture. I also added about a cup of shredded chicken that I wanted to use up. I opened my green enchilada sauce and low and behold it was red. They had labeled the can wrong. Used it anyway. I also topped the enchiladas with about a 1/2 cup of jalapeno jack cheese and chopped green onion. Super good! I'm looking forward to trying these with green sauce. Thanks for posting this really flexible recipe. I know what I'll serve if we need a vegan main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This was a quick and easy vegetarian enchilada recipes. We used Mexican Red Chile Sauce 273750 for the enchilada sauce, which was really yummy and added monterey jack cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    11%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 920.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes