10 Reviews

The great thing about this recipe is that it is flexible. Add stuff you like (chopped red cabbage is a personal favorite), omit stuff you don't. Do watch the vinegar, it does benefit from sugar. Also I don't use any salt because of a restricted diet. Experiment and enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
montevinas July 12, 2009

I thought this was excellent, and my family agreed. I omitted the red onion and the wasabi, and replaced it with avocado cubes. I added this individually so it wouldn't become mashed up along with the salad. This was just my personal preference. Next time I might throw in some smoked salmon. I'll definitely make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F December 29, 2006

I enjoyed this rice! I added smoked salmon (slivers) The dressing was good. I soaked my nori sheet before I julienned it..might have changed the texture a bit. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP March 30, 2007

This was delicious, and very easy to make. It really tastes like sushi, but without the expense or effort. The only substitution I made was to use chopped green onions instead of red onions, and I had a bowl of chopped nori on the side, so that family members who don't like it didn't have to add it. In the future, I may try this with a small amount of steamed chopped fish, or diced avacado. Steamed diced carrots would also add some color to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiminy April 30, 2005

Love this. We moved to rural America and it's very difficult to get some of the ingredients I use to get at market. However, I happened to have a stash of some Kimchi flavored seawood laver snacks. These are new to me about a year ago, but I love them. I used them (little square, fried seaweed pieces) to place a spoonful of rice salad on. Yummy! I think the laver brand was Sea Friend in a red package. Look for them at your Oriental or Korean markets. This made a delicious snack/lunch.

I didn't have fresh ginger:( although I'm sure it would have been great. Previous reviews had lots of great suggestions for add-ins. A word of warning, I'm a vinegar lover, and this had a tad too much vinegar for me. However, I didn't want to add sugar. Next time may try a bit less.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 July 12, 2011

This was very good. Used leftover sushi rice, made the dressing as directed. Added some crab, very nice. Will make again. Might add a bit more heat next time. Thanks for a good one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 May 06, 2010

I made a half serve of this. On reading one of the other reviews and thinking about it, I added a couple of teaspoons of superfine sugar to balance the vinegar-it was good. I used cooked rice I had in the fridge otherwise no more changes to the recipe I would make this aagain if we had leftovers and would definately add the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 02, 2008

This recipe is GREAT. My roomie and I ate it all summer. I sometimes I added cooked adzuki beans for protein and a little variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frijolito November 13, 2008

I made this tonight to accompany Roasted Salmon With Chile Minted Cucumbers. I'd actually give it a 3 1/2 stars, if I could. DH liked it so-so; I liked it fairly well but needs tweaking; 3-yr old DS wouldn't touch it. For one thing, it really needed the addition of some mirin. It was a little too vinegary, too. And the wasabi was barely noticeable--even though the kind I use is pretty potent. I'll probably make it again with some adjustments, but I doubt I'll make it often. I did take some photos, but apparently the settings on my camera got messed up--all the photos are totally washed out. I'll try again next time to get photos to post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve March 06, 2007

This was tasty. I think it was a little on the "onion-y" and "vinegar-ish" side for my taste. I served it with some fish and it was an interesting side, but don't know that I'd be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama January 11, 2006
Sushi-rice Salad