12 Reviews

It did not clear up for me, stayed sort of milky throughout, but I chalk that up to my low skills. However, I did add a bit of lemon and lime zest, as well as three drops of vanilla extract and five of orange water, and it tasted absolutely great. So adding both may be a good option (depending upon taste, of course).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThunderBird89 May 13, 2014

Although I wasn't sure what to expect, I ended up with something very similar to Polish Kisiel, which we normally make from a packaged powder but this tasted less processed and not as sweet. Pretty easy to make and will make for a nice, light dessert. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was wondering how much sugar can be substituted with Splenda or some other artifical sweetener so it doesn't affect the cooking process?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoCaShe July 06, 2009

Reviewed for ZWT III. I really loved this strawberry dessert! Simple to make and very tasty - it's so versatile too as you can eat it by itself or mixed with many other things. I took a nice pic but it's from the phone and not the best qualityt so I won't post it here! Thanks Toni :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 28, 2007

Reviewed for ZWT3. This was wonderful! I tried a similar recipe that didn't include the vanilla, and find I prefer this one (I used vanilla, not lemon zest). I used the full complement of cornstarch. I had no idea what to expect; I'd never had a non-milk-based pudding before. I would have compared this to a mid-range pie filling. Flavor was terrific, and I love the fact it's virtually nonfat and very healthy. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts June 23, 2007

I'm not really much of a pudding person, but this was fabulous! Delicious and REALLY easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaredAlmond June 14, 2006

Pretty sure this is the first time I ever tried to make a pudding from scratch. I should have known from the ingredients, but this did not come out quite as I expected. It's very low-fat and somewhat healthful as it's high in vitamin C, but it doesn't taste like other dairy-based puddings. Perhaps if I started this with different expectations I would have been happier with the results. I also halved the recipe and used 1/6 cup cornstarch, a bit less sugar (no splenda) and vanilla instead of lemon zest (so it would fit the Zaar World Tour dessert requirement). Maybe more cornstarch and lemon peel instead of vanilla would work, but on the plus side it has a nice strawberry flavor and it's extremely low-fat! Thanks Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 13, 2006

This recipe makes for an easy dessert. It is attractive and has just the right amount of sweetness. I lightly crushed the berries while cooking, poured the pudding into individual serving dishes and garnished with a whole strawberry half and chocolate curls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 13, 2006

Mmmm....delicious and low in fat, how can you go wrong? I will be keeping this recipe very handy for the summer, thanks Toni, you are a lifesaver!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ June 12, 2006

Good! Be sure to get the cornstarch smooth. I used vanilla and lemon zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience September 25, 2005
Strawberry Pudding