50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My advice is to buy the best Balsamic vinegar you can afford for this dish. Using a 1/4 cup of vinegar with the sugar and reducing it by half, on the stove, will intensify the vinegar and make it even sweeter. Classic Italian preparation. The vinegar also tastes good on black berries and fresh cranberries. I add a little more sugar with the cranberries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhbrown1010_12067290 January 31, 2014

I made this as a side dish for dinner...I followed the recipe exactly as mentioned (as I always do) and somehow, this didn't cut it for my family or our guests. Many of us love strawberries in general but somehow, this combination wasn't too appealing. Sorry about being the only negative review here...but maybe it was just a little sour for our taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anisha123 March 01, 2012

I've made this with both regular balsamic vinegar and with Villa Monadori balsamic vinegar (richer, less acidic, $40+ per bottle but worth it!). Like it the first way but the Villa Monadori it was truly heavenly--and doesn't require as much sugar (it would probably be okay with none).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo March 12, 2015

I love the recipe and highly recommend checking out sggourmet.com for affordable, high-quality balsamic vinegar! SG Gourmet, LLC. also supports several non-profit organizations in the USA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robert S. November 21, 2014

try this with sprinkle of acropolis balsamic vinegar and creme

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrishaveman September 25, 2012

Awesome, it will make your taste buds POP!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"mom of girls" April 19, 2011

Who would've ever thought that strawberries and balsamic vinegar would go so well together? I changed the sugar to Splenda and was very pleased with how this turned out

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustDrea81 April 25, 2010

Oh My!! I had never heard of this before and was a little hesitant to try it but the reviews spoke for themselves... this is FABULOUS!! A new favorite for sure! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Violet 66 July 28, 2009

I received a gift basket of organic fruit which included strawberries and I wanted to find a recipe that is simiple, quick and delicious. This really fits the bill. P.S. (as in Post Script not Pot Scubber): It's taken me 15 minutes to write this review because I stop every two words and eat more strawberries. Thank you Potsie for posting this totally yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug June 21, 2009
Strawberries With Balsamic Vinegar