10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good .. spinach and lentils are two of my fav's .. I used 2 cloves of garlic, as i dont like it very much .. thanks, will make this again soon!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 26, 2002

I added a little less red pepper to make it less bland.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eriu February 21, 2002

This was nice, but a tad too garlicky for me. I used yellow lentils, and had this with fresh bread for a satisfying lunch. Next time I'll try this with onions instead of garlic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu March 04, 2002

Found it to be somewhat bland so I added a little bit of flavor color with basil, onion powder, a little more salt, and extra lemon. Will have it with rice and wedged tomato. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H June 25, 2003

I happen to like lentils and spinach so this filled the bill nicely. I used frozen spinach. I put this over rice and served it with tortilla. Lots left over for later to boot!! Thanks Bergy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 02, 2003

What a nice little gem!! I was looking for a different way to do up some spinach, this filled the bill. I used orange lentils. Very good and a nice change, I will be making it again and will add an onion and maybe some salsa next time. Thanks for a goodie to go with our chicken! Didn't need anything else! forgot to say I just made half a recipe; it worked out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 22, 2008

Like some others I added a few extras but the basic recipe is great. I added a spanish onion, an extra carrot and some celery at the same time as the 'original' carrot in the recipe. I also added a fresh tomato at the same time as the spinach. I'd think about adding some curry powder with the garlic next time to spice it up a little. Great served on some couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BSquared September 15, 2006

I made this, and mine came out o.k., but I think the bay and the amount of garlic may have thrown off the taste a bit too much for me. I also used frozen spinach, which I wouldn't do again...I'd definitely use fresh as the recipe instructed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simmerj January 06, 2005

I made this tonight and it was delicious. I served it with grilled chicken breasts and grilled tomatoes. The garlic makes this a lovely tasty dish. The lemon juice really added a nice freshness to the dish. There are left overs and my son and I are taking it for lunches tomorrow. This is a good healthy dish. Thank you for sharing, Bergy, I knew I was on a winner with this recipe belonging to you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo October 18, 2004

The devil made me do it!! I try not to make changes the first time I make a dish, but the sodium was a bit higher than I wanted so I did add a bit of onion and cut the salt in half. This was easy and fairly quick but a little bit bland. Next time I will add celery and another carrot. Salsa or hot sauce might work well too without affecting the “healthiness.” All in all though, it was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! August 01, 2004
Spinach with Lentils