Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spinach with Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach with Lentils

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2002

      This was very good .. spinach and lentils are two of my fav's .. I used 2 cloves of garlic, as i dont like it very much .. thanks, will make this again soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2002

      I added a little less red pepper to make it less bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      This was nice, but a tad too garlicky for me. I used yellow lentils, and had this with fresh bread for a satisfying lunch. Next time I'll try this with onions instead of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Found it to be somewhat bland so I added a little bit of flavor color with basil, onion powder, a little more salt, and extra lemon. Will have it with rice and wedged tomato. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      I happen to like lentils and spinach so this filled the bill nicely. I used frozen spinach. I put this over rice and served it with tortilla. Lots left over for later to boot!! Thanks Bergy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      What a nice little gem!! I was looking for a different way to do up some spinach, this filled the bill. I used orange lentils. Very good and a nice change, I will be making it again and will add an onion and maybe some salsa next time. Thanks for a goodie to go with our chicken! Didn't need anything else! forgot to say I just made half a recipe; it worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      Like some others I added a few extras but the basic recipe is great. I added a spanish onion, an extra carrot and some celery at the same time as the 'original' carrot in the recipe. I also added a fresh tomato at the same time as the spinach. I'd think about adding some curry powder with the garlic next time to spice it up a little. Great served on some couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      I made this, and mine came out o.k., but I think the bay and the amount of garlic may have thrown off the taste a bit too much for me. I also used frozen spinach, which I wouldn't do again...I'd definitely use fresh as the recipe instructed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      I made this tonight and it was delicious. I served it with grilled chicken breasts and grilled tomatoes. The garlic makes this a lovely tasty dish. The lemon juice really added a nice freshness to the dish. There are left overs and my son and I are taking it for lunches tomorrow. This is a good healthy dish. Thank you for sharing, Bergy, I knew I was on a winner with this recipe belonging to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      The devil made me do it!! I try not to make changes the first time I make a dish, but the sodium was a bit higher than I wanted so I did add a bit of onion and cut the salt in half. This was easy and fairly quick but a little bit bland. Next time I will add celery and another carrot. Salsa or hot sauce might work well too without affecting the “healthiness.” All in all though, it was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach with Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.0
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 456.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes