13 Reviews

This recipe has become a regular in our house. So tasty, easy, healthy, what else can I ask for? The lemon juice adds a brightness - don't leave it out. A coworker from India was really impressed when I brought the leftovers for lunch - she said it smelled and tasted just like traditional curries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosebuddie February 23, 2008

This is very tasty, easy to make and it's also healthy. I used 300 grams of baby spinach and added salt & pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. The flavours are light and fresh, and it tastes good hot or cold. Next time I might try adding garlic and curry powder, but I'll make it this way again too. Thanks for a great recipe! ***I've since made this adding two teaspoons of hot curry powder and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and it was fantastic. 5 Stars!***

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz August 20, 2007

I gave this recipe a try because I like all the ingredients that go into it. It wasn't bad, but it was definitely bland. I will try this again but add herbs to it. Maybe even a roasted red bell pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmccarton_12514162 May 21, 2012

Delicious and satisfying. Only had one onion so I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and supplemented with generous amounts of garlic (about a tablespoon finely minced). Also added some Kala Jeera, a spice I picked up in an Indian store and didn't know how to use. The dish was fantastic. Like that there's room to improvise with this recipe! Served with couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannamrodriguez May 12, 2010

Wonderful! Easy, delicious, filling and healthy. The fresh lemon juice adds a wonderful flavor. I made this just as written, using fresh baby spinach. Loved every bite. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* April 01, 2009

Thanks! I'll make this one again. I used frozen spinach. I'm noticing now that I forgot the lemon juice!! That would have been a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinestarr May 01, 2008

I couldn't get fresh spinach and settled for some canned leaf spinach - I liked it a lot and will try again with fresh when I can. A nice simple tasty healty recipe. I imagine a dollop of thick low fat greek yoghurt would work well on top, too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moyni October 02, 2007

Simple and delicious! this is going into my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrikingEyes00 August 27, 2007

Really great recipe! I adapted it a bit by substituting the canned tomatoes by fresh ones and adding garlic, as a member suggested. I changed the combination of spices a bit too and I served it over couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dina Cohen August 07, 2007

Oops, I forgot to get onions and a lemon when I was grocery shopping, so I was forced to make a couple of changes. I don't think they changed the taste TOO much, though. I added a couple of garlic cloves instead of the onions and added some hot sauce for acidity. I also cut back a bit on the cumin and added some curry powder and salt. I put it in a wrap and ate it hot. I really liked it and I'm happy I have leftovers. I will make it again with onions and lemon juice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ameliahead April 15, 2007
Spinach and Chickpea Curry