Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spinach and Chickpea Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach and Chickpea Curry

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2008

      This recipe has become a regular in our house. So tasty, easy, healthy, what else can I ask for? The lemon juice adds a brightness - don't leave it out. A coworker from India was really impressed when I brought the leftovers for lunch - she said it smelled and tasted just like traditional curries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This is very tasty, easy to make and it's also healthy. I used 300 grams of baby spinach and added salt & pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. The flavours are light and fresh, and it tastes good hot or cold. Next time I might try adding garlic and curry powder, but I'll make it this way again too. Thanks for a great recipe! ***I've since made this adding two teaspoons of hot curry powder and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, and it was fantastic. 5 Stars!***

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      I gave this recipe a try because I like all the ingredients that go into it. It wasn't bad, but it was definitely bland. I will try this again but add herbs to it. Maybe even a roasted red bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Delicious and satisfying. Only had one onion so I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and supplemented with generous amounts of garlic (about a tablespoon finely minced). Also added some Kala Jeera, a spice I picked up in an Indian store and didn't know how to use. The dish was fantastic. Like that there's room to improvise with this recipe! Served with couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Wonderful! Easy, delicious, filling and healthy. The fresh lemon juice adds a wonderful flavor. I made this just as written, using fresh baby spinach. Loved every bite. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Thanks! I'll make this one again. I used frozen spinach. I'm noticing now that I forgot the lemon juice!! That would have been a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I couldn't get fresh spinach and settled for some canned leaf spinach - I liked it a lot and will try again with fresh when I can. A nice simple tasty healty recipe. I imagine a dollop of thick low fat greek yoghurt would work well on top, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Simple and delicious! this is going into my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Really great recipe! I adapted it a bit by substituting the canned tomatoes by fresh ones and adding garlic, as a member suggested. I changed the combination of spices a bit too and I served it over couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      Oops, I forgot to get onions and a lemon when I was grocery shopping, so I was forced to make a couple of changes. I don't think they changed the taste TOO much, though. I added a couple of garlic cloves instead of the onions and added some hot sauce for acidity. I also cut back a bit on the cumin and added some curry powder and salt. I put it in a wrap and ate it hot. I really liked it and I'm happy I have leftovers. I will make it again with onions and lemon juice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Excellent. Just a great blend of flavors without anything being too"weird" or too spicy. Also it is pretty darn healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I loved this - definitely a keeper! A nice mild curry flavor with a bit of tang from the lemon juice. I used a whole package of baby spinach leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      We both really liked this, but i made a few changes: 1 large onion 1/4 red capsicum, chopped 1 tsp carlic, crushed 2/3 tsp ginger, crushed, only 1 tsp of the cumin & coriander, and a 400g can of chickpeas. I also added a tiny bit of water to make it a bit saucier. Served this with sour cream with vegetable pakoras. Will definately make this again. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach and Chickpea Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.7
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    24%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 794.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    50%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes