Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Vegetable Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Vegetable Couscous

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2010

      I would have never put these spices together. I'm glad I did!!! It was wonderful, and my family loved it too!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This recipe is just what I have been looking for, lots of good veggies w/ couscous. I agree w/ Princapessa, needs more cayenne, but my family likes our food spicy hot. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This was really good! I've been getting bored of plain rice with my curries, so I tried this. It was good both as a side dish and as something to serve the curry over. I doubled the spices, used cilantro instead of parsley, and I used chicken broth instead of water. At the very end I added a splash more of chicken broth because it was a tad on the dry side for us. I'll make this one often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This recipe makes a great vegetarian main dish. I served it with a salad. I love the zucchini and tomatoes together and the very yummy combo of spices. The only thing I did differently was use the whole can of chickpeas (just under 2 cups) just to use them up. This makes a really quick, delicious and filling meal. Thanks Annacia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Yum! This is great! I made exactly as written, but I agree that just about any vegetables would go well. Very healthy and hearty. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I made this as a side to my Baked Chicken Breasts and I and DBF really liked it. It was very easy to prepare, very tasty, and combined the starch side dish and vegetable side dish into one. I made no changes to the recipe this time. I think in the future, however, I may just add a dash of cinnamon as I am not a huge fan of the spice and even 1/8 tsp. seemed a bit much for my tastes. Otherwise, I was very pleased. Thanks Annacia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I enjoyed this with Delicious Oven-Baked Fried Chicken. This is a great healthy side dish, and very tasty. Made for Holiday Tag Game. Thanks for posting Annacia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This was yummy Annacia! I followed the recipe precisely and had no problems. This was great in my lunchbox today, I like the chickpea and couscous combination. The cinnamon really makes this dish, try not to forget it. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2014

      We loved this recipe! I left out the ginger and parsley as I didn't have any and replaced the green onion with red onion. It was delicious and a lovely change to our usual couscous recipes! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      This is good, and a nice to way to eat some veg and garbanzos! I felt I needed to salt the veg mix a bit, and then a bit more at the end to the whole dish. Then I also added some leftover artichokes, and even a few olives...I know, these flavours really should not be together. But I think it's good. Normally I wouldn't add the artichokes or olives, just wanted to use up. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      This is fantastic! We absolutely loved it, wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I would have never put these spices together. I'm glad I did!!! It was wonderful, and my family loved it too. This is a new favorite !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Great recipe, I just used the spices and onions. Will make again thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      4 1/4 stars. This is good as a side. I made ours gluten free using quinoa instead of couscous. I used a greater amount of canola oil to be soy free, mainly sweet orange peppers and some yellow as I didn't have any red on hand, a couple more canned plumb tomatoes, canned chickpeas, I cooked the quinoa as I usually do along with the remaining ingredients in step 4. I used sea salt, a not very spicy curry powder (as we don't like very hot), flat leaf parsley, a bit more cinnamon than called for, cayenne to taste, plus the rest. Served with a raita. Made for Veggie Swap 32 ~ March 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

    • on September 28, 2007

      Better with 1/2 teaspoon cayenne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This is my first attempt at couscous. We have never had it before tonight. Really liked this. I added some diced smoked chicken to the veges while cooking and had it as a complete meal. DH says without the chicken it would make a great side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Vegetable Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.9
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    88%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 342.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes