8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good. I agree with Cookgirl that cilantro would do it better, I used flat leaf parsley, extra virgin olive oil, additional canned chickpeas like other reviewers, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Veggie Swap #49 ~ August ~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 06, 2012

This was an easy and satisfying mid-week meal. The big change was subbing Spanish smoked paprika for standard. The bean mixture was served over quinoa and topped with fresh cilantro instead of parsley-the cilantro really being the icing on the cake and making all those flavors shine. Used my own roasted frozen tomato puree from the summer harvest. Reviewed for Veg Tag/November.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 13, 2011

Yum! This is easy, quick, and delicious! I added a couple of sweet red peppers because I had them on hand, and added a couple of pinches of dried red chilies. We're looking forward to lunch this week, having this with some hearty cornbread! Made for 1-2-3 Hits. Thanks, Loula!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 16, 2011

I had to play with the amount of the ingredients posted, and it turned out really well. I used 1 T. oil, 1 large sweet onion (diced, not sliced), 4 garlic cloves, 2 t. of all the spices, 14.5 oz. can diced fire-roasted tomatoes, 19 oz. can chick peas, 12 oz. tomato puree, 1 t. salt, and 1/2 t. pepper. I also added 1 cup of halved grape tomatoes and 1/4 t. red pepper flakes. Really very tasty served over brown rice, with some green beans on the side. A nice healthy meal after all the indulgences of the holiday season! Thanks for sharing this easy keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! December 27, 2010

Easily and filling. Like another reviewer, I doubled the amount of chickpeas. I didn't have any coriander or parsley, but it still had a nice taste. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder May 11, 2010

Lovely, easy soup. I omitted the salt and added a little sprinkle of grated Parmesan just before serving. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 25, 2010

Delicious and quite satisfying! I about doubled the amount of chickpeas, partly because I had cooked a huge pot and wanted to use them, and partly because the stated amount looked a little sparse. I like my bean dishes really beany! Substituted granulated garlic, as I was out of fresh, and skipped the parsley. Served atop some sprouted-grain pasta; brown rice/millet/quinoa would have worked well too. Don't be misled by the word "spicy" - there's no real heat to this dish: just plenty of good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjtrow April 16, 2010

This was really good. DD and I both love chickpeas so I was sure we'd like this. I sauteed my onions and garlic in water instead of oil as I'm trying to eat as low fat as possible and another part of our dinner had olive oil in it. I think I'd like this with the addition of some other veggies such as spinach or peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 20, 2013
Spicy Tomato Chickpea Stew