Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Tomato Chickpea Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Tomato Chickpea Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2012

      This was good. I agree with Cookgirl that cilantro would do it better, I used flat leaf parsley, extra virgin olive oil, additional canned chickpeas like other reviewers, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Veggie Swap #49 ~ August ~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      This was an easy and satisfying mid-week meal. The big change was subbing Spanish smoked paprika for standard. The bean mixture was served over quinoa and topped with fresh cilantro instead of parsley-the cilantro really being the icing on the cake and making all those flavors shine. Used my own roasted frozen tomato puree from the summer harvest. Reviewed for Veg Tag/November.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Yum! This is easy, quick, and delicious! I added a couple of sweet red peppers because I had them on hand, and added a couple of pinches of dried red chilies. We're looking forward to lunch this week, having this with some hearty cornbread! Made for 1-2-3 Hits. Thanks, Loula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I had to play with the amount of the ingredients posted, and it turned out really well. I used 1 T. oil, 1 large sweet onion (diced, not sliced), 4 garlic cloves, 2 t. of all the spices, 14.5 oz. can diced fire-roasted tomatoes, 19 oz. can chick peas, 12 oz. tomato puree, 1 t. salt, and 1/2 t. pepper. I also added 1 cup of halved grape tomatoes and 1/4 t. red pepper flakes. Really very tasty served over brown rice, with some green beans on the side. A nice healthy meal after all the indulgences of the holiday season! Thanks for sharing this easy keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Easily and filling. Like another reviewer, I doubled the amount of chickpeas. I didn't have any coriander or parsley, but it still had a nice taste. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Lovely, easy soup. I omitted the salt and added a little sprinkle of grated Parmesan just before serving. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Delicious and quite satisfying! I about doubled the amount of chickpeas, partly because I had cooked a huge pot and wanted to use them, and partly because the stated amount looked a little sparse. I like my bean dishes really beany! Substituted granulated garlic, as I was out of fresh, and skipped the parsley. Served atop some sprouted-grain pasta; brown rice/millet/quinoa would have worked well too. Don't be misled by the word "spicy" - there's no real heat to this dish: just plenty of good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      This was really good. DD and I both love chickpeas so I was sure we'd like this. I sauteed my onions and garlic in water instead of oil as I'm trying to eat as low fat as possible and another part of our dinner had olive oil in it. I think I'd like this with the addition of some other veggies such as spinach or peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Tomato Chickpea Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (482 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.1
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    19%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 417.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites