Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2007

      I was lucky enough to find sweet onions (Maui's) when I last shopped. I enjoyed this as a welcome change from the usual holiday sweet potato dishes. Splenda Brown Sugar was used in place of the regular brown and I used double the cinnamon and ginger. It all came together with a lovely layering of flavor intensity, the sweet, the savory and and a tiny nip of heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      We made this for Thanksgiving, substituting dried cranberries (sweetened) for the raisins. I was outstanding, the perfect accompaniment for the Holiday's flavors!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This recipe is great. I substituted the 2 cups water with 1 cup orange juice 1 cup water. It adds a little zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was a very very good out of the ordinary sweet potato casserole. I really enjoyed having it with my Thanksgiving meal, as it helped ease up on the sugar overload I usually get. Thanks for posting, Toni! Made for the Potluck Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I was less than impressed with this as a side dish. I didn't enjoy the combination of flavours. However, I froze the leftovers and when I found a recipe for Risky Biscuits by Janet & Greta Podleski from Eat, Shrink & Be Merry, I used this in place of the mashed sweet potatoes and cinnamon. Made an awesome base for the biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Very good Toni we really enjoyed this sweet potato dish, I omitted the raisins as it was sweet enough and used regular yellow onions in place of sweet onions, I also added in some fresh garlic when sauteeing the onions and increased the cayenne, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I myself find that these are sweet enough that we don`t need to add all that white stuff! :) I enjoyed these with all the spices called for and used 2 1/2 pounds of potatoes. When potatoes were tender I removed them and cooked down the liquid and then poured it over just before serving! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      Thanks toni for another great recipe. We enjoyed this sweet potato dish very much. The potatoes were perfectly cooked, tender morsels nestled in sweet onions, flavourful spices and plump sweet raisins with a lovely hint of heat. The cayenne pepper makes them extra special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 270.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites