Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy? Sweet? Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy? Sweet? Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2011

      This has become my go-to base for everything red spaghetti sauce-related. I add red wine to taste and cook down. My friends all love it--makes me look like I actually know what I'm doing. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Oh my God. I have never had marinara sauce like this before! I don't think I can ever go back to normal jar sauce again. This is too amazing!! I was pretty much eating it like it was soup after it was done. Delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Excellant Marinara Sauce homegirl. We enjoyed it very much. I used it to sauce cheese canneloni. It worked beautifully and tasted absolutely wonderful. The sauce was quick and very easy to make and tasted great. I used a hot and spicy tomato sauce for a little added heat. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This is outstanding...the only marinara sauce I will ever need from here on out! And so simple. I didn't have whole tomatoes...so I used two 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes and two cans of tomato sauce (same size). To this I added a small can(6 oz I believe)of tomato paste to thicken it a little more. Added seasonings just as recipe stated...fantastic! (I used the 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes..this is not at all hot). The batch made a total of 2 quarts. Thanks for this awesome recipe...it truly is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      Untested I made your marinara sauce and shells as part of my wedding reception menu. I quadrupled this recipe, and let it simmer for about 2 1/2 hours. SO glad I chose this one. This is a fabulous tasting sauce! Love it! My only complaint was that it is a little thin. I had to add some tomato paste to thicken it eventually. About 6oz per batch. I'm sold on this sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! I made it with the stuffed shells, and they pair beautifully together. I only made half the recipe, and it still cooked well and turned out great. Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Where has this marinara sauce been all my life? No more jar sauces EVER! This sauce has a super mix of spicy and sweet with lots of depth! I used good quality tomato products and bought new jars of herbs and red pepper! I'm in love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I make this recipe all the time. It is so easy and delicious. I add extra red pepper flakes because we like ours a little hotter. I make recipe Meatballs by Rhonda O. It is a hit in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      loved this. helped me use some tomatoes that i didn't want to go bad. the sugar makes it simply wonderful and i added lots of pepper to make it spicier. has a great fresh homemade taste. i jarred some for the fridge and froze some. And i've used it for pizza, dip sauce, baked ziti, tossed with veggies. saved me lots of money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Loved this! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      No more jar/canned sauce for us. The whole family loves your sauce. My husband said it will be handed down!!! Thanks a bunch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      this is the recipe i've been looking for! the perfect sweet taste with kick. yeah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      easy to make and good although i added alot more seasonings to tatse.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      My husband loved your stuffed shells so much, we decided to try your sauce. It's the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Nice tasting sauce! I used whole tomatoes and diced tomatoes. We ended up browning some hamburger and throwing it in after it simmered for spagetti sauce. This will be a great addition to our recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      this sauce has such a good flavor, i made this to go with your stuffed shells #129061, my family loved it. Whenever i make this i double the recipe and freeze half for the next time. It freezes really well. Thanks homegirl, for such a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I LOVED this sauce..it has just the right amountt of spicy and sweet..PERFECT!!! I made it with stuffed shells, will use no other recipe from now on...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      We really liked this marinara sauce. To us it didn't seem to be as acidity like some sauces are. It was easy to prepare. I used it to top your Three Cheese Stuffed Jumbo Pasta Shells. Thanks homegril. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      i put more peppers than asked for and it still wasnt very hot at all. i also cut the sugar in half and found i had to add quite a bit of salt to get much flavor from it. i made lasagne with it and it turned out really watery. the taste is pretty good especially the next day. but i would simmer it longer to get more liquid out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      I did cut the sugar in half. Suateed Red & Yellow Peppers in it as well. I liked the heat. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy? Sweet? Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.7
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    21%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 909.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 26.2 g
    104%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites