Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Mexican Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Mexican Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      This was a surprising dish. I loved the harmony of the citrus flavors in the dressing. The jicama and cabbage had a wonderful crunchiness that I enjoyed too. I used this dish as a side to a chicken and salsa recipe, and it was wonderful. Thanks, Mirj for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      As good as healthy can get! Positively scrummy! Love the jicama, jalapeno and cilantro in this slaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Delicious salad. I made half a recipe of the salad but the whole dressing recipe. It was great! Will have this often with Mexican themed meals. The fresh lime juice really makes it. Served it with quesadillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Very light and flavorful dish. Followed the recipe exactly but should have added more heat because even with the 2 recommended jalapeno's, we didn't get much spice. My husband was not a fan of this but I thought it was good. Not sure if I will make it again but it paired nicely tonight with Oaxacan shrimp and #139227. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      My family loved this slaw. Took it to a cookout and it won hands down in the coleslaw department! I used one jalapeno pepper with seeds removed, fresh cilantro. I could not find jicama so I used a peeled, grated granny smith apple and no one seemed to mind. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Very light and flavorful. Was good several days. Nice change for cole slaw but even better for weight watchers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Loved the slaw! Unfortunately I used my usual shredding disk for the jimaca and it was too small. Next time I will use the largest one. I had this for lunch yesteday and had tortilla chips with it. Made a nice combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      This one didn't go over at all with my family. We love cilantro, all the ingredients, in fact. It sounded like it would be good, but it just wasn't. I made it 100% by the recipe, but it seemed like it needed something. -- posted Jun 27, 2005. I went home after writing this and added mayonaise to some of the slaw...we both liked it, not sure I'd make it again, but at least I found what was missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      It was impossible for me to find Jicama here,so I subbed for turnips...not bad. Loved it! I served it topped with grilled salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      i have not had cabbage like is in so long thank U E

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Very enjoyable, but different slaw recipe. I love the crunchiness of the jicama & the citrus tang along with the mexican flavors of the cumin & jalapenos. I will make this again. Thanks mirj!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      We served this with 15 minute Enchiladas, #82287. Also used the prepared slaw mix, added extra carrots. Next time I'd julienne the jicama as grating it made it mushy. Would also go a bit heavier on the salt! Excellent the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      This was fantastic. I had a slaw similar to this a few months ago with carne asada and have been searching everywhere since looking for something similar. It tastes so fresh. The slaw is perfect on top of soft tacos or by itself. Instead of chopping the cabbage and carrots, I used a 16 oz. bag of precut cole slaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Mexican Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    47%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites