Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Hash Browns - Homemade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Hash Browns - Homemade

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2003

      This time I cooked the hash browns in a toaster oven and they were perfect. I diced the potatoes a little larger than I would for the conventional oven as the heat seems more direct. Once again they were crisp outside and soft centered. Easy excellent recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      We make these almost every weekend- especially with comany. Our guest love a little heat/spice. This is a perfect recipe. Thank you Kumquat. May: Made a tweak to the recipe after all these months, and it adds a nice robust extra to this awesome recipe. I have added half a T of Onion Powder and half a T of Adobo. (Substitute for garlic powder.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Delicious hash browns! I shredded my potatoes but cooked them for the same amount of time. They came out perfectly, a lovely golden brown. What a wonderful treat, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Fantastic! Just what I was looking for this morning. I halved the recipe and I diced the potatoes fairly small and baked them for 45 minutes. Next time I'll make them a little bigger. The flavor was just enough to tingle but not overpowering, and I added a couple shakes of garlic powder. I will definitely make these again and try to freeze them and see how they work. Wonderful, thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Delicious! These are great hashbrowns! Don't listen to what an earlier poster, Jeff, said about these not being hashbrown because they're baked. This comes out just like hashbrowns on the stove only better, less greasy and nicely spiced! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! My DH loves hashbrowns and orders them any time we go out to breakfast. But I have never been able to make them well. This is the closest I've ever been to what he likes. Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      I used a 1 lb. frozen organic hash brown mix from my freezer and halved the rest of the ingredients. I chose this recipe because I had everything available on my kitchen shelf and was low fat to boot. I allowed my hashed browns to defrost quite a bit before cooking, used a small casserole dish, substituted cayenne pepper powder for red pepper, and cooked for recommended length of time. This made the top nice and brown, and under layers soft. Served with extra hot sauce, yum! Easy, quick, and healthful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      These hash browns were wonderful. I cut them small so they would cook through and turn out a little crunchy. In 30 min they were crunchy and the spice was wonderful since they were so small.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      Great recipe! I made these to go with Troy's Easy Garlic Chicken Breasts. The potatoes were nice and crispy on the outside and had a great taste to them! Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Easy! Delicious! We cooked them on the bbq!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Good! Shredded the potatoes, but would probably cube them next time. Flavor was very good, prep very easy. Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: Cut the potatoes in small cubes, as stated in the recipe, which worked beautifully. Will definitely make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Really tasty! I didn't use the red pepper flakes, instead subbed in about 1/4 tsp of hot paprika. this made them mild enough my toddler could eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      I didn't like the taste of the hash browns baked but the seasoning was wonderful, really spicy and flavorful. I'm going to try this recipe again but will fry the potatoes instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      It was a hit in our household. Definitely had a kick. Made it pretty much as per recipe but had to substitute red pepper for cayenne pepper (it may actually be the same thing). Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      For some reason the 5th time I made these they turned out the best. Up go the stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I just can't make frozen hash browns--they always come out bad!! But my husband loves them, and I was glad to find this recipe to try on him. He enjoyed them, but thought the spice mixture needed just a bit more salt & spice. I used 2 cups diced potatoes, and had already upped the spices but next time will use a bit more! They looked wonderful--crisp on the outside from the oil & had great color. Thanks so much for sharing! I am grateful to add this to his breakfast menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I used the basic ingredients from this recipe didn't follow all the directions. The only directions I did follow were the baking directions and how to mix all the ingredients together. The ingredients were simple and the hash browns were easy to make. I just reccomend, for those who like their hash browns a little crunchy, pan frying the hash browns in a greased skillet after they have cooked in the oven. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Pretty good, certainly had a kick to them! Yummy though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Very Tasty! I love how little olive oil you use. I shredded my potatoes in my Kitchenaid and they turned out great. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Very tasty! I sprinkled the hash browns with seasoning salt when they came out of the oven, and they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Hash Browns - Homemade

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.8
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    22%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 247.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes