Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Curried Lentils and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Curried Lentils and Rice

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      This was a pleasure for tonights dinner. It's solid and satisfying while being very light in fats. And I just noticed as I write this that I totally forgot the peas and tomatoes. I think that they would have been a great addition, LOL. Well, having admitted what an idiot I am, all I can say is that the lentils, rice and seasonings where yummy by themselves and quite filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This was fabulous!!!! I loved it! Yes I didn`t make as directed but I`m sure it would have been just as good when following the recipe. I used brown rice adding it to 3 1/2 cups water for 20 minutes before adding red lentils (I really thought I had brown lentils which would be just as grand as what I enjoyed)and then cooked for 20 more minutes. I used Crosse & Blackwell hot mango chutney, which was very good and the cilantro is a must! Thank you for the healthy wonderful eats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Great dish! We loved the combination of flavors and textures in this. I used homemade mango chutney. Very filling. Thanks for sharing! Veg*n Swap 26

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Great one pot meal! I made this tonight using brown rice and green lentils. I should have added about 1/4 cup more water/broth than called for, but it all worked out in the end. I was going to comment that it could use some more curry powder, but just realized that I misread the measure and only used 1 tsp of curry powder instead of a tablespoon...oops - I did end up adding some more in the end. Definitely, ues a tbsp!! If you have the choice, I think fresh tomatoes are much better in this. Great combo, and as Annacia said, it's really filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      Wow this was really good! I used more canola oil as my pan needed it, I added a little cayenne instead of the small hot pepper, used green lentils which I did not presoak and they were OK, used white Basmati rice adding it a little after I fried the onions and lentils together since my rice cooks so fast, I used water, Iraqi Curry Powder, sea salt which I added to the rice & lentils on cooking as I didn't notice it was to be added after. I added a bit more on the dish upon serving to salt the fresh tomatoes, I used defrosted sweet baby peas, plus the cilantro. I served it with a chutney & Indian Cucumber Raita for a good filling vegetarian meal. Made for Veggie Swap 32 ~ March 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      This was so good! I followed the recipe as is, adding extra ginger and I did use the whole jalapeño pepper. I was worried a whole pepper would be too hot but it was perfect. The second time I had it I added the cilantro and chopped fresh tomatoes when I served it. Wow! It was awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I felt the need to tweak this as it was too dry and somewhat bland. I followed the recipe then added some V8 juice to make it moister and add some flavor. I wished I would have added a whole can of diced tomatoes & juices instead of diced fresh tomatoes. I used a serrano pepper, tossed in some frozen corn kernals which added a nice texture & pop of color. I strongly suggests using cilantro, it adds a lot to this dish. It was very tasty the next day. I think because others topped it with a chutney, that was an added bonus to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Curried Lentils and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    10%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 343.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 19.2 g
    77%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites