31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yummm! this was delicious, lennie - thank you! i made it pretty much exactly according to the recipe, and it got rave reviews all around. I really liked the flavour the balsamic vinegar added. I will certainly be making this again! (and it was really easy too :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pollen March 24, 2002

Great recipe! Unusual flavor, but good. I added baby carrots and a little red wine vinegar, its not as tart as the balsamic. It could use something to thicken the sauce.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat June 05, 2002

This certainly smelled fantastic when I finally got in from work! Tastes pretty good too. My toddler also ate this without protest.Didn't really notice the cayenne.I also was out of fresh gingerroot so made do with ground ginger which worked okay.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 31, 2003

We LOVED it! Definitely follow the others' recommendation for 28 oz. can of tomatoes, (we like whole), and 1/8th tsp. cayenne. I quick sauteed onions, garlic and fresh ginger and threw into slow cooker (with liner) and then dumped in the rest of the ingredients, gave it a quick stir, came home from work and voila: a scrumptious dinner, (I served it with "warm Indian zucchini salad")!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggiefamily11 October 18, 2011

I really, really liked this! My husband was not a big fan, but he ate it. So I enjoyed the leftovers all week for lunch! The flavors are wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 01, 2011

Very good and easy recipe. We like spicy food and this was just about too spicy- I'd cut back on the cayenne a bit next time- otherwise you just taste 'hot' and not the different flavors. We used canned tomatoes juice. We ate it over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richardsonwm August 27, 2010

I loved this recipe, and I would not change a thing! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene November 04, 2009

I love indian food so I think I was expecting more of that kind of taste / spice. It had too many tomatoes for me and not enough heat. My husband loved it though, so I give it 3 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rengetsu October 13, 2009

I like the idea of this recipe but was not happy with the result. The flavors were kind of bland and muddled whereas I was hoping for something that was dark and spicy. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshPhile August 30, 2009

This is very good! I used half the cayenne which was plenty for the spice-haters in the house. We spice-lovers just added more to our own bowls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 July 30, 2009
Spicy Crock Pot Chickpeas