Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Crock Pot Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Crock Pot Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2002

      yummm! this was delicious, lennie - thank you! i made it pretty much exactly according to the recipe, and it got rave reviews all around. I really liked the flavour the balsamic vinegar added. I will certainly be making this again! (and it was really easy too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Great recipe! Unusual flavor, but good. I added baby carrots and a little red wine vinegar, its not as tart as the balsamic. It could use something to thicken the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      This certainly smelled fantastic when I finally got in from work! Tastes pretty good too. My toddler also ate this without protest.Didn't really notice the cayenne.I also was out of fresh gingerroot so made do with ground ginger which worked okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      We LOVED it! Definitely follow the others' recommendation for 28 oz. can of tomatoes, (we like whole), and 1/8th tsp. cayenne. I quick sauteed onions, garlic and fresh ginger and threw into slow cooker (with liner) and then dumped in the rest of the ingredients, gave it a quick stir, came home from work and voila: a scrumptious dinner, (I served it with "warm Indian zucchini salad")!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      I really, really liked this! My husband was not a big fan, but he ate it. So I enjoyed the leftovers all week for lunch! The flavors are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Very good and easy recipe. We like spicy food and this was just about too spicy- I'd cut back on the cayenne a bit next time- otherwise you just taste 'hot' and not the different flavors. We used canned tomatoes juice. We ate it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I loved this recipe, and I would not change a thing! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I love indian food so I think I was expecting more of that kind of taste / spice. It had too many tomatoes for me and not enough heat. My husband loved it though, so I give it 3 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I like the idea of this recipe but was not happy with the result. The flavors were kind of bland and muddled whereas I was hoping for something that was dark and spicy. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      This is very good! I used half the cayenne which was plenty for the spice-haters in the house. We spice-lovers just added more to our own bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Delicious! Adding the spices early on really brings out the flavor in this dish! We serve it over white or brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Very good! Like a few other posters, I did not use the full amount of cayenne...I used probably 1/4 tsp, and I thought it was perfect. I cooked it on low in my crock pot for about 8 hours...seemed like that was a good amount of time. I used canned tomatoes and included the juice as well as the tomatoes...I think this recipe would have been burned or at least overcooked if I hadn't added that extra juice. This tasted a lot like barbecued beans to me, rather than Indian food (that's not a complaint, though!). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I needed something for dinner that was soft and easy to chew, yet tasty, since I am going through some dental problems at the moment. This dish fit the bill perfectly. It is a nice combination of flavours. I only alteration I made was to reduce the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp. as I can't eat really spicy foods. I served it over basmati rice and I really enjoyed it. I am taking some of the leftovers to work tomorrow for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Very good and not too spicy for my 3 year old. I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and that worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      My family loved this. I didn't have any fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp ground.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Just looking at the recipe, it seemed kind of funny, but interesting. I love chick peas in just about anyway possible so I tried it. Super delicious. I loved it and as another mentioned I'm going to make it with basmati next time. Perfect combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This is really tasty. I had sliced avocado on the side. My friend said it tasted like marinara sauce - and it kind of does! A very flavorful marinara sauce. I think the ginger brought out the flavor of the tomatoes. I will definitely make this again, and would even serve over pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I made these as per the instructions. It was indeed flavorful but i think the vinegar overtook the flavor of the recipe. If I try this again it will be without the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I halved this recipe and made it in my little 1QT crock pot. It worked out great. I also found that there was not enough liquid in it. Plus, I also used fresh tomato instead of canned. In the end, I ended up adding in a can of brown beans in tomato sauce. That worked well. I did end up omitting the cayenne as I had forgotten to add it. No matter though as I thoroughly loved it just as is. Thanks for such a great and easy meal for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This was very good and very simple to get ready for the crockpot. I did increase the garlic and ginger and decreased the cayenne as a personal preference. I used fresh chopped tomatoes and ended up adding a small 4oz can of tomato sauce about halfway through because it just didn't seem like it was going to be saucy enough. I am glad I did and perhaps next time I will used a can of chopped tomatoes to see if it works better. Thank you so much for sharing a delicious meatless dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Crock Pot Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.3
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    15%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 930.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes