33 Reviews

I don't use my slow cooker often enough but this recipe gives me a great reason to use it more! After reading the review I used an extra large onion, quadrupled the cumin and doubled the rest of the spices. I didn't want to cook the rice separately so I used 1 cup of dry brown rice plus 2 extra cups of water from the start. I cooked it for about 3 hours on high heat. By that time the rice was finally getting cooked so I turned it down to low and added one of the mangoes. I cooed on low for another hour and added the second mango right before serving. I love spicy food and this was plenty spicy. I used jarred jalepeno slices that I chopped up instead of a fresh jalepeno. My husband also thought this was a great dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
querian June 24, 2012

Great recipe. I kept the ingredients as written but, due to time, I amended to cook in my electronic pressure cooker. I would also like to try to cook it in the oven one time. I have to agree I found it is was a milder flavours than I was expecting but that was ok cause I was serving it as a side dish to a flavour-filled roasted pork tenderloin. If you want it kicked up abit, either increase the cumin or add 1/2 can of diced green chilies. The combination of the beans, with mango & (brown) rice was fabulous, thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 March 20, 2011

This was really good - I added some red pepper flakes to increase the heat a little. Because I kept the crockpot on after adding the mangoes, they had time to stew a little, which made the bean mixture a little sweeter and really brought everything together. Next time, I'll add them about an hour before the cooking time is over.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likestocooklovestoeat March 10, 2010

This is a great vegetarian recipe. I followed the recipe, almost exactly. The only thing I did differently was to add two tablespoons of cumin, to make it a bit more spicy, and I added the mango right at the 1 hour mark with the rices. It was the perfect amount of spice to sweet. My three-year-old son ate three servings of this (large servings). Thanks you for a nutritious, delicious meal Dreamer! I must say, I have been enjoying all of your recipes this week! Made for team Tasty Testers for The Caribbean Islands round during ZWT9. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely August 02, 2013

This is great, thanks for the recipe! I used serranos, and on the advice of other reviewers I added a can of mild green chilies and a little crushed red pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 April 02, 2011

This was a really nice vegetarian dish! I made it as directed, except didn't saute the veggies first... just threw it all in the crockpot and turned it on. My jalapeno must have been very mild bkz there was not a hint of spicyness to it at all. Next time I'll use to peppers or throw in some cayenne or crushed red peppers flakes. Thanks for posting... my whole family enjoyed it and it was a perfect way to use leftover rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D June 11, 2009

This is fantastic!!! I added a 1/2 cup of medium salsa to the beans while cooking and an additional mango right before serving. My girls absolutely loved it! Next time I make this I want to have it with some cheese quesadillas on the side. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!! Made for veg*n tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam August 10, 2008

Another EXCELLENT FLAVORFUL HEALTHY VEGAN recipe from Dreamer! I'm loving your recipes! I used a white onion, canned minced jalapenos, brown sugar Splenda, and frozen defrosted mangos. I added some red pepper flakes. This was a bit spicy but the flavor comes through. The spice mix was new for us...I think it might be Caribbean? It was a whole meal for us full of fiber and protein. Made for the Please Review game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed September 30, 2007

I followed the recipe and doubled the spices as suggested in other reviews. I did not do the rice part, I wished to serve the beans on quinoa. Well, it is very bland. I added a full lime juice and some ground coriander and it is still very ordinary; it might be because we are so used to strongly flavoured mexican dishes. Was super easy to make but the flavours need some work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka September 28, 2014

I had saved this recipe from the last Zaar World Tour and finally made it. I very much enjoyed all the nice flavors. Thanks Dreamer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 18, 2014
Spicy Black Beans and Rice With Mangoes (Crock Pot)