Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Spicy Black Beans and Rice With Mangoes (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Black Beans and Rice With Mangoes (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2012

      I don't use my slow cooker often enough but this recipe gives me a great reason to use it more! After reading the review I used an extra large onion, quadrupled the cumin and doubled the rest of the spices. I didn't want to cook the rice separately so I used 1 cup of dry brown rice plus 2 extra cups of water from the start. I cooked it for about 3 hours on high heat. By that time the rice was finally getting cooked so I turned it down to low and added one of the mangoes. I cooed on low for another hour and added the second mango right before serving. I love spicy food and this was plenty spicy. I used jarred jalepeno slices that I chopped up instead of a fresh jalepeno. My husband also thought this was a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Great recipe. I kept the ingredients as written but, due to time, I amended to cook in my electronic pressure cooker. I would also like to try to cook it in the oven one time. I have to agree I found it is was a milder flavours than I was expecting but that was ok cause I was serving it as a side dish to a flavour-filled roasted pork tenderloin. If you want it kicked up abit, either increase the cumin or add 1/2 can of diced green chilies. The combination of the beans, with mango & (brown) rice was fabulous, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This was really good - I added some red pepper flakes to increase the heat a little. Because I kept the crockpot on after adding the mangoes, they had time to stew a little, which made the bean mixture a little sweeter and really brought everything together. Next time, I'll add them about an hour before the cooking time is over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This is a great vegetarian recipe. I followed the recipe, almost exactly. The only thing I did differently was to add two tablespoons of cumin, to make it a bit more spicy, and I added the mango right at the 1 hour mark with the rices. It was the perfect amount of spice to sweet. My three-year-old son ate three servings of this (large servings). Thanks you for a nutritious, delicious meal Dreamer! I must say, I have been enjoying all of your recipes this week! Made for team Tasty Testers for The Caribbean Islands round during ZWT9. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This is great, thanks for the recipe! I used serranos, and on the advice of other reviewers I added a can of mild green chilies and a little crushed red pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This was a really nice vegetarian dish! I made it as directed, except didn't saute the veggies first... just threw it all in the crockpot and turned it on. My jalapeno must have been very mild bkz there was not a hint of spicyness to it at all. Next time I'll use to peppers or throw in some cayenne or crushed red peppers flakes. Thanks for posting... my whole family enjoyed it and it was a perfect way to use leftover rice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This is fantastic!!! I added a 1/2 cup of medium salsa to the beans while cooking and an additional mango right before serving. My girls absolutely loved it! Next time I make this I want to have it with some cheese quesadillas on the side. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!! Made for veg*n tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Another EXCELLENT FLAVORFUL HEALTHY VEGAN recipe from Dreamer! I'm loving your recipes! I used a white onion, canned minced jalapenos, brown sugar Splenda, and frozen defrosted mangos. I added some red pepper flakes. This was a bit spicy but the flavor comes through. The spice mix was new for us...I think it might be Caribbean? It was a whole meal for us full of fiber and protein. Made for the Please Review game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I had saved this recipe from the last Zaar World Tour and finally made it. I very much enjoyed all the nice flavors. Thanks Dreamer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Wow! This was really enjoyed for dinner tonight. Loved that we could prep everything, then throw it in the slow cooker and go about our day, leaving only the mangos and rice to prepare later. We used an entire bell pepper. We probably added the allspice about 4 hours into cooking since we had to go get some. After 6 hours, the consistency was starting to get mushy, so we set the crockpot to warm, versus low until we were ready to serve. We would not cook more than 6 hours. This had great flavor. Loved the mango. Addition of red pepper flakes for a little extra kick might also be nice. We all agreed we'd have this again. Thanks! Made for ZWT9,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      This was really good! I made everything on the stovetop and it worked very well. I thought two mangos would be too much so i used one but of course I was wrong, the mangos really make it special. I will definitely make this dish again, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This has become one of my semi-regular dishes, especially good for guests and potlucks. I use vegetable broth instead of oil (I freeze leftover broth in ice cube trays and use 1 or 2 instead of oil for sauteing veggies). I use a whole red bell pepper (why not?), 2 jalapenos since they're breeding them to be milder these days (look for ones with white line scarring if you want the hotter ones), double the cumin, allspice, oregano, and black pepper. I also do not use the optional mild green chiles or crushed red pepper. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I cooked this on the stovetop for about 20 minutes over low heat instead of in the slow cooker. I was hoping for a strong mango flavor with each bite but the spice mix really overpowered the mango. I love mango, so I'd prefer not to waste one on a recipe that doesn't feature it front and center. Might keep this recipe around to try with leftover pineapple though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This is such a great weeknight dinner! My boyfriend and I LOVE the seasonings that make this otherwise cheap and simple dish so amazing! We've been enjoying leftovers for lunch, and I also wrapped some up in tortillas and put them in the freezer for future lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      My husband and son raved about this. I followed other reviewers and dumped the veggies in the cooker first to saute then added the beans and spices. then right before serving added the rice and mangoes. I didn't have red pepper but I think I would have improved the flavor. I also didn't think there was enough spice even though I put 2 jalapenos. I'll make this again but probably tinker with the spices some. Great for a busy week night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was great- I used red kidney beans and brown rice. I omitted the red pepper, as I didn't have any and I made it stove top (no time for slow cooking). It took maybe 25-30m using the quick cooking rice. We will certainly make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe! I had only one issue...MANGOES-EW! lol I used peaches in placed thereof. Everything else was by the book. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This recipe was genius! I love how it incorporates several food groups. I will be quite honest with you: I completely forgot that I was suppose to be cooking this for dinner. It was not until 3:30 that I realized I had forgotten! Well, I had no way out... the mangos were about to go wayward, so I pressed on. Like a previous review suggested I simply threw everything except the rice and mangos into the crock pot, completely eliminating steps 1-3; and to top it off I took a leap of faith and cooked it on high for 2 hours. Eureka, it turned out fabulous! Next time I think I will add some leftover shredded chicken and top it with some cheese, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I have eaten a lot of horrible things in my life, but this takes the cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      It is really hot and steamy here in London tonight and I didn't want to run my oven. So, I found this recipe and threw it in the slow cooker first thing and it was done by meal time. We both enjoyed the taste. I was expecting my hubby to pick out the mango but he didn't which has to be another plus. This could be adapted a lot too. I served my hubby quorn sausages with his serving and I could see chopping some in and throwing it in the general mix. Maybe a can of chopped tomatoes too? I served mine with sauteed plantains. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Black Beans and Rice With Mangoes (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.1
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    10%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 305.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.7 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 20.0 g
    80%
    Sugars 25.5 g
    102%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites