9 Reviews

We love this recipe! My 12 yo stepson asks for it every week! We like to eat this over jasmine rice. It's a nice, hearty, meal! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saracho May 25, 2010

YUM! I didn't have any potatoes in the house, so I used some hash browns from the freezer. I also added (my favorite spice) cilantro. The I threw it all in the crock pot for the day! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss_Elaine March 04, 2010

Thanks for the delicious recipe! I made this for my non-vegetarian family and they loved it. (Usually they resist my vegetarian tendencies!) Even my two year olds gobbled it up. Like other reviewers, I increased the portion and made a couple small changes: celery (in lieu of just leaves) and beans. I topped it with a little light sour cream and served over rice. It was so easy. filling and yummy. I'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne Cooks November 29, 2009

This is a great recipe! It was cold and rainy, and we needed a quick soup recipe. I had all the ingredients except the celery leaves, so I left those out. I doubled the recipe so we could have leftovers. Thank you for this quick and healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noob.in.the.kitchen November 17, 2009

DH and I loved this. I made it exactly as stated. I can't think of anything that would make this a better stew. It was perfect for a Fall evening. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyepsen November 16, 2008

pretty good. next time i'll have to try it with some cumin and flax seed. DH didn't like it, but he hates lentils (darn, i love them). i used the quick tofu and cashew sour cream that i got off recipezaar with this and it made it! thanks for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenessa October 23, 2008

I don't know how I missed reviewing this recipe - it's one that has become a favorite at our house. My search for a Southwest Lentil Soup had me find this recipe for your stew - many a pot has been enjoyed. We like the carrots shredded too. Use the one cup of chopped onions and love the combination of spices, often using more chili powder. The tomato juice gives this flavor - I have made it using V8 juice as well. Have added corn, beans and extra juice - makes for a delicious soup! All in all a well used recipe that rates a high five at our house! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry March 03, 2008

This is pretty darn good! I made it exactly as written but I also added a can of tomato soup and another can of water, a can of cannelini beans and some frozen corn. Easy, cheap and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender August 18, 2007

This was great and very filling. It was so easy to make and can easily be adapted to different flavors by changing the seasoning. I didn't have carrots so I used a bag of frozen veggies I had and doubled the recipe so we have leftovers for lunch. Everyone loved it and it will definitely be made again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bloomsday616 January 30, 2007
Southwest Potato Lentil Stew