Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Southwest Potato Lentil Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Potato Lentil Stew

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2010

      We love this recipe! My 12 yo stepson asks for it every week! We like to eat this over jasmine rice. It's a nice, hearty, meal! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      YUM! I didn't have any potatoes in the house, so I used some hash browns from the freezer. I also added (my favorite spice) cilantro. The I threw it all in the crock pot for the day! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Thanks for the delicious recipe! I made this for my non-vegetarian family and they loved it. (Usually they resist my vegetarian tendencies!) Even my two year olds gobbled it up. Like other reviewers, I increased the portion and made a couple small changes: celery (in lieu of just leaves) and beans. I topped it with a little light sour cream and served over rice. It was so easy. filling and yummy. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This is a great recipe! It was cold and rainy, and we needed a quick soup recipe. I had all the ingredients except the celery leaves, so I left those out. I doubled the recipe so we could have leftovers. Thank you for this quick and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      DH and I loved this. I made it exactly as stated. I can't think of anything that would make this a better stew. It was perfect for a Fall evening. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      pretty good. next time i'll have to try it with some cumin and flax seed. DH didn't like it, but he hates lentils (darn, i love them). i used the quick tofu and cashew sour cream that i got off recipezaar with this and it made it! thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I don't know how I missed reviewing this recipe - it's one that has become a favorite at our house. My search for a Southwest Lentil Soup had me find this recipe for your stew - many a pot has been enjoyed. We like the carrots shredded too. Use the one cup of chopped onions and love the combination of spices, often using more chili powder. The tomato juice gives this flavor - I have made it using V8 juice as well. Have added corn, beans and extra juice - makes for a delicious soup! All in all a well used recipe that rates a high five at our house! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This is pretty darn good! I made it exactly as written but I also added a can of tomato soup and another can of water, a can of cannelini beans and some frozen corn. Easy, cheap and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was great and very filling. It was so easy to make and can easily be adapted to different flavors by changing the seasoning. I didn't have carrots so I used a bag of frozen veggies I had and doubled the recipe so we have leftovers for lunch. Everyone loved it and it will definitely be made again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Potato Lentil Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    20%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 385.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes