Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Sore-and-strep-throat-away Gargle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sore-and-strep-throat-away Gargle

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      I've been doing this for years. I'm glad you posted it! It really helps! Sometimes, If I have a lot of mucus in my throat, I gargle the vinegar straight, swallow a bit, and wait a few minutes. Then, drink some water. That's just for the stubborn stuff though. Everyone should know about this.
      It can knock out heartburn too if you drink the vinegar with water and honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Had plans for the next day but my throat hurt so bad, I knew I'd have to cancel plans and see a doctor instead if my throat didn't improve. I had tried gargling with salt water earlier, but that didn't do a thing. As a last resort, I started this gargle in the early evening and used it about every 1/2 hour til bedtime. The following day I felt great with just a very slight sore throat. I will definitely keep this recipe and use it at the first sign of sore throat from now on. Thank you so much DeSouter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I joined this site just to give this five stars. Six hours ago, I was in agony. Swallowing was a painful chore. I've just a lump in my throat, and will continue treatment until that is gone. I can't thank the recipe poster enough for sharing, and thank the reviewers for giving it such accolades, prompting me to try it. Miracle cure, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      CAUTION: Works great! I have used this for years.... but after you gargle be sure to rinse out your mouth getting the vinegar off your teeth. Vinegar is has a natural acid in it that can bother the enamel on your teeth. When I rinse I spit out leaving the vinegar in my throat so it can work but rinsing the rest of my mouth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This is the solution! I recently got strep throat as an adult and have not had it since I was a teeanger. I too joined this site to give this remedy a review. I found this on the web last night and started later in the evening gargling and drinking the mixture. This morning I feel awesome! I not only feel like I can eat and drink normally again but I have a lot of energy! I prefer natural and holistic methods to healing. Tomorrow I am cancelling my doctor's appointment and am glad I am back to my energetic self. Feeling renewed! Wish I could give this 10 stars! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful remedy with us. While it didnt cure my infection it certainly made me feel better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I had the mother of all bad colds. And, to make it worse I had to work through it all. Initially I had to use use regular grocery store apple cider vinegar because I didn't have the "mother" kind at hand. My throat was so bad I was sure I would need to get an antibiotic. I'm not kidding when I say about 10 minutes after the first time using this I felt much better. It felt like it was taking the infection and inflamation away. I've been healed faster than I've ever been before without taking an antibiotic. Since then I've gotten the version with the "mother" in it and have been taking that. Many many thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      6 oz = 3/4 cup. Make sure you use the good stuff (with the mother in it) from a health food store. This is such a good remedy! DH and I were getting bad sore throats so we tried this rather than gargling salt and water (which you don't swallow). The next morning I felt a lot better! I did take it at least once an hour. I dont think there is anything like it! Go natural for sure, use this!! I don't find it tastes really bad like some. Thanks a lot. I will definitely turn to this if I need to again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I wasn't sure about this. It sounds too simple--just vinegar & water to fix a sore throat??!! Yet, I was thrilled to find how well this really works! It's VERY important to use real apple cider vinegar with the mother in it. I use Bragg's vinegar. I've used this multiple times & it works GREAT!! What a great, CHEAP remedy for a sore throat! Thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I'm submitting this rating on behalf of my husband. He's the one that had the sore throat. His first use , literally , changed the sound of his voice from froggy , to not half bad LOL He had a scratchy/sore throat one day , used this method , and his throat was great the next day!! This is a FABULOUS remedy , much better than having to buy OTC meds that don't always work and are so expensive! Thanks so much for posting this great relief!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      I have a feeling the other reviewers are severely over-exaggerating their symptoms. If you have a minor sore throat, sure, use this. If you have an actual infection or strep throat, GO TO A DOCTOR. There's a reason they don't prescribe apple cider vinegar, and it's not "big pharma" - it's because actual antibiotics work FAR more effectively, FAR quicker. Can't afford them? Go to a Costco pharmacy, even for non-members it's DIRT cheap.<br/><br/>I gargled with Bragg's Raw Apple Cider Vinegar "With The Mother" every 1/2 hour for over 4 days. It did a lot to help the first day or so, but it couldn't finish the job. I'm going on a week of painful swallowing and general malaise. I started taking Amoxicillin two days ago and my sore throat is GONE.<br/><br/>Homeopathy is great for prevention, and minor sore throats, but there's a reason Western medicine has eradicated diseases and extended our lifespans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      Wow I can't say enough good things. At first I didn't read it thoroughly and I gargled for two days with Heinz apple cider vinegar, which did absolutely nothing. When I finally read it through and saw that I needed the 'real stuff' I hit a health food store, and from the first time I gargled my throat was soothed and that tickly urge to cough went away. Now less than 24 hours later there's no trace of the sore throat that had been plaguing me for over a week and was getting worse rather than better. I'm pregnant and didn't want to have to resort to meds, so thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I have acheived the same results over the past few years by gargling with straight lemon juice. Only problem is you MUST start gargling 3-4 times a day the moment you get a sore throat. Wait a day or two, and it will be too late for the lemon to do the trick. May have to move on to this! :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Ok - Im a believer!!! And like those who came before me, I joined this sight JUST so I could write a review about this recipe. After 2 days of cold meds, Chloraseptic spray, throat lozenges and LOTS of pain, I was planning a trip to the doc. And then... I found this recipe. It works. In 30 minutes and gargling/swallowing 3 times the results were night and day. Amazing. That sums it up. Freaking amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Oh man, this is serious pucker time. This recipe has been a lifesaver for me this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      It really works!! I add some sweetener. It makes it much more tolerable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      NOTE: Definitely use organic apple cider vinegar WITH THE MOTHER. Bragg's is my choice. Works very well. I used it every 30 minutes as opposed to 1 hour and my throat felt much better after only a few hours. Add a few drops of echinacea tincture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      A neighbour told me to gargle with vinegar, its been a week and long line ups in the doctors office and I just couldnt take it any more. Let me tell you I poured straight brown vinegar into a mug thru it back and gargled ..it burned and needless to say it didnt stay.. need I say more, but voila the sore throat was almost all gone! I'm going to continue this until its gone. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      UNBELIEVABLE!! XD!! I love food remedies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Thank you so much! On my first try it wasn't much but I was able to speak better on my second try I can feel the effects, this definitely works ; once again thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sore-and-strep-throat-away Gargle

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites