14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are SO GOOD. I've been craving a good black bean burger for while now and decided to try making my own. They turned out delicious. I added adobo spice mix and a bit of fresh cilantro, then I topped them with ketchup, jack and cheddar cheese, tomato, onion, and sliced avocado on a french hamburger roll and I DIED. These rival my favorite restaurant's black bean burgers. I keep them separated into patties by wax paper in tupperware in the fridge and fry them up when I'm ready to eat. They'll go in the freezer for later once I tire of eating them for every meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggieprill November 17, 2009

We loved these black bean burgers! They hold together great, are inexpensive and very yummy! Preparation time made an easy meal for our family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila.blair July 15, 2008

Used only salsa (no green chili sauce on hand) and made 6 smaller patties. Did take me a bit longer than the estimated 20 minutes to make! Otherwise, a great recipe and will make again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgilbert November 05, 2011

These were fantastic! I added a bit more cumin after giving it an initial taste, and served them on whole wheat Slimwiches buns with pepper jack cheese as suggested, as well as with lettuce, miracle whip, and banana peppers. Filling and delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Megangoesnomnom April 16, 2010

I am in LOVE with this recipe! It is so quick and easy to prepare, and it tastes awesome. I nixed the onion since I don't like onions and added jalapenos to add some more spice. UPDATE: I have been making these without the green chili sauce. I added water, extra salsa, cayenne and jalapeno or serrano peppers. These are pretty spicy, but always hit the spot. I have been cooking an extra one for dinner and packaging it for work. tastes great reheated in the microwave! Thanks again for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noob.in.the.kitchen March 22, 2010

I really liked the spice of these, with the green chili sause, but I would have liked way more beans. When I have black bean burgers, I'd like them to be more like 60/40 rather than 50/50. Maybe next time I'd try two cans of beans. They had good flavor, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachel3650 December 12, 2008

YUM!! I've been looking for a good Black Bean Burger for a minute, this one is by far the best I have come across. My husband and 2 yr old son absolutely loved them. Very quick and easy, I also love how cheap this meal is to make. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deadheadie June 19, 2008

This is a new family favorite for us! We eat the patties on whole grain bread with vegan mayonnaise, avocado, salsa, tomatoes, and alfalfa sprouts. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pavut April 05, 2008

Very good! I didn't have the green chili sauce so I just added a little extra salsa. Great flavor, easy and frugal....thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos January 24, 2008

I just realized I posted the wrong review for these the first time! These were good, and very easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Lady December 10, 2007
" Slightly Spicy" Black Bean Burgers