Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / " Slightly Spicy" Black Bean Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " Slightly Spicy" Black Bean Burgers

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2009

      These are SO GOOD. I've been craving a good black bean burger for while now and decided to try making my own. They turned out delicious. I added adobo spice mix and a bit of fresh cilantro, then I topped them with ketchup, jack and cheddar cheese, tomato, onion, and sliced avocado on a french hamburger roll and I DIED. These rival my favorite restaurant's black bean burgers. I keep them separated into patties by wax paper in tupperware in the fridge and fry them up when I'm ready to eat. They'll go in the freezer for later once I tire of eating them for every meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      We loved these black bean burgers! They hold together great, are inexpensive and very yummy! Preparation time made an easy meal for our family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Used only salsa (no green chili sauce on hand) and made 6 smaller patties. Did take me a bit longer than the estimated 20 minutes to make! Otherwise, a great recipe and will make again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      These were fantastic! I added a bit more cumin after giving it an initial taste, and served them on whole wheat Slimwiches buns with pepper jack cheese as suggested, as well as with lettuce, miracle whip, and banana peppers. Filling and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I am in LOVE with this recipe! It is so quick and easy to prepare, and it tastes awesome. I nixed the onion since I don't like onions and added jalapenos to add some more spice. UPDATE: I have been making these without the green chili sauce. I added water, extra salsa, cayenne and jalapeno or serrano peppers. These are pretty spicy, but always hit the spot. I have been cooking an extra one for dinner and packaging it for work. tastes great reheated in the microwave! Thanks again for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I really liked the spice of these, with the green chili sause, but I would have liked way more beans. When I have black bean burgers, I'd like them to be more like 60/40 rather than 50/50. Maybe next time I'd try two cans of beans. They had good flavor, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      YUM!! I've been looking for a good Black Bean Burger for a minute, this one is by far the best I have come across. My husband and 2 yr old son absolutely loved them. Very quick and easy, I also love how cheap this meal is to make. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This is a new family favorite for us! We eat the patties on whole grain bread with vegan mayonnaise, avocado, salsa, tomatoes, and alfalfa sprouts. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very good! I didn't have the green chili sauce so I just added a little extra salsa. Great flavor, easy and frugal....thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I just realized I posted the wrong review for these the first time! These were good, and very easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Fantastic!! I didn't have the chili sauce, so I just left it out. I added a little green tabasco (for moisture and taste) instead. And I added a little wheat germ (good idea Stephie!). We ate them with pita, avacado and mayo. We will making these again soon, I am sure!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      Not quite as good as the real thing, but definitely worth making if you are looking to eat a little healthier. These would be excellent for a Weight Watchers diet. I made my burgers without the corn and topped them with american cheese and light mayo. They are very filling. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      We really liked these! Much better recipe than the other black bean burgers we have tried. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Not a vegetarian, just like to change things up and bit and eat healthy. LOVED these burgers...very different. I did have to make a few changes due to availability of what was on hand... Garlic powder used instead of minced, canned corn instead of frozen (added during the cooling step), no chili sauce so I used Recipezaar's substitution recipe (which was perfect) and accidentally opened a can of green chilis, so I used that instead of salsa and added some wheat germ for nutrition. Ate as a pattie dipped in ketchup and mustard mixed and plan on eating left overs as "actual" burgers. Highly recommend trying this recipe if in the mood for something different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " Slightly Spicy" Black Bean Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.3
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    14%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 178.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites