9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this with American Cameo apples, no sugar and no cinnamon. I actually just wanted to have some unsweetened applesauce on hand to substitute for oil in baking. So, I whipped some of this up and used it in No Fat Brownies. Because I didn't want any chunks, I pureed in the blender. It made a little over 1 1/2 cups. I think I will use some of it for Low-fat Banana Bars next. Thanks for an easy method to make a healthy substitute for baking. This is actually also a prefect way to make applesauce for babies, just puree after cooking, and I would avoid the sugar for babies, but they would love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama April 30, 2007

My entire family enjoyed this applesauce! I used a variety of apples and it came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal June 30, 2009

Very easy and yummy recipe. My kids, especially, loved it and we served it warm-straight from the stove. The only thing different I did was to add ground cinnamon, since I was all out of the sticks. Thanks for a nice side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lindsay April 26, 2009

This is wonderful applesauce--so much better (and fresher) than anything that's available in a jar!! I used organic Granny Smith apples, 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar, and a tiny dash of ground cinnamon (my cinnamon sticks were not very fresh, and didn't give the sauce much cinnamon flavor). The results were perfect! I can hardly believe that applesauce this good is so easy to make! My only change next time will be to double the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this Vino Girl!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal April 10, 2009

This was very good. Hubby said it reminded him of his babysitter's applesauce (45 years ago), making it just like this. Well, you know I gotta put it in the keeper file because of this alone. I also liked the fact it was so easy and the apples weren't all mushy (like the applesauce you buy in the jars). Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 04, 2009

Thank you for this fabulous recipe! Yes, I said "fabulous". It's simple and yet you really get a good apple flavor. We love applesauce, but even before I was actively trying to eat better, we started buying the low/no-sugar commercially made versions because we felt the sugar covered up the flavor of the apples. I have a ton of fresh apples so I thought now was the time to try to make my own. This was probably the simple version I found, but I won't look any further. My only change was using fructose in place of the sugar. I bet brown sugar would be wonderful though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Fried Texan July 04, 2006

I did the same as the other two reviewers, used brown sugar and I did double the recipe. Everything turned out perfect, best applesauce I've ever had. :D And dare I say it... Even better than mom's! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megohm March 05, 2006

Wonderful applesauce! Quick and easy. I, like the previous reviewer used brown sugar and I did double the recipe. The whole family is enjoying this. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyLRichey January 03, 2006

Perfect applesauce! Love how there is only a hint of cinnamon because of using the stick rather than ground. I used 2 granny smith apples and about 2 1/2 Tbls. of brown sugar. It turned out beautifully! Next time I'll make sure to at least double the recipe. Thanks so much for such a simple, yet tasty alternative to jar applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) December 29, 2005
Simple Homemade Applesauce