Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Simple Homemade Applesauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Homemade Applesauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2007

      I made this with American Cameo apples, no sugar and no cinnamon. I actually just wanted to have some unsweetened applesauce on hand to substitute for oil in baking. So, I whipped some of this up and used it in No Fat Brownies. Because I didn't want any chunks, I pureed in the blender. It made a little over 1 1/2 cups. I think I will use some of it for Low-fat Banana Bars next. Thanks for an easy method to make a healthy substitute for baking. This is actually also a prefect way to make applesauce for babies, just puree after cooking, and I would avoid the sugar for babies, but they would love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      My entire family enjoyed this applesauce! I used a variety of apples and it came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Very easy and yummy recipe. My kids, especially, loved it and we served it warm-straight from the stove. The only thing different I did was to add ground cinnamon, since I was all out of the sticks. Thanks for a nice side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is wonderful applesauce--so much better (and fresher) than anything that's available in a jar!! I used organic Granny Smith apples, 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar, and a tiny dash of ground cinnamon (my cinnamon sticks were not very fresh, and didn't give the sauce much cinnamon flavor). The results were perfect! I can hardly believe that applesauce this good is so easy to make! My only change next time will be to double the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this Vino Girl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was very good. Hubby said it reminded him of his babysitter's applesauce (45 years ago), making it just like this. Well, you know I gotta put it in the keeper file because of this alone. I also liked the fact it was so easy and the apples weren't all mushy (like the applesauce you buy in the jars). Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Thank you for this fabulous recipe! Yes, I said "fabulous". It's simple and yet you really get a good apple flavor. We love applesauce, but even before I was actively trying to eat better, we started buying the low/no-sugar commercially made versions because we felt the sugar covered up the flavor of the apples. I have a ton of fresh apples so I thought now was the time to try to make my own. This was probably the simple version I found, but I won't look any further. My only change was using fructose in place of the sugar. I bet brown sugar would be wonderful though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      I did the same as the other two reviewers, used brown sugar and I did double the recipe. Everything turned out perfect, best applesauce I've ever had. :D And dare I say it... Even better than mom's! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Wonderful applesauce! Quick and easy. I, like the previous reviewer used brown sugar and I did double the recipe. The whole family is enjoying this. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Perfect applesauce! Love how there is only a hint of cinnamon because of using the stick rather than ground. I used 2 granny smith apples and about 2 1/2 Tbls. of brown sugar. It turned out beautifully! Next time I'll make sure to at least double the recipe. Thanks so much for such a simple, yet tasty alternative to jar applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Homemade Applesauce

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    37%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 23.0 g
    92%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes