Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2003

      This sauce is great, though I had to add a few extra spices for me (I like LOTS of flavor) It's nice and thick and chunky, and feels good to know I'm getting a bit more protein, from the lentils. I added some grated carrot and a little crushed red pepper and Italian seasoning. Great on pasta with your Nutritional Yeast 'Parmesan'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      Excellent! I made a half recipe and served over whole wheat spaghetti -- enjoyed it very much. Made a few changes... I sauteed the veggies in vegetable stock instead of oil. I took a few hints from yogi and added grated carrot, chopped green pepper, oregano, basil, parsley, crushed red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. I used red lentils and they were well-cooked and mushy way before 45 minutes. A delicious, hearty, healthy pasta sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      I found this was good but needed a bit more, so I added celery,carrot and also a bit of mixed dried italian herbs and sweet paprika powder. Also I used green french lentils which took a lot longer to cook but they are firmer and hold theitr shape well. I have also tried this sauce with sausage thrown in and it was really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really bland. I froze the leftovers and added basil, oregano, garlic powder, and more salt and pepper when I wanted to use it again and it tasted much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      We love this! I subbed eggplant for the mushrooms and added some oregano and basil. Used penne and lots of parmesan and this will go into regular rotation. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Spectacular! I've never made homemade pasta sauce before and I'm really glad I tried this one first. It was very hearty, from the lentils. And the mushrooms provided a nice "meaty" texture. I added oregano and basil, and next time I'll probably add carrots. I served it over angel hair pasta and it was might good! Thanks for my new favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This recipe was awesome. The kids loved it. May be our new staple pasta sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      We really liked the lentils in this recipe. We added Italian seasoning, grated carrots, squash and left out the last 1/2 cup of water as well. We had enough to freeze to enjoy this a couple more times. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Very good basic sauce. I like it that it is thick and chunky. Used the vegetables stated but next time I'll experiment with more veggies. Used just one teaspoon sugar and did not need the last 1/2 cup water. Since I thought it needed a little more flavor I added 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper and 1/2 teaspoon oregano, all at the end of cooking. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      To both my husband and myself this was lacking in flavor for a pasta sauce. Next time I would just add the lentils in place of meat to my family's own recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I loved this sauce, but found it worked better over rice than pasta. It's so hearty that I was tempted to just eat it on its own as a sort of soup! This sauce has lots of good-for-you things in it, and is so good for the taste buds too. Almost a perfect food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      In Freakin credible! I added dried rosemary, a little more sugar, and a little more lentils for a thicker consistancy. Great vegetarian dish. Thank you Missy Wombat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      terrific sauce! omitted the zucchini,and added 3 fresh basil leaves, but followed it otherwise. let it simmer on the lowest setting for about6 hours. what a great and different taste! the sauce is quite chunky so it could go with just about any pasta. i will definitly make this sauce again and add the zucchini and even more mushrooms. thanks for the delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Excellent sauce. I combined 50/50 brown and orange lentils. It gives you a rich, thick sauce. I'll definitely try other vegetable combinations. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.6
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    10%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 477.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes