15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh man. I apparently was the only one so far to use flour - maybe this was why it tasted absolutely horrible. Now, granted, I have never had nutritional yeast before, but this sauce tastes absolutely NOTHING like cheese or Kraft Dinner sauce. I followed the recipe to the letter. If anyone has any idea as to what I could have done wrong, let me know and I would love to try again. But as is, it was inedible and too salty to even stand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellie September 19, 2003

Much better than any other nutritional yeast-based cheese recipe I've ever tried! Modifications: used whole wheat flour, left out lemon juice (didn't have any), and lowered the salt to 0.5-1tsp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen September 07, 2008

This is beyond 5 stars!!! My Vegan daughter was home from college we thought we would give it a try. Everyone loved it!!!!! We did use 1 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup oil No onion power... when we cooked the carrots we added green onion to the water and cooked them together. Next time we will use the carrot/onion water with 1 1/2 cups. We also placed in the oven for about 15 mins. to get a crispy top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quilterstouch December 18, 2007

Oh my...where do I begin? Simple to make, lovely to look at and, yup, it tastes super-cheesy! I had already vowed not to spend big bucks on store-bought vegan cheese. This recipe seals the deal. I followed the recipe exactly (using corn starch) except I strained the mixture before I heated it. Smoooooth. Next time I'll use 1.5 cups water and 1/2 cup oil cuz I think cheese oughtta be fattening. I may cut the salt in half as well. Thank you for sharing this! God bless! ***UPDATE! I tried this with oil as mentioned above and with 1/3 cup flour plus 1/2 t hot sauce. It is even better than with the cornstarch, fuller and creamier. Yum!***

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hiyaiya May 18, 2007

Great recipe! I also used cornstarch since that's what others have used and it turned out really good. I put it over a baked potato but can't wait to try it over pasta and broccoli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Zimmerman March 04, 2007

This sauce is a lot better than it sounds. It looks like a real cheese sauce. As for the taste, you wouldn't mistake it for the real thing but it's still good. I could get used to it. I used cornstarch instead of flour, too. Served over cauliflower the first time. I refrigerated the leftovers, and found it was quite possible to reheat in a saucepan with a bit of extra water added. I next tried it with whole wheat macaroni for a healthy vegan mac and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner September 09, 2003

You are so right, this sauce really is (shockingly)good! Looks just like Kraft with the carrots giving it a nice orangy color. I used the cornstarch instead of flour too. Had it with pasta, which was fantastic, but I can't wait to try it on broccoli and other veggies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi May 20, 2003

This really didn't taste like cheese to me. Maybe it was because I didn't have any onion powder so I didn't add any, but I kind of doubt onion is really a big flavor in cheese. This really just tasted like salty carrots to me. I still gave it two stars because it could still be a decent dipping sauce, but definitely not one advertised as cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 February 06, 2010

We seem to be the odd one out as we thought this was just okay, kind of bland, actually. I followed the recipe exactly, using cornstarch as the poster commented. I generally really enjoy nutritional yeast "cheese" but this was lacking. I would recommend using less lemon juice (if using a fresh lemon) and increasing the nutritional yeast to 1/2 cup. Thanks for posting, but this recipe was not for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie January 27, 2010

To be honest, I was skeptical. I've tried soooo many vegan "cheeses" and nothing has satisfied. Until now! This was fantastic, and this will definitely be my go-to recipe from now on. Also just wanted to mention that I believe this recipe comes from Jo Stepaniak's book 'The UnCheese Cookbook.'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeTara January 17, 2010
Shockingly Good Vegan Cheese Sauce