Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Shockingly Good Vegan Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shockingly Good Vegan Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2003

      Oh man. I apparently was the only one so far to use flour - maybe this was why it tasted absolutely horrible. Now, granted, I have never had nutritional yeast before, but this sauce tastes absolutely NOTHING like cheese or Kraft Dinner sauce. I followed the recipe to the letter. If anyone has any idea as to what I could have done wrong, let me know and I would love to try again. But as is, it was inedible and too salty to even stand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Much better than any other nutritional yeast-based cheese recipe I've ever tried! Modifications: used whole wheat flour, left out lemon juice (didn't have any), and lowered the salt to 0.5-1tsp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This is beyond 5 stars!!! My Vegan daughter was home from college we thought we would give it a try. Everyone loved it!!!!! We did use 1 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup oil No onion power... when we cooked the carrots we added green onion to the water and cooked them together. Next time we will use the carrot/onion water with 1 1/2 cups. We also placed in the oven for about 15 mins. to get a crispy top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Oh my...where do I begin? Simple to make, lovely to look at and, yup, it tastes super-cheesy! I had already vowed not to spend big bucks on store-bought vegan cheese. This recipe seals the deal. I followed the recipe exactly (using corn starch) except I strained the mixture before I heated it. Smoooooth. Next time I'll use 1.5 cups water and 1/2 cup oil cuz I think cheese oughtta be fattening. I may cut the salt in half as well. Thank you for sharing this! God bless! ***UPDATE! I tried this with oil as mentioned above and with 1/3 cup flour plus 1/2 t hot sauce. It is even better than with the cornstarch, fuller and creamier. Yum!***

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Great recipe! I also used cornstarch since that's what others have used and it turned out really good. I put it over a baked potato but can't wait to try it over pasta and broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      This sauce is a lot better than it sounds. It looks like a real cheese sauce. As for the taste, you wouldn't mistake it for the real thing but it's still good. I could get used to it. I used cornstarch instead of flour, too. Served over cauliflower the first time. I refrigerated the leftovers, and found it was quite possible to reheat in a saucepan with a bit of extra water added. I next tried it with whole wheat macaroni for a healthy vegan mac and cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      You are so right, this sauce really is (shockingly)good! Looks just like Kraft with the carrots giving it a nice orangy color. I used the cornstarch instead of flour too. Had it with pasta, which was fantastic, but I can't wait to try it on broccoli and other veggies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This really didn't taste like cheese to me. Maybe it was because I didn't have any onion powder so I didn't add any, but I kind of doubt onion is really a big flavor in cheese. This really just tasted like salty carrots to me. I still gave it two stars because it could still be a decent dipping sauce, but definitely not one advertised as cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      We seem to be the odd one out as we thought this was just okay, kind of bland, actually. I followed the recipe exactly, using cornstarch as the poster commented. I generally really enjoy nutritional yeast "cheese" but this was lacking. I would recommend using less lemon juice (if using a fresh lemon) and increasing the nutritional yeast to 1/2 cup. Thanks for posting, but this recipe was not for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      To be honest, I was skeptical. I've tried soooo many vegan "cheeses" and nothing has satisfied. Until now! This was fantastic, and this will definitely be my go-to recipe from now on. Also just wanted to mention that I believe this recipe comes from Jo Stepaniak's book 'The UnCheese Cookbook.'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

    • on September 28, 2008

      This was good.. but not amazing. But that may be my fault. I used vegetable broth because I thought it would add flavor but then I didn't cut the salt back--- which I should have! It was too salty for me. I used cornstarch, but didn't quite know what half of the 1/3 cup was, as suggested as a replacement for the flour. It was a little runny (although it did thicken up after sitting in the pan a while). I also didn't use the lemon juice because I was out. All in all, I liked it (very good on a baked potato with broccoli and my 2 year old liked it too!) but I will try again with reduced salt and maybe see if the flour works better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I had minced onions instead and corn starch instead of white flours. I added potatoes with pasta and it tasted amazing with seasoning salt. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      it definitely wasn't what i was expecting as when i was blending it, it seem inedible but after cooking it's a great substitute! i poured them into brocolli. great brocollie and vegan cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      I was surprised that this sauce was fairly good. I used it with whole wheat macaroni and it looked like the real thing. Not being a vegan, I guess I am used to and really like the taste of cheese. I eat mostly meatless though, and will use this recipe again but perhaps in a different way. The color from the carrots is very attractive so this sauce could also be used as the base for a very low-cal cheese sauce, adding just enough cheese to get the flavor, or sprinkling some grated cheese on top. I did add about a tsp. of granular veg. bouillion and some fresh parsley. Will continue to experiment with different spices. Thank you for a versatile idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shockingly Good Vegan Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    55%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 785.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites