Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Sesame Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2002

      This was definitely different, but I found the nutty flavour a bit overwhelming and the sauce a little runny. I poured it over the broccoli, but then drained most of it off because the broccoli was just swimming in it. This would be good with an Asian meal, maybe along egg fried rice and a main meat course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      I was looking for a broccoli recipe for dinner tonight, and I came across this one. I served it with cubed steak and roasted potatoes. I thought it was pretty good and added a little butter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      In the end, this broccoli didn't have the punch I was hoping for. Sorry Sue. Maybe it was just me. )-: If I made it again, I would make the sauce well in advance and let it sit for a while. Made for Hot & Steamy ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Nice dish with mild, interesting flavors. A real no hassle recipe. I doubled the sauce, didn't find there was too much of it, but still it was rather bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      This was a nice side for our Asian dinner. Very easy to make and the flavor was not overpowering. There was a bit of extra sauce but not too much. I used 2 tsp toasted sesame seeds and it was fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Good.This was an easy sauce to throw over broccoli and toss. The sesame flavor was a bit overpowering so next time I will use less sesame oil. It is very thin but I think that is purposeful in that you are tossing for a light coating. I made this as a stand alone dish without Asian accompaniments and I agree with Sackville, if I make it again I will make it with fried rice and some Asian inspired meat. Thanks for posting :( Enjoy. ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Great flavor, but the sauce was so thin that it just ran off the broccoli and gathered at the bottom of the bowl. When I make it again I'll try to add a little corn starch or something to help thicken the sauce so it will coat the broccoli better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This was made last evening using frozen broccoli and fresh orange juice. Possibly the use of frozen broccoli affected the taste. For us it was okay but not I was expecting. It seemed to be missing something in flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

    • on December 28, 2009

      We enjoy broccoli at our table, so I really appreciated the way this very tasty dish came together so quickly! Thanks for yet another great way to fix this wonderful veggie! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I microwaved the frozen broccoli, Then poured over the sauce. This Is done in less the 5 minutes. Quick, tasty and easy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      ZWT4: Made this for Family Picks - delicious! I love the different combination of flavors in this side dish! And the sesame seeds are outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      this was good... i liked the soy sauce, ginger and sesame... but the orange juice just didnt do it for me. i would make this again, but without OJ ... for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

    • on June 04, 2008

      We thought this was good, and would probably make it again, but I would use less sesame oil. That flavor was a bit overwhelming, and I was hoping to taste the ginger more. I used "squeeze" ginger, though -- the kind that's pre-ground and comes in a tube, like toothpaste -- so maybe that was the problem. (Now, there's a thought -- Ginger toothpaste!) Made for ZWT4. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This had a good flavor, however, I think there was just a little too much Sesame Oil. I tasted that more than the other ingredients. When I make this again, I will use less of it. It was good on the broccoli. Thanks for sharing your recipe Sue!! Made 4 ZWT 4 Asia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Very nice and light with a great combination of flavors. My picky 3yo son said, "Make this again, Mom." Thanks! Reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      A lovely side dish that I steamed in my elecric steamer......I thought that this had wonderful flavours, but there was just a little bit too much soy sauce for me - it was a little salty! It was VERY tasty however, and I WOULD make this again with less soy sauce - I LOVED the sesame seeds - lovely! Made for ZWT4 - thanks Sue! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      A very nice side dish with full flavours that complimented the spicy Indonesian Shrimp dish I served with it. Thanks for sharing this! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Tasty. Next time I will decrease the soy sauce in half to see what happens. Thickened up my sauce with a touch of cornstarch which worked beautifully. Made for ZWT 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.6
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    27%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites