11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out very well. I must admit that I'm one of those that uses a recipe as a general guideline so I didn't use the onion/garlic powder. Instead, I sautéed some chopped onion and minced garlic along with some other veggies I had on hand and diced (zucchini, broccoli, carrots). It came out wonderfully and I'm sure it would be wonderful as written as well. Texture was great and the flavors blended evenly throughout. This recipe is very easy to make. I served this along with several other brunch type items in a brunch themed dinner I made for several friends tonight. It was a hit. A versatile recipe that I recommend highly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDTerp Lambert September 17, 2003

We tried this ages ago without the nutritional yeast, and I hated it. We tried this again today, with the yeast, making 3 batches, decreasing the amount of the yeast each time. It seems to us that 1 tsp. with 4 oz. of tofu works best. Also, we left out the water; silken is moist enough. Next time, we'll do this with the veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover January 16, 2010

I didn't have silken tofu, so I used extra firm and drained it for about 30 minutes. I doubled the amount of onion and garlic powder and added some spike seasoning. I sauteed red and green bells, mushrooms along with green onions before adding the tofu to the skillet. I thought it was very good. A very nice substitute for eggs, for the vegans in the house. Oh ya, I added a dash of frank's hot sauce, which is good on so many things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carryberry February 24, 2008

I'm sorry, but this just wasn't good. I knew it wouldn't taste like eggs, thoes who said it does havn't eaten eggs in a long time, but I did expect alot more based on the reviews. This ended up in the trash as I couldn't get anyone to eat it. :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse December 28, 2007

really tasty. i didn't follow exact amounts. also i used water packed tofu and just squeezed it out as i crumbled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickels March 10, 2007

I love this recipe! I made it with the suggested onion and mushroom and served it with toast. Yummy, I think that it tastes better than eggs. I will definately make it again although mine was not as yellow as the picture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes November 11, 2006

This was delicious - far better than nauseating and mucous-y eggs! Very quick and simple to make. I added some fried mushrooms to it, but I think it would make a very good filling for a large, fried portobello mushroom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geminilady September 08, 2005

I love them! Thanks so much! Made to the recipe's instructions, used Mori-Nu silken firm tofu. Looks and tastes like eggs, even has the texture chicken embryos would while partially cooked. [Yes, that was a compliment.]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef1209314 August 21, 2005

I used a 12oz box of Mori-Nu soft tofu, so tripled the recipe. However, I found the soft tofu to be the wrong texture - it needs to be more a medium-firm texture, I think. I didn't add any water either; good thing. However, I was quite happy with the flavour. I don't use powdered garlic/onion, so I added a minced clove of garlic and a chopped green onion instead, which added a welcome note of colour. In future, I think I will add some other veggies such as mushrooms or zucchini as well. I will be making this again; it's a great quick lunch/brunch dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders March 06, 2005

I used a 12 oz box of tofu, so I was going to triple the recipe but I was worried about overpowering it with too much nutritional yeast. So I used 2 tablespoons, and that was good but I think next time I'll use only 1 1/2. It turned out kindof soft and mushy (even though I didn't add water), I used firm silken tofu and I think I should have cooked it longer than just a few minutes.. That said, I did like it quite a bit and will make it again and try tweaking it a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ariix January 18, 2005
Scrambled Tofu