Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Scrambled Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrambled Tofu

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2003

      This turned out very well. I must admit that I'm one of those that uses a recipe as a general guideline so I didn't use the onion/garlic powder. Instead, I sautéed some chopped onion and minced garlic along with some other veggies I had on hand and diced (zucchini, broccoli, carrots). It came out wonderfully and I'm sure it would be wonderful as written as well. Texture was great and the flavors blended evenly throughout. This recipe is very easy to make. I served this along with several other brunch type items in a brunch themed dinner I made for several friends tonight. It was a hit. A versatile recipe that I recommend highly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      We tried this ages ago without the nutritional yeast, and I hated it. We tried this again today, with the yeast, making 3 batches, decreasing the amount of the yeast each time. It seems to us that 1 tsp. with 4 oz. of tofu works best. Also, we left out the water; silken is moist enough. Next time, we'll do this with the veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I didn't have silken tofu, so I used extra firm and drained it for about 30 minutes. I doubled the amount of onion and garlic powder and added some spike seasoning. I sauteed red and green bells, mushrooms along with green onions before adding the tofu to the skillet. I thought it was very good. A very nice substitute for eggs, for the vegans in the house. Oh ya, I added a dash of frank's hot sauce, which is good on so many things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I'm sorry, but this just wasn't good. I knew it wouldn't taste like eggs, thoes who said it does havn't eaten eggs in a long time, but I did expect alot more based on the reviews. This ended up in the trash as I couldn't get anyone to eat it. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      really tasty. i didn't follow exact amounts. also i used water packed tofu and just squeezed it out as i crumbled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      I love this recipe! I made it with the suggested onion and mushroom and served it with toast. Yummy, I think that it tastes better than eggs. I will definately make it again although mine was not as yellow as the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      This was delicious - far better than nauseating and mucous-y eggs! Very quick and simple to make. I added some fried mushrooms to it, but I think it would make a very good filling for a large, fried portobello mushroom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      I love them! Thanks so much! Made to the recipe's instructions, used Mori-Nu silken firm tofu. Looks and tastes like eggs, even has the texture chicken embryos would while partially cooked. [Yes, that was a compliment.]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      I used a 12oz box of Mori-Nu soft tofu, so tripled the recipe. However, I found the soft tofu to be the wrong texture - it needs to be more a medium-firm texture, I think. I didn't add any water either; good thing. However, I was quite happy with the flavour. I don't use powdered garlic/onion, so I added a minced clove of garlic and a chopped green onion instead, which added a welcome note of colour. In future, I think I will add some other veggies such as mushrooms or zucchini as well. I will be making this again; it's a great quick lunch/brunch dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      I used a 12 oz box of tofu, so I was going to triple the recipe but I was worried about overpowering it with too much nutritional yeast. So I used 2 tablespoons, and that was good but I think next time I'll use only 1 1/2. It turned out kindof soft and mushy (even though I didn't add water), I used firm silken tofu and I think I should have cooked it longer than just a few minutes.. That said, I did like it quite a bit and will make it again and try tweaking it a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      This is a very nice fascimile of scrambled eggs in appearance and not half bad in flavor either! I was actually very surprised at how much it tastes like eggs. I overestimated the amount of tofu I would need for Vegan Seasoned faux "Sausage" Patties #33763, and had some crumbled tofu left over and decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to try this interesting recipe. I made the plain version, using no veggies, but I do think that veggies would greatly assentuate this and make it more complete of a meal. I found that this does benefit from a fair amount of salt and pepper, given the bland nature of tofu. I was really worried about this- I thought it wouldn't taste right, even up until I had my first bite, but I think that if BF walked in the door right now and had a bite, he wouldn't doubt for a moment that these are not scrambled eggs. The recipe does not say when to add the water, which I added with the soy mixture. I had to cook for a fairly long time over high heat to get enough of the water evaporated out of these to make them firm enough for my tastes. To be honest, I'm not sure that I don't like this more than scrambled eggs. Eggs, slightly overcooked, can get a very icky flavor that I am nota big fan of- if you cook this longer, it simply gets firmer and the flavor doesn't take a turn for the worse. I think that this would be really excellent served with Vegan Seasoned faux "Sausage" Patties #33763, some toast or vegan pancakes and some fresh fruit for an amazing vegan breakfast! Thanks for a terrific recipe, Cornelia- I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrambled Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    23%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 245.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites