Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Savory Organic Golden Beets With Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savory Organic Golden Beets With Greens

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2010

      Have had beets before and not been very impressed. I don't like pickled beets/beetroot. So when I'm given them, I really get flummoxed as to what to do with them. Voila!!!
      DH was duly impressed with these. Chose to use the lime on another reviewers ravings, and would deffo recommend it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      While standing in the vegetable aisle at Whole Foods I overheard a woman ask for some beet greens. Curious, I picked up some golden beets with greens and came home, searched, and found your recipe. I've done your recipe with both golden and red beets. Even did a taste test night and fixed one pan of each. I've decided that we like it both ways. Thanks for posting this recipe. I LOVE BEETS NOW!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. The hint of lime really makes this dish wonderful. My husband even agrees. This is a very healthy side dish that is low calorie and very filling! Beet greens also have a great deal of vitamin A so that's a plus. This is definitely a repeater.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Really FANTASTIC!!!! If you like beets, this is the best beet recipe that I have ever tried!!! I have never braised beets before, I always thought it would die my cutting board to chop them into cubes. To prevent this, I really beeswaxed/mineral oiled my wooden cutting board well to create a barrier. It worked great!! This is quick and this high heat makes for great carmelization of the beets!!! They get sweet and then you add in the salty tanginess of the beet tops and then the lime, this dish is really top notch!!!I used chicken broth instead of water and I chose the lime. I used 3 little golden beets and 1 red beet. The red beet died the golden ones red but they were a lighter red so it was a really pretty dish!! I will leave out the red beet next time to make them all golden yellow colored. I really loved this dish, thanks so much!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I had one bunch of red beets, and since I'm generally not a fan of beets, I've never cooked them and needed a quick, simple recipe to experiment with. This one fit the bill really nicely, and was enjoyed by all. The only reason it gets four stars is because we felt a little iffy about the lime. DH particularly wasn't thrilled about it, but he still ate them, so they can't have been terrible. ;) I'll keep working at it until I get it the way we like it. Best part about this recipe - the beets didn't taste even remotely dirty (this is my major issue with them - I peeled them, rinsed them well, and then made sure that the greens were really well rinsed too). Thank you for giving me such a great base recipe to work from! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Looks awesome! I have got some beets I found and I think I know what I am going to make out of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Great recipe! I have lots of beets in my garden, so I will be making this often this summer. Thanks for the delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Wow, it is a great accompaniment to any meal and was tasty, easy and - Yummmmmy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savory Organic Golden Beets With Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    95%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites