8 Reviews

Have had beets before and not been very impressed. I don't like pickled beets/beetroot. So when I'm given them, I really get flummoxed as to what to do with them. Voila!!!
DH was duly impressed with these. Chose to use the lime on another reviewers ravings, and would deffo recommend it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canwi August 10, 2010

While standing in the vegetable aisle at Whole Foods I overheard a woman ask for some beet greens. Curious, I picked up some golden beets with greens and came home, searched, and found your recipe. I've done your recipe with both golden and red beets. Even did a taste test night and fixed one pan of each. I've decided that we like it both ways. Thanks for posting this recipe. I LOVE BEETS NOW!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Been There, Baked That October 19, 2009

Absolutely delicious. The hint of lime really makes this dish wonderful. My husband even agrees. This is a very healthy side dish that is low calorie and very filling! Beet greens also have a great deal of vitamin A so that's a plus. This is definitely a repeater.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth October 19, 2009

Really FANTASTIC!!!! If you like beets, this is the best beet recipe that I have ever tried!!! I have never braised beets before, I always thought it would die my cutting board to chop them into cubes. To prevent this, I really beeswaxed/mineral oiled my wooden cutting board well to create a barrier. It worked great!! This is quick and this high heat makes for great carmelization of the beets!!! They get sweet and then you add in the salty tanginess of the beet tops and then the lime, this dish is really top notch!!!I used chicken broth instead of water and I chose the lime. I used 3 little golden beets and 1 red beet. The red beet died the golden ones red but they were a lighter red so it was a really pretty dish!! I will leave out the red beet next time to make them all golden yellow colored. I really loved this dish, thanks so much!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee June 02, 2009

I had one bunch of red beets, and since I'm generally not a fan of beets, I've never cooked them and needed a quick, simple recipe to experiment with. This one fit the bill really nicely, and was enjoyed by all. The only reason it gets four stars is because we felt a little iffy about the lime. DH particularly wasn't thrilled about it, but he still ate them, so they can't have been terrible. ;) I'll keep working at it until I get it the way we like it. Best part about this recipe - the beets didn't taste even remotely dirty (this is my major issue with them - I peeled them, rinsed them well, and then made sure that the greens were really well rinsed too). Thank you for giving me such a great base recipe to work from! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel April 22, 2013

Looks awesome! I have got some beets I found and I think I know what I am going to make out of them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonhovi_8777712 December 30, 2012

Great recipe! I have lots of beets in my garden, so I will be making this often this summer. Thanks for the delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird July 07, 2009

Wow, it is a great accompaniment to any meal and was tasty, easy and - Yummmmmy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefPotter May 11, 2009
Savory Organic Golden Beets With Greens