Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Salsa Mexicana (Fresh Tomato and Chiles) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa Mexicana (Fresh Tomato and Chiles)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2010

      WOW!! What a fresh, simple, delicious treat! Upon your recommendation I made it with 2 jalapenos and 1 medium white onion, and a full tsp. of minced garlic cloves. Eighteen sprigs of cilantro to me was the tops of the single sprigs without the bottom stem (right?). The food processor made this soooo easy. After 45 minutes in the frig, I had to try it and was delighted. If you're not into too much heat, I recommend you follow the suggested 2 jalapenos, but to me, it was a little weak. Next time I make it, and that definitely will happen, I'll try 3 jalapenos and a little "sweet" by adding a half mango. This is wonderful as is, but I like to play around with recipes. Thumbs up on this one! P.S. DH said, "It's the best salsa I've ever eaten", and believe me, he's a hard critic and RARELY passes out complements!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This is my favorite salsa. Just like when I lived in Mexico for 6 years. If you have a mortor and pestal (molino) I suggest you grind the salt and garlic together into a paste first and go from there. Please no vinegar. I look forward to this daily when I return to Mexico to stay. T.J.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Delicious! I didn't add jalapenos since I was going for fresh-tasting, not spicy. Only needed 1/2 t salt, definitely recommend using lime juice over vinegar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      DELICIOUS! This was the exact recipe I was looking for. Husband and I enjoyed it very much! I made exactly as written except added a few green onions because I wanted to use them up. Definitely making this as often as possible. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      This was great. I made it exactly as written, except I reduced the jalapenos to one (I needed it to be mild so my preschooler could eat it) and I added a tsp of lemon juice (personal preference). I also didn't have the patience to chop everything, so I just tossed it all in the food processor, which was incredibly fast and easy. The taste was to my satisfaction relative to the amount labor I put in, but of course chopping the ingredients would have been ideal.

      Thanks for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Wonderful recipe, I make this often, it freezes well. I use my food preocessor and make a triple batch in about a half hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      omg....thanks so much for sharing this recipe girl! i love to snack on chips and salsa and so have been wanting to make some fresh authentic salsa for a while now...besides it's much healthier and tastier than the stuff in the jar. this is a first for me so i knew i would be overwhelmed with many recipes online, then i came upon yours....it sounded the best so i thought i would give it a try and i'm so glad....this stuff is the best! i did use a cubanella pepper instead because i don't like a lot of heat, and also added some orange bell pepper. i can't wait to share with others!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      It thought this recipe was pretty good. I found 18 sprigs of cilantro to be to much for me though. If I were to make again, I would cut back on the cilantro significantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      Love this recipe! The best thing is it was so quick to make. I am making enough to can at least 6-8 jars for the winter. My family was so impressed. Thank you for such a great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      This is my go to salsa recipe - can't believe it's taken me so long to post the review. It's awesome. Since bringing this to a family dinner I've had several requests to bring it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Most of our household really liked this! One son is growing jalapeƱos and Serrano peppers, so we made 2 batches of salsa, one with each type of pepper. One more closely followed the recipe, the other we added less onion and more tomato and garlic. I also used dried cilantro as I can't eat fresh. My husband didn't care as much for it - but then he's not much for fresh salsa. (He thought maybe letting it sit for 5-6 hours might let the flavors blend more.) We'll be keeping this one - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Que rico!! I used green onions instead of white and the flavour was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      I thought this recipe was pretty good. However I think it would have been better if I had garden tomatoes.(my own fault) We too only used 1 onion and 2 jalepenos and I thought the cobination was the perfect amount. I will make this again hopefully when I have some more flavorful tomatoes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Excellent restaurant quality salsa! Thanks ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Great salsa. Had to reduce the garlic and onions because mine were really sharp. Also omitted the chillies but it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

    • on October 12, 2009

      This is the first recipe on RecipeZaar.com that I've said this about - I would give this 50 stars if I could. I was blown away by this recipe - incredible fresh taste - better than any restaurant. THANK YOU THANK YOU for this incredible recipe. I paired this with Easy Enchiladas (#29884) and Mexican Salad (#73438) for an great mexican meal. Just outstanding!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Love this -doesn't get any better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Delicious! Reminds me of the salsa at my favorite Mexican restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa Mexicana (Fresh Tomato and Chiles)

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    49%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 592.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites