Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Salsa Fresca / Salsa Mexicana (Pico De Gallo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa Fresca / Salsa Mexicana (Pico De Gallo)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2010

      So yummy. . .so fresh. . .gotta love summer's bounty of fresh tomatoes! Great way to use them up! I used green onions (for a lighter onion flavor) and left out the yellow pepper (just because I didn't have any on hand). THANKS for sharing! Made as a recipenap for Veg*n Swap August 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I keep going back and forth on how to review this, because this is the BEST salsa that I have ever had, and I just can't think of enough accolades for it! It tastes just like what we had on our honeymoon in Mexico. Not too tomatoey and just the right amount of burn and an amazing fresh taste. DH has requested that I ONLY serve this salsa from now on and I must agree! No more store bought for us! I did not use the optional yellow pepper and I used Hunt's diced tomatoes simply because I could not find any good ones. This summer I will use some Ripley tomatoes to make this and fully expect to be even more blown away!!! Thanks so much for this winner of a recipe! Mmm! Loved it! Made for Veg'n Swap March 2010 as a Recipenap! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Combined our own tomatoes, peeled, chopped and drained, with market fresh ingredients minus the sweet pepper and cilantro. Our "thing" is country drives punctuated by trips to small town Mexican restaurants. Salsa fresca is ever present, and this is as good as if not better than any we've tried. Definitely a keeper, and thanks to the chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Yummy fresh salsa! Nice basic recipe. I used a different type of fresh red tomato that I riped during the winter on top of our refrigerator as a tip from Katzen :-) I used sweet white onions, cayenne pepper powder to taste, freshly squeezed lime juice, sea salt, and the optional fresh cilantro. Made for Veggie Swap 30 ~ January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Delicious and fresh. I halved the recipe, but I was bold and used 2 jalapenos! I did not use yellow pepper. This is a great recipe if you have a tomato garden in the summertime!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      yum! i used the food processor and canned tomatoes (2 cans). i'm not actually sure how many jalapenos i used because they were pickled. i used more than 2TB cilantro (i LOVE cilantro) and i also added about a tablespoon of minced garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Wonderful salsa fresca! Zipped everything together in my food processer. Used some pickled jalapenos I had, but no yellow pepper. Will have to get some, just for this recipe! This, with some sour crema, added the depth to some frozen burritos I had on hand. Will definitely have again, Katzen. Thnx for posting. Made for Comfort Cafe Summer 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      great salsa. I skipped the yellow peper and added more cilantro. My peppers were very hot, but we loved it just the same. Made for 2009 summer veggie swap Katzen, the lady of honor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa Fresca / Salsa Mexicana (Pico De Gallo)

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    46%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites