Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Roasted Sweet Plantains Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Sweet Plantains

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2012

      Very easy way to prepare plantains. WARNING!! POKE HOLES IN THE PLANTAINS! Similar to a baking potato, they can explode if you don't poke some holes in the skin. Lesson learned the hard way... :-0 Tastes great though especially if you add butter and brown sugar although butter and a sprinkle of salt is good too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      awesome- i have also made thes on the grill ( leave the skins on) -these came out great -I made sure to use ripe( yellow and brown) plaintains. Thanks for this healthier version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I actually dont want to give a star review for this either. i went to the store and got a couple plantains. i've never tried them before so i wanted to try this recipe cause its so simple!! but when i made them they were really bad.... turns out my mom told me my plantains weren't ripe yet! they were still green and i just didnt even take that into account before making them!!! so i totally messed up my plantains and didnt really get to try them out the way they are supposed 2 be! but this is a very very simple method and i'm sure they taste great when they are ripe!!! :P made for zwt4

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      So easy! If you liked baked or cooked bananas you will like this! Plantains are NOT bananas but when black or yellow/brown with lots of black spots- the semi sweet flavor has a touch of banana like taste. They are starchier - like a potato and stay firmer when cooked unlike a banana. This made a fast and energizing breakfast which I drizzled with a little honey. *Made for ZWT*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Well, I am not leaving any stars because I just found out that I don't like plantains, lol. I am sure this recipe is a great one for those of you who enjoy. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      These are great for those who love the flavor of plantains. There is nothing to hide the flavour and the roasting brings out a nice sweetness to them. Made for ZWT4: Africa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I picked this recipes for the ease in making, which is so easy, plus I had never had plantains. Mine were not sweet like a banana, and less flavorful than a banana. I baked them 25 minutes and allowed them to cool a bit before eating. I think I would make a butter/brown sugar sauce to add on top of these next time. Thanks for posting Sarah Jayne as this was a great introduction to plantains!!!! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Easy and good! They are plain - you may want to add some sauce or butter. Mine turned black but did not pop open. I sliced them open after 25 minutes and they weren't sweet, but starchy (similar to a potato) - more like a veggie than a fruit. If you let plantains get over-ripe and turn yellow, then they are naturally sweet and similar to bananas. I first had these in high school, at a Reggae bar in East Palo Alto, California where they were served as a side dish on the buffet similar to this, but with some kind of butter or oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I love plantains - both sweet and not - and this was a perfect dish to remind me that ultimately it is the tropical fruit itself that helps those dishes soar. You really can't get easier than this. In my case the plantain popped out of it's blackened skin letting me know the soft sweet inside was ready. If you have never tried plantains this would be a great introduction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Sweet Plantains

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    72%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes