9 Reviews

Very easy way to prepare plantains. WARNING!! POKE HOLES IN THE PLANTAINS! Similar to a baking potato, they can explode if you don't poke some holes in the skin. Lesson learned the hard way... :-0 Tastes great though especially if you add butter and brown sugar although butter and a sprinkle of salt is good too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue in Hershey May 11, 2012

awesome- i have also made thes on the grill ( leave the skins on) -these came out great -I made sure to use ripe( yellow and brown) plaintains. Thanks for this healthier version!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover September 22, 2008

I actually dont want to give a star review for this either. i went to the store and got a couple plantains. i've never tried them before so i wanted to try this recipe cause its so simple!! but when i made them they were really bad.... turns out my mom told me my plantains weren't ripe yet! they were still green and i just didnt even take that into account before making them!!! so i totally messed up my plantains and didnt really get to try them out the way they are supposed 2 be! but this is a very very simple method and i'm sure they taste great when they are ripe!!! :P made for zwt4

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug July 01, 2008

So easy! If you liked baked or cooked bananas you will like this! Plantains are NOT bananas but when black or yellow/brown with lots of black spots- the semi sweet flavor has a touch of banana like taste. They are starchier - like a potato and stay firmer when cooked unlike a banana. This made a fast and energizing breakfast which I drizzled with a little honey. *Made for ZWT*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 30, 2008

Well, I am not leaving any stars because I just found out that I don't like plantains, lol. I am sure this recipe is a great one for those of you who enjoy. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 27, 2008

These are great for those who love the flavor of plantains. There is nothing to hide the flavour and the roasting brings out a nice sweetness to them. Made for ZWT4: Africa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 27, 2008

I picked this recipes for the ease in making, which is so easy, plus I had never had plantains. Mine were not sweet like a banana, and less flavorful than a banana. I baked them 25 minutes and allowed them to cool a bit before eating. I think I would make a butter/brown sugar sauce to add on top of these next time. Thanks for posting Sarah Jayne as this was a great introduction to plantains!!!! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 26, 2008

Easy and good! They are plain - you may want to add some sauce or butter. Mine turned black but did not pop open. I sliced them open after 25 minutes and they weren't sweet, but starchy (similar to a potato) - more like a veggie than a fruit. If you let plantains get over-ripe and turn yellow, then they are naturally sweet and similar to bananas. I first had these in high school, at a Reggae bar in East Palo Alto, California where they were served as a side dish on the buffet similar to this, but with some kind of butter or oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen June 26, 2008

I love plantains - both sweet and not - and this was a perfect dish to remind me that ultimately it is the tropical fruit itself that helps those dishes soar. You really can't get easier than this. In my case the plantain popped out of it's blackened skin letting me know the soft sweet inside was ready. If you have never tried plantains this would be a great introduction.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 23, 2008
Roasted Sweet Plantains